We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Casa Acuario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Acuario
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We had never been to Panama so we took a water taxi around all the islands looking for the perfect place to stay. We found it! Casa Aquario is close enough to Bocas town to keep an eye on and even hear some of the nightlife but across the water enough to feel peaceful. Taxi rides are readily available into town for $1. Breakfasts were delicious and Joahnna an excellet hostess. The rooms were large and decorated with obvious care. Priceless was the breeze that blew through all the windows and french doors of our room that we left open. None of the hotels in the area that we saw were on large beaches and some no beach. Casa Aquario had a very small one but it was large by comparison. The water was aqua color and bathwater warm! Walk down the path to the Pickled Parrot bar and have a drink on the pier! One day we paid a private guide (self promoted as a Mike Tyson lookalike) $60 for an all day excursion to the area sites, snorkiing, and beaches. Money well spent!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliaburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2006

We have just returned from staying 5 nights at Casa Acuario and it was just lovely from the moment we arrived. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean with great air conditioning (something you really need in Bocas). I wish the bed had been just a little bit softer but I guess that is personal choice.

I just loved chilling out in the hammock watching the boats go by. The best time of all was early morning, on our first morning early just after sun rise we watched dolphins playing in the Bay - just perfect. Breakfast was good, fresh baked rolls, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and plenty of good hot coffee.

As the hotel is across the water from Bocas town it is just that little bit quieter but with easy access by boat taxi when ever you want to eat in Bocas.

I caught my first fish ever from the dock of the hotel, what excitment that caused, even though it was only a 5 inch snapper. We threw him back of course!

If you are going to Bocas Del Toro and stay at Casa Acurario you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mercury50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Middle Grove
28
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Casa Acuario is the perfect place to stay if you are traveling to Bocas del Toro. It is across the bay from Bocas town which can be very loud after 10PM. For this reason, Johanna has told us that many people who stay on Bocas end up moving to her place after a night or 2 because of the noise in Bocas.

The rooms are beautiful with gorgeous wood walls and floors, located over the water, with French doors with views of the water over which the four room hotel is situated.

Johanna is a wonderful host, her staff is very sweet and accomodating, and the breakfasts are delicious. The handsome and very charming resident parrot will steal your heart!

There is snorkeling from the dock outside your door but you will probably find this is not something you will avail yourself to as the water taxis are very inexpensive and will take you for a ride to Isla Bastimento to swim on Red Frog Beach or, for a longer trip, to Coral Caye for terrific snorkeling.

While the weather was overcast and rainy while we were there and we ended up going to the Pacific coast to Pacific Bay Resort, another great place, we were really happy with Johanna and Casa Acuario. It's the best place to stay in Bocas del Toro!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

We loved staying at Casa Acuario. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with wood floors, a/c, nice beds. Good breakfast in the morning. We liked the fact that it was on smaller island across from Bocas Town. It was much quieter than the downtown hotels that were kind of squished together. There are no roads on the island, just a small path you take to walk around. You need to take a water taxi into town, but they are easy to get - just stand at the end of the dock and they come by and get you. We had dinner one night on our little island - there are a couple decent restaurants there.(bring a headlamp, it's an adventurous walk at night!) It was so relaxing sitting on the deck, right over the water, watching all the little local boats go by.

One point to note: Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights are disco nights in town. Out first night was Sunday night and the music thumped loudly across the bay until about 4:00am!! You might want to avoid these nights, but otherwise - it's great value for the money and I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2005
3  Thank AFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
14
Reviewed December 29, 2005

We stayed at Casa Acuario during the last week of Nov. 2005. As other reviewers have stated, Casa Acuario is on the island of Isla Carenero, a stones throw from Bocas town. But don't let that deter you from staying at Casa Acario. Water taxis are cheap ($1/per person) and easy to find. It's very easy and only a short distance to go to Bocas to eat or arrange for an activity.

We stayed in one of the rooms on the 2nd floor. The room was very spacious and clean. The interior was nicely decorated with wooden furnishings. Each room has it's own patio area with a hammock and small table and chairs. You can relax in the patio area and enjoy the view of Bocas town and surrounding islands.

The place enjoys a good location in that the water surrounding the hotel is so clear, you could snorkle around the property. There are fish around the property to allow you to see them in their environment. I took a swim around the property and it was wonderful. The property also enjoys a small private beach.

Joanna is a very attentive and warm host. Joanna will help you arrange for any activity on the island but it's not very hard to do by yourself if you want to negotiate with the boat operators.

What we enjoyed the most about Casa Acuario is that it's away from the main Bocas town. The main Bocas town has hotels and accomodations built right next to each other. There may not be enough privacy for certain people and it could be loud since several bars are located near some of the hotels. Of course, the disadvantage is that you have to take a water taxi if you want to eat dinner in Bocas. But as I said, it's a small burden to bear for staying at such a great place.

If you are like us, people who prefer to be away from the main crowd, then Casa Acuario should please you very much. The great thing is that this B&B is only a short boat ride to Bocas if you ever feel too isolated. We met some great people during the trip who stayed in Bocas and all of them had good things to say about their accomodations. However, when we go back to Bocas, we would definitely only stay at Casa Acuario.

  • Stayed: November 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Just spent a week in paradise at the Casa Acuario on Isla Carenero in the Bocas Del Toro archipelago, Panama. I could not have imagined how perfect this quaint hotel would be. This is a two story wood structure situated over the tranquil caribbean. There are four spacious guest rooms decorated in a rustic, island theme with artwork from the local Indians and flowing curtains over windows that give wrap around views of Bocas town, the surrounding islands, and the Chiriqui mountain range on the mainland of Panama. Each room has a private deck with a sitting area and a comfortable hammock in which you can relax and enjoy the views. The rooms are spotlessly clean with linens refreshed daily. There was abundant hot water and cold air conditioning!! This is not for those looking for five star accomodations, but for those that can enjoy and appreciate the simple things in life! If that's you, you need look no further...
Breakfast is offered up daily in an open air setting with coffee, fresh fruit and juices, locally prepared breads, and eggs/omelettes made to order. The kitchen is then available for your private use at anytime, just clean up after yourself.
The method of travel in the region is by water taxi, and this Casa is by far the most conveniently located in the area to obtain a ride to or from Bocas town or the surrounding islands... just stand on the dock and smile...the locals are very friendly and very accomodating. The hotel staff will gladly help you to arrange any day trips that might interest you such as snorkelling/hiking/sightseeing tours to the surrounding islands or deep sea fishing charters...in fact, the owner has a boat on site that is available to charter.
Overall, the Casa Acuario is indeed a little piece of heaven on earth.

10  Thank Junebug2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2005

We stayed at the Casa Acurio in December of 2004. It was built about 8 years ago and the rooms are very large and very nice. I would highly recommend staying there. It's very easy to flag a water taxi down and takes about 3 minutes to get to Bocas town costing $1.00. I can't wait to go back next month.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank 50readytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cosmic Crab Resort
Cosmic Crab Resort
#2 of 4 in Carenero Island
177 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tesoro Escondido
Tesoro Escondido
#1 of 1 in Bluff Beach
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Acuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Acuario

Address: Carenero Island | Bocas Del Toro, Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Acuario 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King suite overlooking crystal clear water abundant with tropical fish and sea life. Great swimming and snorkeling spot with pretty sandy beasch.This spacious suite situated upstairs offers one king bed and one double bed with A/C, Cable TV, WiFi, private bathroom with hot water, hardwood floors and french doors opening out to your own private patio overlooking water with mountain views, hammock and seating. Full and continental breakfast with local fruits offered. Enjoy the covered leisure terrace wired for wireless internet and kitchen area. Guest fridge is avaialble for guest use. The Inn is located on a tropical island, Isla Carenero, directly across from Bocas del Toro and a three minute boat ride. This island features world class surfing, hiking nature trails, pristine beaches, restaurants, bars, kayak, surf board and paddle board rentals and other amenities. We will help you arrange your island adventures, diving trips and surfing tours with a pick up at the inn. The price of the rooms is as follows: King suite double occupancy $99. Per night . Queen suite double occupancy $88.Chrildren under 10 for free. Extra adults $10. Each . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Casa Acuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Acuario Hotel Carenero Island
Casa Acuario Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing