We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice on Carenero..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Acuario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Acuario
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent choice on Carenero..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Casa Acuario for three nights and we had no disappointments. The room was all wood, very cosy, not small and well appointed. Queen sized bed with two twins mean you could comfortably sleep four. Nice sized bath with good hot water and pressure. The internet worked flawlessly and you have a semi private patio space where you can really unwind and watch the world go by.

Easy access to water taxis and Bocas town.

Ice machine and a small in room fridge was a very nice touch and well appreciated.

We will be back at the end of July for another stay..

Thank you Joan for the hospitality and comfortable room.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the lower level on the water. I imagine they're all (4) good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location is unimaginably stunning; rooms are spacious, clean, and beautiful; views are incredible; and staff is so attentive and nice. I cannot say enough great things about this place. We just left yesterday and I am missing Casa Acuario already! Thank you for this magical place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Acuario back in February and loved every second of our stay. We stayed in the bottom left (when looking at Casa from the water) room, and I will request to stay here again when we return. It was about three steps from our door to the gorgeous turquoise water below. My husband loves to surf, and he couldn't get over how cool it was to be able to surf without his feet even touching sand! He'd walk with his board out to the edge of the dock and flag down one of the little boats that was always passing by, and would get a ride out to one of the surf breaks. The driver would then pick him back up in the water when he was done! While he surfed, I lounged in the hammock on the deck with a book. At night we would sit with a few Balboa's (from the communal fridge- they were on the honor system!) and watch the sunset. Then we'd either walk to Bibi's for dinner or flag down a $1 boat taxi and head in to Bocas Town. Isa Carenero was the perfect place to stay in my opinion, since it's so accessible to Bocas Town, but also so much quieter and more peaceful. Casa Acuario is in the perfect location- you can walk everywhere on the island. Joan the owner is very friendly and they serve delicious breakfast in the morning. We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blakey6226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in May and loved the setting. Totally water front, with views (especially from the top balcony) when you are lying on hammocks. Bliss.

The rooms were amazing - roomy, clean, inviting with a very charming touch. And the staff were lovely and helpful.

The island is a bit quieter than Bocas town, but there are a few places to eat on the island and you can easily arrange a taxi back to bocas if you are looking for a night out too. Good for a getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coogeetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Baja
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you want comfort, beauty, and the ability to get away from everything but still be close to everything - this place is for you - The friendly owner was very pleasant to talk with and we felt right at home here- I walked to surf , eat, and took boats everyday to go wherever we wanted -- and we had privacy and comfort - Ill be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palapas_Ventana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April after having 4 nights on Isla Colon. Its a lovely location right on the water and we were lucky enough to have an upstairs room, very large with both air con and fans, large en-suite as well. Large comfortable double bed and large windows on all sides so plenty of light. Seating on the balcony as well as a Hammock so plenty of room for relaxation and watching the boats go by. It's just 5 minutes in a water taxi to get to Colon so no problem if you want to go there for trips or restaurants. Small selection of dishes for breakfast and drinks available from the fridges all on an honour system so just write down what you have and pay when you leave. Also a separate fridge for guests to use so you can cater for yourself if you want too. Very comfortable and relaxing with lovely views across to other islands. There can be some noise from music at the Aqua lounge at night (approx. 100 metres away).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views but all are good, there are only 4 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twohoots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

It's only a short hop from Bocas town but it feels so special and exciting. We plunged into the warm water right off our bedroom deck and were greeted by thousands of little sardine-like fish swirling in schools around us. Futher down within easy diving, we saw star fish on the sandy bottom, gathered them in one area only to find them disappear a short while later. Those guys squirted their way fast. We also got a hermit crab, saw many big colorful fish by the deck pilings.

One big plus about this place is that every room has AC and we made good use of it on our summer trip. The rooms are rustic and nice. We got 2 rooms upstairs and 2 downstairs.
They are all nice in their own way. The view from upstairs seems better but the downstair deck is more relaxing as it is right next to the water and you can step right into it.

The idea that within 4 steps off your bedroom door, you will be surrounded by thousands of fish in the beautiful clear azure water never escaped us and we did that every day.

Just by sitting on the patio area or the deck, Bocas unfolds itself through the boats that pass by this place. Small dugout canoes ferrying school children dressed neatly in white shirt and blue skirt/patns, parents rowing their little ones to somewhere, a bigger canoe sailing past overloaded with so many locals that it appears precarious with a large wave rolling under, another dugout with the front half seemingly missing and still floats with people in it, ... Dinner on this wooden patio deck is a feast for the eyes as well.

The staff was always very friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful stay.

From the water in front of the hotel, we snorkeled and swam to the beach in the back. There the island of Carenero presented to us the swaying coconut trees, long sandy beaches,
and a taste of authentic Caribbean life.

Within easy walking distance, there are roosters, hens and baby chicks wandering around, being raised by local families for food. Some of the scenes are quite uniquely Caribbean. As the meandering path goes deeper, there are more signs of poverty but it still feels safe. In the other direction, along the shore, it's quite lovely with heavy forest and tall trees giving nice shade in the
hot summer days. Young European backpackers are everywhere on the sandy beaches and add to the good vibe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koko Resort
Koko Resort
#4 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Acuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Acuario

Property: Casa Acuario
Address: Carenero Island | Bocas Del Toro, Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Acuario 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King suite overlooking crystal clear water abundant with tropical fish and sea life. Great swimming and snorkeling spot with pretty sandy beasch.This spacious suite situated upstairs offers one king bed and one double bed with A/C, Cable TV, WiFi, private bathroom with hot water, hardwood floors and french doors opening out to your own private patio overlooking water with mountain views, hammock and seating. Full and continental breakfast with local fruits offered. Enjoy the covered leisure terrace wired for wireless internet and kitchen area. Guest fridge is avaialble for guest use. The Inn is located on a tropical island, Isla Carenero, directly across from Bocas del Toro and a three minute boat ride. This island features world class surfing, hiking nature trails, pristine beaches, restaurants, bars, kayak, surf board and paddle board rentals and other amenities. We will help you arrange your island adventures, diving trips and surfing tours with a pick up at the inn. The price of the rooms is as follows: King suite double occupancy $99. Per night . Queen suite double occupancy $88.Chrildren under 10 for free. Extra adults $10. Each . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Acuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Acuario Hotel Carenero Island
Casa Acuario Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing