We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Acuario
Nearby Hotels
Buccaneer Resort(Carenero Island)
$75
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$134
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sevilla(Isla Colon)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koko Resort(Isla Colon)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Delfines(Isla Colon)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$350
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Swan's Cay Hotel(Bocas Town)
$59
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laguna(Bocas Town)
$85
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$39
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
55
35
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
35
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat trafficthe ownerwater taxibeautiful spotfive star hoteldecent breakfastsurrounding islandseach morningsand fliesthe location is perfecteliajoannadocktownbocaspanamapartying
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 105 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I are young professionals and we recently returned from a trip to Panama. In total, we stayed at 5 different hotels, and this was by far the best experience we had.

The owners are very friendly and super helpful in recommending things to check out and explaining some of the finer points about about the archipelago.

They have an ice making machine, blenders and extra beer/drink fridge. Excellent hot water and air conditioning. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The top deck was our favorite part.

Room Tip: upstairs room with the view!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Casa Acuario needs more than five stars! The location is perfect -- on quiet Carenero Island. But just a two minute, two dollar water-taxi ride from all of the action in Bocas town. It is built up on stilts over the gorgeous blue water and the views are lovely. There are 4 rooms, they are all exactly the same size (quite large!) and they are very light and airy. Also, air conditioning! Joana, the owner, couldn't be more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms on the second floor for more privacy!! All 4 rooms are exactly the same and each has a private terrace with hammock, table and chairs.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Don't get me wrong: The little hotel is quite nice, with large rooms where you can sleep to the sounds of the waves splashing below and around you (no mosquito nets, though, which can be annoying with all the nosee-ums around). Very friendly landlady, and hammocks to relax in. For night life and shopping you have to take a water taxi as there is not a lot around here. So for partying, go elswhere. If you want it to be real quiet with a jungle feel it is too near to Bocas, so there's not too much of wild life, and you do hear the water taxis and the noise from Bocas. So for nature and tranquility, go to another island. But what we found the worse: You are surrounded her by a crystal clear sea, sooo inviting... until you detect the not so few pieces of human excrement floating about. Obviously, some of the houses build over the sea let their waste water unfiltere directly into the sea. So if you want to swim, again you better go to anoter island. All in all: Though Casa Acuario itself is lovely, it's a bad compromise.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK1Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. Joan is so nice and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and she serves breakfast at a reasonable price. The music from Bocas town can hardly be heard yet it is so close by water taxi if you want some tight life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ucatchme25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We chose Casa Acuario for our elopement and honeymoon. Our stay there was absolutely fabulous! It was quite honestly the one place in all of bocas where we felt certain that we got exactly what we ordered up, when it came to our rooms and expectations. After speaking with many other travelers we met in Bocas Del Toro, it appeared many had similar experiences of booking places and being "duped" into thinking they were as nice as the photo suggested. In reality, they were absolute dumps. This was NOT the case at Casa Acuario. The staff was amazing. Joan the owner was very courteous and even surprised us with a fabulous reception when we came back from our tiny ceremony! She arranged a boat tour for us as well with a local who didn't charge nearly as much, and her staff were fantastic! From morning breakfasts to housekeeping services, they were great! We look forward to returning to this little gem on anniversaries and more! If i had to say one thing about the experience which was negative, it was simply that at times it was very noisy, but thats thanks to a few places on Bocas Island that crank the music all night long. We wound up moving to a room on the opposite side of the wind direction and it became quieter.
That however wasn't nearly enough to make me not want to return.

Room Tip: you might want to book on the side of the casa that faces away from bocas island for the sake of sound traveling over the water and the late night noise coming from bocas.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews