We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Acuario
Nearby Hotels
Buccaneer Resort(Carenero Island)
$75
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$134
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sevilla(Isla Colon)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koko Resort(Isla Colon)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Delfines(Isla Colon)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Swan's Cay Hotel(Bocas Town)
$59
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laguna(Bocas Town)
$85
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$39
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
55
35
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
35
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat trafficthe ownerwater taxibeautiful spotfive star hoteldecent breakfastsurrounding islandseach morningsand fliesthe location is perfecteliajoannadocktownbocaspanamapartying
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 105 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We absoulutely loved our stay at Casa Acuario. We extended our 5-night stay another night just to continue to enjoy the serene surroundings. You are right on the water with incredible views from your porch. Elia, the manager, is very sweet and cooks a mean breakfast of eggs, johnny cakes, and fresh fruit. It is easy to catch a boat into town and to other islands but you might be satisfied to just relax in your hammock away from it all.

Our only complaint was that we were eaten alive by the "chitre", little chiggers that are silent but deadly. Wear Deet anytime you are on the porch and go into town to buy a box of mosquito coils for a dollar. The other islands do not seem to have as bad of a problem with these bugs, something about the wind direction and swampy magroves.

Don't miss snorkeling right in front of the property.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We had never been to Panama so we took a water taxi around all the islands looking for the perfect place to stay. We found it! Casa Aquario is close enough to Bocas town to keep an eye on and even hear some of the nightlife but across the water enough to feel peaceful. Taxi rides are readily available into town for $1. Breakfasts were delicious and Joahnna an excellet hostess. The rooms were large and decorated with obvious care. Priceless was the breeze that blew through all the windows and french doors of our room that we left open. None of the hotels in the area that we saw were on large beaches and some no beach. Casa Aquario had a very small one but it was large by comparison. The water was aqua color and bathwater warm! Walk down the path to the Pickled Parrot bar and have a drink on the pier! One day we paid a private guide (self promoted as a Mike Tyson lookalike) $60 for an all day excursion to the area sites, snorkiing, and beaches. Money well spent!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliaburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We have just returned from staying 5 nights at Casa Acuario and it was just lovely from the moment we arrived. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean with great air conditioning (something you really need in Bocas). I wish the bed had been just a little bit softer but I guess that is personal choice.

I just loved chilling out in the hammock watching the boats go by. The best time of all was early morning, on our first morning early just after sun rise we watched dolphins playing in the Bay - just perfect. Breakfast was good, fresh baked rolls, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and plenty of good hot coffee.

As the hotel is across the water from Bocas town it is just that little bit quieter but with easy access by boat taxi when ever you want to eat in Bocas.

I caught my first fish ever from the dock of the hotel, what excitment that caused, even though it was only a 5 inch snapper. We threw him back of course!

If you are going to Bocas Del Toro and stay at Casa Acurario you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mercury50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Middle Grove
28
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Casa Acuario is the perfect place to stay if you are traveling to Bocas del Toro. It is across the bay from Bocas town which can be very loud after 10PM. For this reason, Johanna has told us that many people who stay on Bocas end up moving to her place after a night or 2 because of the noise in Bocas.

The rooms are beautiful with gorgeous wood walls and floors, located over the water, with French doors with views of the water over which the four room hotel is situated.

Johanna is a wonderful host, her staff is very sweet and accomodating, and the breakfasts are delicious. The handsome and very charming resident parrot will steal your heart!

There is snorkeling from the dock outside your door but you will probably find this is not something you will avail yourself to as the water taxis are very inexpensive and will take you for a ride to Isla Bastimento to swim on Red Frog Beach or, for a longer trip, to Coral Caye for terrific snorkeling.

While the weather was overcast and rainy while we were there and we ended up going to the Pacific coast to Pacific Bay Resort, another great place, we were really happy with Johanna and Casa Acuario. It's the best place to stay in Bocas del Toro!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

We loved staying at Casa Acuario. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with wood floors, a/c, nice beds. Good breakfast in the morning. We liked the fact that it was on smaller island across from Bocas Town. It was much quieter than the downtown hotels that were kind of squished together. There are no roads on the island, just a small path you take to walk around. You need to take a water taxi into town, but they are easy to get - just stand at the end of the dock and they come by and get you. We had dinner one night on our little island - there are a couple decent restaurants there.(bring a headlamp, it's an adventurous walk at night!) It was so relaxing sitting on the deck, right over the water, watching all the little local boats go by.

One point to note: Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights are disco nights in town. Out first night was Sunday night and the music thumped loudly across the bay until about 4:00am!! You might want to avoid these nights, but otherwise - it's great value for the money and I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2005
3  Thank AFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews