We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAD”
Review of Cosmic Crab Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cosmic Crab Resort
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you like to eat on Mondays......you won't find even a snack. You take the water taxi to the main island, and on your return, if it is dark....it is REALLY DARK. ALL the lights are off....bring a flashlight.

The cabin had poor air conditioning....our room was a "double" .....the A/C was on one side of a wall....so the other side was miserable.

The meals we did have there were good.....but do not ask for anything special, as the price I was told, was completely different (higher) when we attempted to actually order.

NEVER EVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Check our your room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 178 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

It's probably the most disgusting hotel I've been in. When you arrive it seems quite idyllic, with those beautiful wooden blue&yellow cabins.... However, you feel a bit strange when, just arrived, the owner asks you for the money for the whole stay (a bit rude in my opinión... I'm sure he does it because otherwise on the 2nd night all his guests would go to another hotel). Then you go to your room (where, by the way, there's no WiFi... it "just broke the day before"..aha).... and it takes no longer tan 10 minutes for the BUGS to let themselfs be seen!!!! It's full of them: spiders, wall-lizards, roaches... There were bugs even in the breakfast (inside the juice jar!!!). I attach pictures so that you can trust me & my review. I sincerely not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel. It's totally disgusting, and with so many bugs running around it's complicated to get to sleep at night.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rociobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice Place, nice restaurant, nice cabins and rooms on the sea.. Very near to bocas down, a dollor to get there on ferry. Food at restaurant is very good, you can get things of your choice. If it rains too much, you can still enjoy the restaurant and the view.

Room Tip: if you two, take the cabin on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PranavSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in one of the basic bungalows, which was indeed basic but good value. The bungalow was really charming on the outside with a small veranda. Inside, the air-con worked well and we good a good night's sleep. It was a bit dark though and some people might be a bit put-off by the fact that the bathroom/toilet is part of same room, just separated by a partial wall and curtain.
The owners were friendly enough and we really liked the Cosmic Crab cafe (good burgers, STRONG margaritas, really should stay open later than 9pm though), but we found the immediate surroundings to be pretty charmless. Lots of litter, polluted water due to the lack of sewage system, a hell of a lot of sand flies. Obviously this isn't the fault of the resort, but location-wise we much preferred being in Bocas Town - having to get a water taxi to Bocas got tiresome quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A big hearty thanks to Joan and staff at Careening Cay for their attention, understanding and care during our stay in Panama. We enjoyed being away from the busy town and loved sitting on the dock each morning with our coffee as our two boys ran around catching crabs and playing with sticks. The clean, comfortable cabins are tucked into the jungle offering just enough privacy for my family. The 1$ taxi ride to the town each day was a great treat for the boys before and after all of our excursions.

Unfortunately, one by one my family fought a virus that prevented us from leaving on our scheduled date. Though Joan was busy with staffing, end of season cleaning and organizing, she made sure we had everything we needed, checked in on us regularly and even offered us a discount as she knew that we were forced to spend beyond our budget. I am thankful we landed in her care.

If you have a chance I highly recommend visiting Careening Cay and getting to know the owners. They are delightful and authentic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claytonba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night in Careening Cay Resort in Bocas del Toro but we loved it. We choose tiny water house, got one with tortoises. There's nothing sophisticated in here but sophisticated is not a word you are looking for in Bocas. The owner is a right person on the right place, funny guy, laid-back and great host. Breakfast is light, fresh and tasty bar and night atmosphere memorable, and the name - Cosmic Crab Cafe seems to be kind of significant;-) there's plenty of really cosmic crabs coming out from their wholes in the night time all around the resort. A little bit crappy but still interesting. If you're looking for an authentic, clean, nice place with amazing vibe and you do not mind cute lizards on the walls of your hut - you will love to stay here as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel on Carenero Island has awesome green surroundings and the owners make you feel comfortable like at home. This is a caribbean chalet style hotel with this i mean don't expect phone or tv at the room.
Wake up early to get a kayak before the sun goes strong and take a trip around the island for free for what others charge you $10 per hour each, this way you get to know some parts of Carenero you usually don't see and is a great plus for this hotel.
They include you the breakfast, not so fancy but enough to fill your morning.
The night at the restaurant is a good atmosphere to take some drinks and chat with other travelers.
The beach is calm and we even saw a manta ray at our feet.

Overall: this hotel is a great option if you are looking for a cheap stay, green landscape (usually the hotels in Colon Island don't have more than a palm tree at the entrance) and a travel experience. The only con i think is the water taxi to the main island, and the noisy other guest when staying in side by side rooms (you can hear literally everything because is a wood construction).

Room Tip: Try always to get chalets with the less neighbors as possible, the noise from the other rooms are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
3.9 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 3 in Isla Solarte
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Faro del Colibri
El Faro del Colibri
#14 of 104 in Bocas del Toro Province
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmic Crab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmic Crab Resort

Address: Carenero Island, Panama (Formerly Careening Cay Resort)
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range: $50 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cosmic Crab Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront paradise is on the island, Isla Carenero. The resort now encompasses 6 1/2 acres of lush, tropical landscaping and over 600 feet of waterfront. Our backyard is verdant rain forest. We sit on a point facing west, which captures the refreshing Caribbean breeze and offers up fabulous sunsets. We are just a two minute boat ride across the bay to Bocas Town. We enjoy the convenience of close proximity to town, yet are removed from the hub hub, noise, pavement, cars and heat, while on our own tropical island.The resort is peaceful and quiet. We have hummingbird feeders throughout. Many different birds, including parrots can be heard singing and conversing in the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Cosmic Crab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careening Cay Hotel Carenero Island
Cosmic Crab Resort Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing