We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed our short stay,”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halfway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Halfway B&B and Inns
Grand Island, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enjoyed our short stay,”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay at Judy's. Great sleeping , comfortable beds. Her breakfast was very good . We even had a dog with us that she cared for while we did the jet boats. Called and told her we would be longer than anticipated and no problem. I would recommend this to anyone and would stay there again. A very personable person. Thanks for your memorable time we had while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhardy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I thought the Hillside Bed and Breakfast was wonderful, my husband and I brought our little dog and he had free roam. The breakfast was wonderful, we stayed two nights. For breakfast Judy prepared us the most appatizing breakfast ever, we had free range chicken eggs, and her famous sourdough pancakes and her new whole wheat pancakes, and lot ans lots of fruit from her beautiful garden. Her floweres were so magnificant and the smells were so amazing and fresh, we sat outside and took it all in. Also at night we could hear the creek running, the owls hooting and the coyotes howling. Also we saw the most beautiful wild turkeys. This was a very very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horselover01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We arrived late and found out we had to share a tiny house with another couple. We were told we would have it to ourselves and could have our dog with us. She flat denied she said that. She would not let the dog in after she told me on the phone the dog was 61/2 years old and we would pay extra and she would watch him while we went on the boat in Hells Canyon. She had a small Kennel my dog hated. I hated it too. She lies and wants cash and tips. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The Hillside B and B was unique for a bed and breakfast. Our accomodations were in a two bedroom, two bath house across the drive from the proprietors private residence. We had the entire place to ourselves so had ultimate privacy. One caveat: this guest house does not have "insuite" bathrooms which is no probem if one is staying there without other guests. However, if the guest house is being shared, one must be somewhat aware (for modesty purposes) that you are sharing a house with someone else. Because there are two bathrooms, each guest would have their own, so that is nice. There is another guest house on the property that is about 100 yards up the canyon. I would imagine that this place would be ideal for someone who wants complete privacy.
One of my major issues with staying anywhere is cleanliness. The Hillside B and B is clean as a whistle!
Remember, this is a remote place, so relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
As we entered the drive up to the B and B a family of quail crossed our path. Then the proprietor's free range chickens appeared. On the right were some lovely horses in the pasture. As we came up to the entrance we were stunned at the beautiful flower gardens all around. The proprietor must have a green thumb.
We enjoyed two healthy breakfasts while staying there. The first morning we had an omelette made from the proprietors fresh eggs from her free range chickens and fresh berries from her own garden. The neighbor down the road stopped in for a bite and we had a lovely conversation. This is the place to be made to feel right at home.
The second day we had homeade pancakes and more delicious fresh picked berries.
Because this place is quite far from any major city, I assume that is the reason the proprietor can only take cash or checks. No matter, it was a lovely, enjoyable stay in the most beautiful surroundings. It is a 45 minute drive to the "put in" for the Hells Canyon boat tours. Quite convenient.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2006

The Hillside Bed & Breakfast was a real experience. I could have done without it. We had to pay cash. Then we were solicited to buy extra services. We had one room in a 2 bedroom house with a community living area and enough air fresheners and potpourri to "freshen" the entire outdoors. After a quick tour of the house, we got the "Do Not" lecture. It was quite long. We were made to feel like intruders instead of paying guests. We were explicitly told not to be late for breakfast or we wouldn't get any.

Breakfast was another experience we could have done without. Talk about a high carb diet: egg & sausage casserole, banana pancakes, fried cinnamon toast, cookies, banana bread, maple syrup, extra strong coffee, a little fruit and orange juice. Our housemates didn't heed the "late for breakfast" warning and didn't get any juice.

After breakfast she openly solicited tips which we refused to leave.

Helpful?
9 Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hillside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53875 Highway 86, Halfway, OR 97834-5909
Location: United States > Oregon > Halfway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Halfway
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed And Breakfast Halfway, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing