We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Flowrider in the basement is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Flowrider in the basement is the best!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A great looking hotel. You can ride right into it from the hill during winter. The food selection is great (buffet), the rooms look great. But the best part of it for me is the water park in the basement. There is a flowrider there, which cost extra. It allows you to surf on a jet powered artificial wave for one hour. Depending on how many people, you have to be at least 4 for them to power it up, but it's always a maximum of 10. It's actually so good that I've been back there twice just to ride the wave again. Would recommend for friends / groups. You can pay yourself into the water park and flowrider even if you don't stay at the hotel. But it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter. Some have a view, some don't. But none of them are prone to noise as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveterforkort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    231
    63
    36
    7
See reviews for
331
108
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Both the facilities and location of the hotel is good, as expected.

The service, however, is extremely poor based on 2 stays here (this is the review of the last stay). The apartment was ready more than 2 hours later than agreed, and no food, snack etc was offered by the hotel when waiting in a crowded and busy area with 2 hungry kids ready to sleep.

In general, service is slow and not friendly.

The quality of the spa was very disappointing, and clearly the personell working here are not trained in the product they sell at premium prices.

The hotel manager promised to contact us after the stay, but this has not happened. It confirms the lack of quality in service at the hotel.

I would recommend staying at apartments not part of the hotel due to the lack of service, or going to Hemsedal, Hafjell or Norefjell instead.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location is good for slalom, and the rooms are ok. But the service in general is poor. The reception is poorly organised and not very friendly. The restaurants has one kitchen in common, and your choice is which department (what kind of food do you want to have). The service is the same all over... Breakfast is good but chaotic during "rush our". The after ski bar serves buffet at the price of 20 euro that consist of a baked potato with different sauces. Expensive potatos! The bar lack atmosphere and the bartenders lack skills (how to make good drinks). Order beer or wine to avoid any dissapointments. This hotel is best for families with small kids who don't bother about the price or the level of service. People who are looking for a romantic or quiet holiday should find something else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a well located hotel close to the main lift in Trysil. Good parking in a covered but cold garage. I stayed in an apartment room for max 5 people. A very well planned room, with proper generous beds for the three of us who shared this room. The important breakfast buffet was a hit with a good mix of warm and cold foods; I especially liked the omelettes and eggs, while fruit juice quality could be improved.

Less impressive was the broken radiator on our room, with -15C outside. When the Reception was notified, no room change or compensation was offered. After quite a hassle, a portable radiator found its way into our room. That is not 4-star quality.

The ridiculous price level of 385 NOK for one hour of bowling was a con, as was the extra charge of 350 NOK per person for half board if you already have breakfast included. I am not normally very price sensitive, but this just did not feel right. First time visitors to Trysil should know that the shocking food and activity prices in Trysil bring a final price of a weekend there close to that of a whole week in Zermatt, at a reasonable hotel and with a better spa. Zermatt will of course also have a way superior skiing experience even if Trysil is also strong on this point. The point is, that Trysil is not and will never match places like Zermatt. Hotels should perhaps seek to adapt to attract rather than scare away tourists.

I would say this hotel was clean and stylish in a good Scandinavian sense. But once you arrive there prices are no longer friendly. One will feel trapped, in a cheap trick unworthy of Scandinavian business traditions, and that leaves a sour after taste.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank style_uncompromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at the Radisson Blu, Trysil and much like the previous report, were not impressed. Many things made us feel like we were "just a number" during our stay. I wouldn't ask for special treatment but a little interest from reception staff, or even a warm welcome would have been nice! For example, when we asked for help in finding a doctor the staff directed us into the town recommending we walk the 2 kilometres (on icy roads with no pavements) to find one. They didn't even offer to call us a taxi! They also got some important details wrong about opening hours and appointments. Pretty poor service considering one of us was ill enough to need a doctor! We were also awakened by a fire alarm at 4 am. I understand that alarms are in place for a reason and false alarms do happen, but there was very little (or no) information shared with the guests and no explanation or apology offered.

The room itself was quite modern although the single, aged, feather pillow didn't offer much comfort in bed. An oversight that so many hotels get so badly wrong is rubbish bed clothes and pillows. Why is this so difficult to understand?!!......No extra pillows in the cupboards led us to take the cushions off of the couch to prop us up! Also, we had asked for a double room but got the standard "2 singles pushed together" nonsense as well. This is not the same as a double bed (take note, hoteliers!) and usually ends with someone slipping through the gap on to the floor.

The Spa and pool area is really quite nice and modern. It was full of lots of kids (which is fine) and naked fat men in the sauna(not so fine) but it was nice to be able to have a swim and jacuzzi at the end of the day. Changing rooms could be cleaned a little more often to be honest. First time we were getting ready in our room, i was looking for the dressing gown and slippers for us to wear down to the Spa, but couldn't see them. A quick call to reception and we were informed that we need to "hire" them at extra expense (because they obviously feel that we haven't paid enough for our 5 day new year break!) We were also informed that we had to use our bedroom towels, and would not be provided with others for the pool. We could of course pay more for some if we wanted!

Dinner at the hotel is quite good if you choose to eat at the pizza place (although expect to pay £10 for a GLASS of "supermarket- twist top" type wine) We also ate in the self service place which was ok with a decent choice. New year however, we were shocked to find that EVERY restaurant in the hotel was closed except the A la Carte one. The food did look quite good actually, as there is an open kitchen. Only problem though was that they were selling tickets for dinner for £160-£190 per person! I wondered if Radisson had just been awarded 3 michelin stars at this price?!.....I was very disappointed that no other option was offered as this is clearly WAY overpriced for what it was. Pure profiteering on their part and quite frankly, very poor behaviour from Radisson.

Breakfast on the first 2 days was great but as time went on (and strangely the hotel felt emptier) the choice became less and less. It looked like they hadn't received food deliveries or just couldn't be bothered to offer the same choice every day.

The location is quite good with ski in ski out. The ski room could do with an attendant though as it was like a bomb site! A very slow drag lift will get you into the ski area.


I have been left with a bitter taste in my mouth after this holiday. Sure we were aware that Norway is ridiculously expensive, but Radissons policy of habitually overcharging and fleecing their clientele has really gone a bit out of control. I dread to think what I would have been charged if I had accidentally knocked the peanuts off the mini bar pressure pad for longer than 15 seconds. (They had however offered to remove the mini bar at a £30 charge!)


If you have a massive wallet and don't mind paying through the nose for everything, book at the Radisson. If not, do what I will do next time and just go skiing in Europe. This place really does make St Moritz or Courchevel look cheap!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ayrshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Marie R, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay, and we are truly sorry that you felt like "just a number", and that we did not help you in a better way to find a doctor when one of you where ill.
We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services, and as an example we are now in the process to replace pillows in all rooms.

We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

Kind regards,
Janne Marie Reiersen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just stayed 4 nights at the Radisson Blu Hotel, and eventhough it is a great location (ski in/out) and a nice constructed/designed hotel, we were very dissapointed about the service standard, where you should expect much more from a Radisson Blu hotel.

The welcome in the reception was nothing special, and the general service level in the hotel was not very high (if you want to buy anything in the bars, you must go to the bar - nobody will come to serve you at the tables). In general - very unexperience young service staff. Also, there was a false fire alarm in the middle of one of the nights, but we did not receive any information about this alarm, and no excuse next day from the staff, eventhough our sleep were distroyed for the rest of the night.

As a Club Carlson Concierge member, there were practically no benefits in the hotel except for some fresh fruit in the room. Proberbly we got the worst located room (I am not use to this from other Radisson Blu hotels), and when we ask for 2 hours extended check out this was not possible!! Great way to thank a loyal Radisson client.

The cleaning service from the service staff (young people from eatern europe) was also very poor and the first day coming back to the room at 4.30 pm the room was still not cleaned and this was first done after complaining to the reception.

Finally, not very high breakfast quality - especially the eggs and bacon + the orange juice, which has nothing to do with real orange juice.

In general, the hotel seems to lack a strong management (there is also no feed back on the reviews here on Tripadvisor), which could implement a much stronger service and quality concept in this hotel, so it could use its strong potentiel to be a real first class hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Marie R, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations.
We are truly sorry for the inconvenience the fire alarm caused, and for not being clearer in terms of what went on. The fire alarm was caused by someone setting off a fire extinguisher, and it unfortunately this make it difficult to determine if there actually was a fire.
We take all feedback seriously, and we will take all you have written under consideration and use this as a tool to become better. I know that we can do better than this, and be, as you are writing yourself, a first class hotel. We will have a look through the routines again in terms of our Club Carlson member’s benefits, to make sure the members recive what they are eligible to.
I hope you find this feedback well.

Kind regards,
Janne Marie Reiersen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The best ski in/ ski out I have experienced. Fantastically friendly and helpful staff. The new year's dinner was a piece de resistance. Excellent breakfasts. Very relaxing reception and bar area. Spacious rooms, very comfortable.

Room Tip: Depends on size of party and budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fivestarpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trysil Municipality
0.6 mi away
Trysil-Knut Hotell
Trysil-Knut Hotell
#3 of 4 in Trysil Municipality
18 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Mountain Resort & Residences Trysil
Radisson Blu Mountain Resort & R...
#2 of 4 in Trysil Municipality
507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trysil Hyttegrend
Trysil Hyttegrend
#4 of 12 in Trysil Municipality
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Saeterasen Cabins and Camping
Saeterasen Cabins and Camping
#8 of 12 in Trysil Municipality
2 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kjolen Hotell
Kjolen Hotell
#1 of 12 in Trysil Municipality
17 reviews
21.0 mi away
Stoten
Stoten
#1 of 1 in Stoten
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil
Address: Trysilfjell Turistcenter, 2420, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Hedmark > Trysil Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trysil Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful ski resort town of Trysil, with ski in ski out access to the slopes, the Radisson Blu Resort Trysil offers guests a luxurious and comfortable retreat from Trysil’s abundant outdoor activities. Being one of the largest resorts in Norway, the hotel offers a wide selection of rooms, suites, and apartments, as well as several in house activity options. For fun off the slopes, visit the indoor pool area and try the popular surf wave Flow Rider. Indulge in relaxing spa treatments like facials and aroma baths at the serene SPA & Wellness Centre. Challenge your colleagues or friends in a game of bowling in the 60’s inspired bowling alley.With eight bars and restaurants, the resort provides exceptional dining, featuring everything from genuine Italian espresso and thin crust pizzas to a generous buffet of Scandinavian delights, and local traditional specialty dishes. Guests are encouraged to try all the different f&b outlets during their stay, from sushi in the I:c Blu Skybar to American hamburgers in the bowling restaurant Chill Bowl & Dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil Hotel Trysil Municipality
Radisson Blu Resort, Trysil Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing