We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sicilian charm amidst the vineyards”
Review of Locanda Cos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vittoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locanda Cos
Ranked #10 of 18 Vittoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2012

"Cos" is one of my top-5 favorite wineries in Italy, boasting a nice series of naural, fine & elegant wines, their white and red "Pithos" even ageing in terracotta amfora. Since the property is situated in the famous "Baroque corner" of Sicily (the southeast of the island) and with the stunning golf property "Donnafugata" only 25' away, I decided to schedule my early summer there this year, together with some golf, food & wine loving friends. The agriturismo or B&B at "Cos" opened a good year ago in the charming buildings of the old winery, protected by four friendly dogs. Since the wineproducing owners Cilia & Occhipinti are also architects the "simple" redecoration was done with good taste. Rooms are spacious, showers are very, very tiny though. There's a lovely swimming pool. In the evening your host Pino cooks great Sicilian dinners upon request in the amazing high ceilinged former fermentation room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jantheys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We found this one night stay to be the most disappointing of our week long tour around Sicily. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and felt like we were interrupting a private party when we walked into the dining room. We were told there would be no staff around that evening so dinner would not be available (despite my emailing to check this on booking). Thankfully we were given directions to a restaurant 7km away which was good and the owners were so friendly.
The room was very basic, small flys all over bathroom and self catering facilties not adequate (drawers not cleaned out, no cutlery, wine opener, bin etc).
The pool area was closed and once again we were not told this before our stay.
A wine tour was not available to us on Sunday afternoon and nobody around to faciliate a tour on Monday morning before we departed.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special. We would not return based on this experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brook31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our recent holiday in Sicily was absolutely topped by a one week stay at Locanda COS where we had rented an apartment (Tramontana) for seven nights. The beds were comfortable, the livingroom enormous and the sunny terrace with views of Mt. Etna well equipped with comfortable furniture. Everything nicely furnished and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was delicious with really tasty bread and cakes as well as home-made orange and lemon marmelade and delicious strawberry jam. So much better than anywhere else we stayed.
What really topped it all was Pino Guerrisi's hospitality who cooked for us each and every evening. We enjoyed endless meals and tasted the Locanda's wide spectrum of fine wines. Anything from Frappato/Nero D'Avola to a very interesting Cabernet called Maldafrica, an overwhelming Nero D'Avola called Contrada. Guided tour of the Locanda included by highly competent Salvo in impeccable English. We vowed to return and would like to thank Pino and his staff for making our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dunowen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We did not stay the night, but we booked a winery tour, had a terrific lunch and fantastic wine tasting with our wonderful host and hostess Pino and Angela. This is a great way to get to know Sicily and some of the unique wines being made there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank VayKRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

A very serene place with personalised service. The rooms are very comfortable and all room and suites are unique. Food is great and cooked with passion by very dedicated staff. A tour of the winery is an experience not to miss. The swimming pool and surroundings are fantastic with a pool bar serving their own excellent wines.
I have stayed at Locanda Cos five times, from a couple of days to a whole week and it has always been a most relaxed and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giuzeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I have known the excellent wines from the COS winery for many years, and on a recent trip around Sicily with a group of 8 friends grabbed the opportunity to stay overnight in their locanda, which is adjacent to the winery. The owners of the wine farm are architects and have created a homely atmosphere with very large, bright bedrooms with spotless bathrooms. When booking, ask if it is possible to arrange a dinner on the premises, and you will be served an authentic Sicilian meal in the former winery, now converted into a spacious living and dining area with a huge fireplace. Also ask for a tour of the wineproduction facilities and a wine tasting, and you will be introduced to the wonderful and unique world of 'natural wines', pioneered in Italy and in Sicily by this very winery.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank partendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Locanda COS whilst travelling down by car. We were doing a wine tour of italy and were looking for somewhere cheap to stay and also to taste some Sicilian wine. Locanda COS proved to be the perfect choice. We had a double room just for €50 for the night including breakfast and the view from the room was just incredble - waking up to being surrounded by vineyards!

We were also treated to a tour of the cellars at COS and a wine tasting of some of their excellent wines. COS as somewhat unique in the production of their wines in that they produce some of their wines without aging in wood and instead use an Amphora buried under ground. The result is that they produce some unique wines that are excellent.

Overall I would really recommend COS to stay at as it's extremely good value for money, set in an idyllic location of sicily, has some excellent wines and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vittoria hotels
3.6 mi away
Baglio Occhipinti
Baglio Occhipinti
#2 of 18 in Vittoria
32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Orchidea
Villa Orchidea
#3 of 4 in Vittoria
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 4 in Vittoria
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa di Jo
La Casa di Jo
#11 of 18 in Vittoria
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Adriana B&B
Villa Adriana B&B
#1 of 18 in Vittoria
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa San Bartolo
Hotel Villa San Bartolo
#1 of 4 in Vittoria
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Cos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Cos

Address: S.P. 3 Acate Chiaramonte | Km.14,300, 97019 Vittoria, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Vittoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Vittoria
Price Range: $71 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Locanda Cos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original beauty and charm of the historic house located on the estate was restored to create the Locanda COS. Nestled in the vineyards of the Azienda, it is certainly one of the most beautiful rural buildings in the Vittoria area. Built in the year 800, it is a wonderful example of the neoclassical era of architecture and is now protected by UNESCO as architectural heritage. Locanda offers 6 suites, 3 of which feature private terraces overlooking the vineyard, and 2 rooms located in the tower at the winery. All of the rooms are elegantly furnished in the Sicilian style to suit your needs. The rows of vines, the tranquility of the countryside, and the stunning sunset over the swimming pool all offer the perfect setting to relax. The pristine waters of the African Sea, "Bandiera Blu" or the Baroque towns of Ragusa, Ibla, Modica and Scili on Mont Iblei are all a short drive away from the Locanda. A little further, you will find Etna (the highest volcano in Europe), Taormina, Siracuse, the ancient city of Morgantina, the legendary Valle dei Templi di Agrigento, the magnificent mosaics of Villa del Casale and the Maccalube of Agrigento. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Locanda Cos Vittoria, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing