We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Warkworth, Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_karen_mo...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location in a quaint little village. Highly recommend Mason Arms, lovely pub who do a fantastic Sunday roast. Warkworth beach is within easy walking distance. A nice river walk by Warkworth Castle. We visited several beaches in the area which were all lovely especially Bamburgh beach with the beautiful Bamburgh Castle. All dog friendly. The cottage was lovely and had everything we needed for our stay. We would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie1910
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable and excellent location”
Reviewed March 17, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I have recently come back from a lovely stay at Exchange cottage with my dog. The location of the cottage is really great being only 5 minutes walk from the shops in Warkworth and about 2 minutes from the castle. There is a nice walk behind the castle along the river to Warkworth Hermitage. The beach is about a 15 - 20 min walk and Warkworth is a really good location allowing you easy access to lots of different places, including Alnwick which is only about 20 mins drive.

The cottage itself is situated at the back of a pub car park. I found it to be really quiet and it has its own parking space with enclosed garden. I did eat in the pub (The Sun Hotel). It is dog friendly and the people were welcoming but the food wasn't great, ok but i've had better. The village has a couple of other dog friendly pubs which i never tried. The local shop and post office doesn't allow dogs, something to bear in mind.

The cottage had everything I needed for my stay, including washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, kitchen towelling, plenty of cooking utensils and all bedding and linen was provided. I was even left a pint of milk which was welcome after being snowed in!
The bed was really comfortable and the wifi and TV worked perfect. The only downside (which wasn't anything to do with the cottage) was i was snowed in throughout my stay and had to dig myself out of the parking space and then the pub car park as they didn't clear it. It took 2 hours and no one offered to help!! Aside from this i had a lovely stay at Exchange cottage. John the owner was really nice and contacted me to make sure i arrived safely because of the weather. I would definitely stay again and recommend to others, thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Annabel :) Hope we can welcome you again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viki A
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat in gorgeous Warkworth”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a fabulous stay at Exchange cottage in January. The cottage is located in the centre of Warkworth. Really close to the pubs and shops in the village. It is spotlessly clean with all the things you would need. There is a well stocked kitchen, the lounge is really comfortable and the beds are good quality. The shower in the main bedroom could do with updating but that was a very minor issue.

The WiFi worked well and it was great to be able to park right outside the door. We brought our two dogs and it was really handy to have the enclosed garden for them to run around and play in safely. We enjoyed our stay at Exchange Cottage, so much so we booked again while we were there! The price of the cottage is amazing value also. It’s a lot cheaper than most places in that part of the north east.

The village of Warkworth is really pretty with plenty of good pubs to eat at. Most places are dog friendly. The beach is within walking distance of the cottage and you are only a short drive to Amble. Warkworth is a a good place to stay as you are not far from some of the lovely places in Northumberland to visit like Craster, Alnmouth and Bamburgh. I’d definitely recommend Exchange cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Viki, really pleased you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again later in the year. John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J111DPMNe...
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend in lovely Exchange Cottage”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a 3 night stay in the excellent Exchange Cottage in Walkworth. Cottage is lovely and clean with all the amenities you will need for a short break. It is warm, cosy, well presented and large enough for 4 people. Weather was great in October and we even were able to sit in the garden with a nice glass of cider!!! I can not fault one thing about the cottage and we will be returning next year for sure. Thank you Cosy Retreats for a great property in a great Northumberland location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you again soon :) John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2017
Thanks for the feedback - we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope we can welcome you again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donna W
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Exchange Cottage!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We enjoyed a lovely family break at Exchange Cottage . The Cottage is lovely and cosy,great fenced garden , private parking space , fantastic location .The pretty Village of Warkworth is on the doorstep .Very dog friendly pubs , lots of walks from the door . The beautiful beach is in walking distance .John at Cosy Retreats is very professional and helpful . We enjoyed it so much that we are already planning a return visit next year .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Thanks for the kind words Donna, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! You're welcome again anytime :) John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
5
people found this review helpful

Warkworth village is stunning,the amenities are fantastic! Masons Arms a must visit for fabulous food, friendly staff,a lovely traditional english pub. Warkworth beach is only 15mins walk away,clean sand,beautiful sea, a little piece of heaven. Unfortunately I am not as enthusiastic about Exchange Cottage. First impressions count,the front door is peeling and tatty (needs sanding/painting) all of the windows are unsafe, not secure, a burglars paradise. You aren't allowed to check in until 4pm due to housekeeping/cleaning, it was very evident that this hadn't been done (dust, cobwebs) We weren't told NOT to use the oven, there was a fault with the element which tripped the whole electricity supply.
Mattresses need replacing too soft/hard. All in all the photographs used to promote the cottage are outdated/edited to show it in a better light than what it actually is....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in our cottage Michelle. You're quite right about the front door and the paintwork on the window frames - it's very shabby indeed. The windows and doors will all be fully replaced in a few weeks time, which we're really exited about as we're always looking to improve the cottage as much as we can as and when funds allow. However, stating that our cottage is a burglars' paradise is outrageous. We've had a total of zero burglaries at Exchange Cottage and long may that continue...your comments are not only unwelcome and untrue, they are libellous.

I'm sorry you found some dust, cobwebs etc...that should never be the case and is something we can rectify right away. But little evidence that any cleaning had been done? Really?

I'm delighted to say the oven is now fixed, which solves the mystery of the fuse tripping.

Matresses will always divide opinion, as some people prefer them firm and others like them a little softer...and as you said they were "too soft/hard", I'm not entirely certain what your complaint is.

Finally, our photographs are not particualrly outdated and they are most certainly not edited. They were shot in late 2015 and I would say the only major difference between then and now is that we've replaced the sofas inside and all the iron guttering/down pipes and rotten wooden fascias outside - other than that, it's exactly as it was.

Thanks again for the feedback. John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing