We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
297
134
31
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
297
134
31
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel dog friendly hotel the hotel car park lamb shank evening meal and breakfast busy road cosy bar sunday lunch hotel restaurant mash generous portions full english first floor short break very pleasant stay dog owners residents lounge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here twice now, ideal location. Walking distance to the coast, lovely pubs within 50 yards. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The accommodation very clean and a very good choice for breakfast. Thank you looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank charlesbettison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Reception at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Charles Bettison,

Many thanks for a great review.

I am glad you enjoyed your return visit to the hotel and the surrounding area. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, I will be sure to pass them on to all the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed last weekend in the Warkworth House cottage, a property within the grounds of the hotel. We picked the cottage, rather than the hotel, as we had brought our dog with us. The cottage was far nicer than the photos would suggest. It was warm, clean, very spacious and a real home from home. We were able to check in instantly and there were some nice touches in the form of tea, coffee and milk and toiletries in the bathroom. The check in process was very easy and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Warkworth itself is a beautiful village with so many walks on the door step. We were able to take advantage of the close proximity to the beach, the river and the castle. Unfortunately we didn't have the opportunity to eat at the hotel but wished we had tried it. We did eat at Betram's in the village which is highly recommended and the Masons Arms pub, only because our surname is Mason. There was a good atmosphere in the pub, despite England losing the rugby and the food was ok but I wouldn't go back.
All in all a fabulous weekend and place to stay. I would have given a 5 star review but the parking was a bit limited and there was building work taking place which woke me up earlier than i would have liked. Will definitely try and visit again in the summer.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global821531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Reception at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Global821531,

Thank you very much for your review of our self catering cottage.

I am glad that you enjoyed your weekend break away and found that everything in the cottage was to your liking.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the village and the weather allowed you to explore the beautiful countryside and coastal walks in the near by area.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the summer.

Kind Regards,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to visit Warkworth after seeing a TV documentary on the history of villages - this was one of them, with a beautiful church at one end (dating from 12th century) and atmospheric castle at the other, all held in the oxbow of the River Coquet. We stayed at Warkworth House Hotel and are so glad we did - the staff are friendly and efficient, the beds comfy, the breakfast excellent... I could go on! Our six night break passed in a flash - we will definitely be back. And although we didn't take our pooch with us on this occasion, the hotel is dog friendly and it was charming to see various four-legged friends making their way upstairs to bed with their owners.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Reception at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sarah E,

What a brilliant review!

Thank you for all your kind comments about the staff, food and hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your break away and managed to go out exploring all that Warkworth and the surround areas have to offer.

It certainly sounds like you managed to fit loads in during your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again to continue your explorations.

Here at the hotel we strive for great customer service and to ensure that everyone's break is as relaxing and enjoyable as it should be, and it seems that we achieved that with yourselves.

Until the next time,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had stayed previously and was delighted to find they accepted dogs so booked return trip.
Did not expect as plush room as last time due to the dog but was amazed by the stunning room we were given (room7).
The staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful.
Enjoyed taking the dog for early bar in The Masons but returned the hotel bistro for a very enjoyable meal.
Will definitely return to this hotel....have found our perfect place to stay in our favourite getaway destination.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DD400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Reception at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DD400,

Thank you for a brilliant review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your return visit to us and found that everything was still to your liking.

I will pass on your wonderful comments to the staff who will be pleased to know that you enjoyed another break away with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here completely by chance, meeting friends for a meal at the same time. Warm welcome, lovely room with individual character. Evening meal and breakfast very nice, especially the Craster Kipper!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Reception at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mark B,

Thank you for a lovely review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time away with us and the food that you sampled both in the evening and for breakfast was to your liking.

I will be sure to pass on all your kind comments to the team here at the Warkworth House Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews