We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming! Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warkworth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had 3 rooms booked here for a wedding in Warkworth. The staff were outstanding - helpful and always available to serve or answer questions. Room 23 is excellent - 2 flights of stairs but well worth the climb. Breakfast service was excellent, and the whole stay was a pleasure

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajrs1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 353 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

Excellent spot, friendly staff, nice atmosphere in bar and very interesting draft beer. Restaurant also good, but dishes not quite as expected, superb moules but served with big chunky chips rather than frites. Chicken Pan Haggerty nothing like the real thing - succulent chicken but with unctuous mash and some lardons. Vegetables almost uncooked apart from nice new potatoes. I've yet to meet the mystic diner who actually like their mange-tout or French beans raw. My partners sea-bream was good, but edible vegetables would have been nice. Staff willingly packed the large portion into a box and we enjoyed them properly cooked the next day.
Wines by the glass appear more interesting than they are. Very annoying hyped up descriptions, giving the impression the describer is a wine expert, which they clearly are not. Wines not bad, but absolutely not as described - tried 3. Background music - hits of the 60 and 70's would also have to be your taste.
Will go back but with a little caution.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bowsteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was lovely, very very clean, with nice bed linen, towels etc. The restaurant and food were great, we had sea trout the evening we ate there and it was yummy. Warkworth is a lovely place and this hotel is a great base. 100% recommend this hotel - thanks for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Room 23 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

On our way to the Edinburgh Fringe, Warkworth House was a beautiful, relaxing and peaceful stopover. I learnt that the hotel has been acquired by two sisters, who are gradually renovating and improving the hotel. They are doing a great job and I wish them all the success in the world. Rooms are comfortable and the renovated ones have lovely modern bathrooms - ours was in the roof and a tad hot - it was a searingly not night, would be good if the windows could open fully to let more air in. Bar food in the evening was home made, tasty, plentiful and good value - next time will come hungrier and try the formal restaurant. Really enjoyed our stay here. Only one small comment - initial contact with the lady on reception when we arrived at night was a little frosty - might be nice to be more overtly welcoming and smiley - and by contrast the lady who checked us out the following morning was really friendly and helpful: just a small point, but first impressions are everything! Lovely guy behind the bar in the evening too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here for 2 separate nights and I found the hotel and staff charming and helpful. The rooms were pretty and thoughtfully decorated. The bathrooms were well equipped and had extra touches like little packets of cotton buds and cotton pads. They were also super clean.
I'm not a great one to judge the breakfast menus as it's not my favourite meal of the day but the choice was great and had unusual options like kippers as well as the standard full English and continental offerings. All freshly cooked and of high quality.
Service was great and personal.
Rooms had TV and wifi ( it was a bit patchy mind you) as well as tea and coffee making kit with biscuits.
The beds were comfortable and had high quality sheets and throws, very cosy indeed.
All in all a great stay and I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel in July 2014. The hotel is located in the heart of the beautiful town of Warkworth. The hotel is stylish and the rooms are beautifully decorated more 4star than 3star in standard. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was very good. We did not have an evening meal there.We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if unable to use the stairs request one of the two downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in warkworth and ate in the restaurant. It was amazing! Could not fault the food or service. We went back the night after and had the bar menu which was also really good. Wish I lived closer as I would be a regular there. We didn't take the dogs but I believe they are allowed in the bar area.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
10.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
537 reviews
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
395 reviews
8.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: $90 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Warkworth House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Warkworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing