We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service”
Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roxbro House
Ranked #1 of 11 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Two night stay at Roxbro House wonderful B & B offering 5 star service. Choice at breakfast was excellent, I had the best Egg Benedict I have eaten anywhere. Lovely starched linen, silver cutlery and china pottery. Everything was spotlessly clean, lovely touches provided by Claire.. White Company toiletries, fluffy dressing gowns, fruit and biscuits and a lovely glass of wine during 'Happy Hour'. Would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Roxbro House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 764 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic stay! Very accommodating seeing as we arrived late. perfect location and lovely breakfast! Not a single complaint and will definately return. Owners really went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and had breakfast in our room on our second day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay at Roxbro House. The rooms were decorated with old-fashioned grandeur, and were very comfortable. The owners had thought of everything - fresh milk delivered in the morning, an emergency sewing kit... all those little niggles that you sometimes have staying away from home thoughtfully smoothed away.

The two guest lounges were very pleasant places to relax, and the honesty bar reasonably priced.

We enjoyed our breakfast on both days - the breakfast menu was interesting and the food very well cooked.

The only pity was that by visiting on a wet October weekend we couldn't use the garden... we'll have to save that for our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane_e_aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights, and it was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was a real occasion, such a choice of delicious food, and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts.
Room was spacious and very clean, with plenty of space to hang clothes. We had a separate bathroom with shower, lovely toiletries and it was spotless. The general relaxing areas were very welcoming, and we enjoyed the wine, cheese and cake on both evenings. Roxbro House is in a lovely area of the country, and we enjoyed our trips to Holy Island, the Farne Islands and finished off in Whitley Bay. I can highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

4th October 2013, guest from Pocklington:
"fantastic house full of beautiful things. Our bed was amazing we haven't slept that well in ages !Breakfast was excellent and the people very friendly. Couldn't of wished for a more indulgent and relaxing break away from home."

Tip:
"beautiful beach walk lovely chocolate shop in Warkworth village. The old boat house at Amble great for a meal

Room Tip: fantastic slipper bath with a great view of the Castle in the Ethel Noble room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Roxbro House for one night only but can highly recommend it. We had the last available room which had private external bathroom, No complaints, the room décor was good, bed very comfortable, constant hot water, fluffy white towels. We had to leave early the next morning before breakfast but Claire surprised us with a tray of toast, coffee/tea, fresh orange delivered to our room before we left which was very much appreciated. Our stay at Roxbro House was very good, wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Just speak to the proprietors ... I'm sure they will do their best to oblige you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is no ordinary B & B. With luxury facilities, sumptuous fittings, great breakfast choices and parking too I could not fault it. The bed was comfortable, the lounges were friendly and the little extras like the cheese and wine made everything feel like a country house weekend away. We were in room 1 overlooking the castle and the road but at no time was the latter intrusive. Being able to walk to the restaurants and shops in Warkworth was a real treat too. Thanks Claire and Stu.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
343 reviews
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: $111 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roxbro House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Complimentary cheese and wine is served to our guests each evening. Special offers are frequently available on our own site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing