We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roxbro House
Ranked #1 of 12 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Just returned after a four night stay at Roxbro House. It is exactly as described by everyone else in the reviews - can't imagine anyone would be disappointed. Lots of little extra touches - we especially liked the "turn down" service when we returned at night to find our lamps had been switched on, chocolates and a relaxing music cd left. There was also a movie offer which we always meant to make use of - popcorn, tubs of icecream, bags of sweets (there's a large selection of DVDs at Roxbro House) but we were always out and about (would have been a nice thing to do if the weather had been terrible!!). Breakfasts were great too - I'd recommend the pancakes, bacon and maple syrup - delicious!! (My other half raved about the kippers). We ate every night at The Masons Arms in the village - good food and a nice, friendly atmosphere. Warkworth's a great place to stay - quaint little village with a few nice gift shops, river running down to the beach plus a castle. Bit of a downer having to leave it to come home.

  • Liked — Decor of rooms, peaceful atmosphere, great service, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    61
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
609
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We had a wonderfully relaxing long weekend here at the end of June. Our room was beautiful, with crisp white sheets, fluffy white towels and luxurious bathrobes. Claire is very welcoming, without being obtrusive, and her breakfasts really need to be experienced. In fact, I wish we had been able to stay for longer so I could have tried everything on the menu!
A real find!

  • Liked — Breakfast and location (the village is lovely)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eccleston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

chosen on strength of tripadvisor reviews and was not in the least disappointed. Claire made us feel very welcome and the room was a lovely twin overlooking Warkworth Castle. Lovely touches like a chocolate on the pillow and fresh flowers, set it apart from many guest houses. Excellent quality toiletries, towels and bed linen and even dressing gowns. We were walking to Alnmouth for our evening meal and Claire advised us on where to eat - when you don't know the area this kind of advice is invaluable. Breakfast was delicious with a choice of cereals and fresh fruit , followed by a choice of cooked breakfasts. My husband tried poached (I think) peaches with berries and jus - delicious - before his kippers. I had Eggs Benedict and would highly recommend to any other visitors. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Liked — lovely decor, clean, excellent host and breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suggest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Sorry we only stayed for three nights which was not long enough to sample everything on the breakfast menu. Can recommend the kippers, and the porridge, also the pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup. We were in room 2 which overlooked the castle. A good sized room, Very clean, with good quality furnishings and bedding. The en suite bathroom was nice and roomy with beautiful fluffy towels. There were lots of little extras which made this a lovely place to stay. Warkworth has lots of nice walks - around the castle, a lovely river walk or along the beach. We ate at the Masons pub in the evenings and had enjoyable, good value meals served by friendly staff. Claire was very welcoming and friendly and Roxbro House would defintely be our first choice to stay in Northumberland.

  • Liked — the comfort, privacy and friendliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thornebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Our stay at Roxbro was very comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome.
The information shared with us as to places to eat or see was very good.

  • Liked — Friendliness and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotters11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Riston, East Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Best bed and breakfast ever. Nothing too much trouble and the luxury welcome treats were excellent. Wonderful choice of breakfast and Rosemarie is lovely. The views of the castle are second to none. A must go.

Helpful?
Thank BaileyRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glosssop, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We have just returned from a holiday touring Northumberland. We stayed in several B & B's all perfectly acceptable but our 3 nights at Roxbro House were really special. The accommodation is superb and the attention to detail exceptional. If you are planning a visit to this wonderful county do go to Walkworth and in particular Roxbro House. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chyulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
317 reviews
5.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
341 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,163 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 12 in Warkworth
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Property: Roxbro House
Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Roxbro House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Special offers are frequently available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing