We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roxbro House
Ranked #1 of 10 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Emily Noble Room at this beautiful, tasteful b&b. Really to call it a b&b is not a fair description of the luxury facilities and brilliant breakfasts that were part of the package. We could not have asked for more. I am a very fussy person but could not make a single suggestion for improvement. Thank you very much Claire for your wonderful hospitality. Hopefully we will see you again before too long.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Supergrannieisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    63
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
613
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the second time we have visited Roxbro House. The rooms are beautifully decorated and house stunning period furniture. The rooms are clean and luxurious.
Breakfast is excellent with a wide selection of local produce, cooked to perfection.
The owners are excellent hosts and make you feel extremely welcome.
I would highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaybunny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Roxbro House for a weekend away to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We were welcomed warmly and shown to the Ethel Noble room. The room was lovely - really spacious and decorated in an old fashioned style which fit in with the rest of the house. The bathroom was also very large with free-standing bath and separate shower cubicle. We really apprecaited the little touches such as the chocolates and the toiletries in the room, and the wine and cheese during Happy Hour, and of course the lemon cake - delicious!

During our stay we sampled several of the breakfasts; I went for the Roxbro rosti and the eggs benedict, whilst my husband had the full English and the pancakes. All were very tasty and presented well. The 'help yoursefl' buffet of cereals, fruits, juice, etc. was well stocked and gave plenty of choice.

On the second day the weather was awful, so we went back to the room, borrowed a DVD from the extensive collection and had a glass of wine and some cake! Perfect place to relax.

Whilst there we ate at the Hermitage in Warkworth on our first night (good pub food and nice atmosphere), and the Treehouse at Alnwick Gardens on the second night (very nice for a special occassion)

We had a great stay and would recommend Roxbro House for couples wanting a quiet weekend away in lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a lovely time at Roxbro House comfortable and clean room, fantastic breakfast lots of choice and plenty of it.
Very friendly welcome and nothing too much trouble. Happy hour great idea, we felt right at home it was lovely. A good base to visit the attractions in this beautiful part of the UK. We highly recommend this B&B. Thank you Claire and Stu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night when visiting the area. We had read the reviews on here and new what to expect. Check in is not until 4pm which I think is late especially when we were only staying the one night. We had emailed the hotel to see if we could check in any earlier but were told no as they were shopping. To be fair I can understand the one time check in but I still think its late. We stayed in the Owners suite which is lovely and its like stepping back in time. I loved the roll top bath in the bedroom. Nice touches like real coffee, fruit and chocolates and fresh milk in the fridge. We were supposed to get fresh milk delivered to your door in the morning but we never received any and I had to go down the staircase in the dressing gown provided and found some in the corridor, not sure if it was meant for us but we had no milk left so we used it. The best thing about Roxbro House is definitely the breakfast. I had the Roxbro rosti and it was delicious and they also do lovely fruit and yoghurt. We possibly may stay here again but they don't cater for children so would not be able to stay as a family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treacle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fusspot123, Owner at Roxbro House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I would like to take the opportunity to clarify one major point to readers of your review and state that we DO accept children, and have many delightful little ones stay with us on a regular basis.
I did contact this reviewer directly and asked her if she would re word her statement about not catering for children, given that it is untrue, but she refused to do so. She stated to me by email that "she" would not feel comfortable bringing her own young children here. That view point has been echoed many times before by departing guests who have loved staying here as a couple, due to the house containing a lot of fine furniture and antiques- a view point that I totally understand being a mother and grandmother myself. Sadly in her response she felt it necessary to throw a couple of personal insults at me, which I felt were very uncalled for!

One being that I never respond to any "Excellent" reviews. At the moment that is indeed true, although in the past I have attempted to. We are always very grateful to anyone who takes the time to review their stay with us, but we are a very busy 6 bedroom B&B and my hubby and I run this and a self catering cabin single handily ( with the help of a part time housekeeper).

We already, like so many other B&B's work 14+ hour days, 7 days a week dealing with planning, bookings, laundry, maintenance etc . Unlike larger establishments we simply do not have the luxury of having a manager or receptionist to answer reviews for us. So being a responsible caring owner when I read a review where there seems to be dissatisfaction - I respond!
I would love to have the luxury of having the time to respond to the hundreds of excellent reviews we receive, but at present I simply don't - unless I wanted to give up my sleep.
I could respond to every review quickly and insincerely, but I don't believe that would be very professional.

With regards to the comments in this review about us shopping and lack of milk, I am afraid they have been inaccurately recorded.

I do hope that me taking the time to respond to this review has clarified points that you have raised.

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night in the owners suite on the top floor with my wife as a birthday treat. We had 3 separate rooms , bedroom, bathroom and snug. Although decoration was not really to my taste the room was very comfortable and warm. Breakfast was really nice with a range of cereals and fruits followed by a selection of cooked meals I opted for full English and it was lovely. Fresh milk was provided in our fridge which is better than those plastic cartons you get at most B and B,s. A roll topped bath was enjoyed by my wife as she likes to relax while reading. All in all an enjoyable stay and think it would be a real treat using the hot tub, garden etc when the weather is better. If I could make one suggestion I would make the owners suite into a family room I think it would appeal to more people wishing to stay in Northumberland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fusspot123, Owner at Roxbro House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a constructive review.
I am pleased that you found the room comfortable and warm and that the bath was well received.

Whilst I welcome any suggestions, The Owners Suite is already used by families and very often the parents use the double bedroom and a child, or teenager or indeed a third person are accommodated very comfortably in the snug on the fully sprung daybed.

Best wishes

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really top flight B&B accommodation. We love this part of the UK and this B&B just adds to the experience. The breakfasts are excellent and the rooms are really quite special. Claire is great fun and a brilliant hostess.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 10 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.9 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Property: Roxbro House
Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Roxbro House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Special offers are frequently available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing