We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish comfort with a serious view”
Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roxbro House
Ranked #1 of 10 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stylish comfort with a serious view”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Drive up from Amble along the river, up the hill past the impressive Warkworth Castle and stop. Youare at Roxbro House. Aperiod buiding with parking outside front door. Awelcoming landlady, very clean and decorated house. Big warm room overlooking castle. Big comfy bed, filter comfy, slippers and dressing gowns. Downstairs several lounges, DVD'S and an honesty bar, un believable! Individually cooked breakfst, allow plenty of time. The Roxbro Rosti is to die for, potato cake with melted cheese,bacon and a poached egg. Best breakfast ever.
Bit pricey for a guest house but on balance, worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamj829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    63
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
613
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for one night in the Owners Suite, instantly felt right at home. You'll know as soon as you step through the door how good the stay is going to be. Even then the suite exceeded expectations. Super big suite, luxury fittings throughout, your comfort is assured. Hard to leave the next morning, looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Owners Suite occupies the entire top floor, plenty of room to relax in absolute privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was definitely a 5 star guest house! Great hospitality. Food was freshly prepared and of excellent quality. Fantastic decor throughout the house. A real pleasure to stay. No swimming pool on site however this does not affect the experience of staying at the Roxbro.

Room Tip: Don't think that there would be any room with a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hfb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My Wife and i went for a week long trip to Dunhill Golf Tournament in Scotland in October.
On the way we had a two day stopover in Warkworth and booked into the Roxbro House and took advantage of a Deal in the Owners Suite.
We were pleasantly greeted by the owner Claire, to a Victorian splendour of Decor and service.
I can only say good things about our stay at Roxbro House and i would Highly recommend this as a place to stay if you are looking for a Smart B&B.
Owners Suite is complete Top Floor occupying three Rooms ans a Roll Top Bath in Bedroom.!!

Room Tip: Try to Book the Owners Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MINKEYRAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

There is little to add to the many fabulous reviews on this site other than to say that it more than lived up to our very high expectations having seen all the positive comments. Since taking early retirement a couple of years ago we have travelled extensively both abroad and in the U.K. and this (the Ethel Noble) is probably the nicest room we have stayed in. En suites are so often tiny areas with no space to swing a cat but here the bathroom was a very large and completely separate room with huge power shower and olde worlde bathtub.
Breakfasts were outstanding and there was such a vast choice both from the cold buffet and the cooked menu. Chef Stu's Roxbro Rosti was an absolute delight. He and Claire seem to have found the perfect formula and they are currently offering discounted room rates which are great value for money. We hope to return in the near future to spend more time in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have not stayed in a B&B for many a year prefering lavish hotels and the comfort they offer........ well this is no B&B!!! We stayed in The Owners' Suite. This place out did many of the hotels we have stayed in. The room was perfect, very clean and an attention to detail that you would expect in a 5* plus hotel. Breakfast was delicious and the whole stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The reviews and accolade Roxboro House has achieved on here is fully deserved. We will return!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom-522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We very much enjoyed three nights at Roxbro House. The Owners' Suite was very comfortable, the breakfasts superb and we also enjoyed a picnic hamper supper one night. There is lots to do in the area, and Warkworth also has plenty of places for food and drink. The location is good for activities on the doorstep or as a base for exploring further afield. The honesty bar and whisky room are noce touches, and we felt very welcome.

Room Tip: The Owners' Suite with its own lounge is very comfortable and the extra space is useful if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 10 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.9 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Property: Roxbro House
Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Roxbro House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Special offers are frequently available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing