We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roxbro House
Ranked #1 of 11 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Roxbro House on the recommendation of a work colleague and I'm very glad we did. We stayed in The Owners Suite and I can't rate it highly enough. Beautiful bedroom, very comfortable bed with the softest bed linen, flat screen tv, roll-top bath in the corner. Huge bathroom with the biggest shower I have ever seen. And to top it off a sitting room with a seating area and another flat screen tv with dvd player.

We had one of the room picnics on the first night which we thoroughly enjoyed. Good sized servings and the sticky toffee pudding was delicious. We also had a cream tea on the second afternoon and the cakes were delicious and all served on bone china and sterling silver. Both of these meals were beautifully presented in a picnic basket as we had them delivered to our suite.

The breakfasts were definitely the best I have ever had. Some of the previous reviewers had recommended the Roxbro Rosti so I had this on the first morning and thoroughly enjoyed it, definitely recommended! The pancakes with bacon and maple syrup on the second morning came a close second!

The hotel is ideally situated to visit the sorrounding area and we spent an enjoyable day at Warkworth Castle which is within 5 minute walking distance.

I honestly can't understand why anybody would have a bad experience at Roxbro House, it was spotlessly clean, the bed was re-made and the rooms tidied each day, fresh milk on a morning, home made cookies on the hospitality tray and Claire and Stu couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely be returning and have recommended it to family and friends.

Room Tip: The Owners Suite is recommended for a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife & I have recently returned from a one nights stay at Roxbro House.We both agreed that it was one of the best B&B accomodations we have stayed in. The house is full of character with antiques and photographs jumping out from all sides.We were greeted by Claire the owner who showed us the lovely ground floor lounges and explained how the honesty bar worked.
Claire then took us to our first floor room.The room was very clean and inviting and was also full of antique furniture and nick nacks.The en suite bathroom with shower cubical was adequate for our needs and the double antique bed very comfortable.
We walked into the village and had a evening bar meal in one of the pubs which was very nice.
Breakfast in the conservatory at Roxbro house was a delight. There was a good mixed choice and the eggs benidict with salmon was delicious.
We really enjoyed our short stay and will return next time we visit the Northumbria coast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A lovely friendly place. Beautiful bedroom and bathroom, two comfortable lounges and a really excellent breakfast. This is the first time we have stayed in a 'bed and breakfast' rather than hotel but are now converts if we can find places of this standard. We will certainly return to Roxbro House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Opposite the castle in Warkworth , Roxbro House B and B .it gets rave reviews as you will see from the site , so let's get down to earth . It IS very good ,and run by welcoming hosts but you are paying top prices for a room so that should equate to perfect and it almost did .
The bedroom was furnished well , good quality bedding.
Free wi fi
Good shower , luxurious towels
Honesty bars in the general sitting rooms , nice touches like free cake in the sitting room,, biscuits/ sweets and fruit in the bedroom , good selection of teas/coffees in room .
Breakfast - avearge for the cold selection , hot selection of food that others seemed to enjoy.
Parking outside .
So why just very good ? well little things like the niggly notes in the bathroom about removing the very small bottles of shampoo and shower gel, poor lighting in the bathroom - difficult for shaving or makeup , the bed mattress the wrong side of average - seen its best days ,slippers in the room for guest use that were grubby and obviously been used many times by previous guests - not very hygenic .
So although it was very good , for the price ( same as many hotel chains) it can still improve , and we look forward to seeing how it does on a future visit .

Room Tip: Chose according to the type of bathroom you like - walk in shower or bath etc... all on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BellaMBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fusspot123, Owner at Roxbro House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have to be honest and say that despite our hundreds of excellent reviews I am not a fan of this site.

The housekeeping problem with "grubby" slippers is not acceptable and something we do not authorise or condone! And if you have encountered this then I am very embarrassed and extremely sorry! With regards to the toiletries, yes we DO ask guests to refrain from simply taking items away for the sake of it. We are a small 6 bedroom establishment, not a large chain, that strives to provide the highest quality of everything we offer, from luxurious toiletries to silver cutlery at breakfast time!. Gilchrist and Soammes are VERY costly to provide for our guests, and we were experiencing guests simply clearing the shelves of these toiletries for personal use at home, As with any establishment toiletries are provided for use during their stay! Would it be acceptable to allow guests to remove our luxurious goose down feather pillows or our silver cutlery because they liked them??? And believe me it happens!

Whilst constructive criticism/ feedback is welcomed and OFTEN given we are not perfect and are on a continual learning curve, I feel that Tripadvisor is fast becoming a cowardly forum, which serves no positive use. If a guest has encountered a problem is it not better for all concerned to direct these concerns to the owners directly and at least be given the opportunity to rectify issues when it is clear that our normal excellent standards may have lapsed? Service recovery is the most relevant part of any customer service industry but can only be implemented if brought to our attention at the time, not on an anonymous forum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Roxboro |House. A beautiful house overlooking Warkworth castle. Bedrooms are luxuorious shower to die for. The breakfast if you choose not to have the traditional english which look good, but try the Roxboro Rosti, or the smoked haddock smoked salmon croissant, too may beautiful choices. Home from a beautiful home, Clare made us very welcome. Book early to have a choice of room as all are different.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front overlooking the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avalonderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our 2 night stay in the "Geoffrey" room at Roxbro House. The room was beautiful full of antiques and the complimentary tea/coffee was better than the average with cafetiere for coffee and a good selection of teas and the fresh milk urn outside the door in a morning was a lovely touch. We even had our own separate luxury shower room with dressing gowns and slippers included and the most soft and fluffy bath towels. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and we actually slept in and nearly missed our breakfast on the second morning!! Breakfast was stunning, a great choice from a full English, eggs benedict, craister kipper and the delicious Roxbro rosti. Wish we could have stayed a full week to try each one. Claire and Stewart were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have done enough for you. Claire, Paul says if he puts weight on this week it's your fault because he couldn't resist your complimentary caramel shortbread every time he went passed it!! It was delicious though. Our highlight though has to be the last night when we went in the hot tub with a bottle of wine to relax and chill. This is a little gem of a B & B in a wonderful part of the country and we will most definitely not be staying anywhere else whenever we are in that area again. Looking forward to visiting again next year already. Thanks again Claire and Stewart, we had a lovely, relaxing time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just back from our second stay at The Roxbro. This must be the Best B & B in the area if not the UK..Claire & Stu are very very nice and very accomidating. The bedrooms are beautiful and the breakfast amazing. I had a different breakfast each day and also indulged in a lovely bucks fiz. We enjoyed the hot-tub a nice touch of luxury sitting in the bubbles with a nice bottle of red. We will be going back without a doubt. A BIG THANKYOU to CLAIRE & STU....Terry & Linda (Edinburgh)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindilouedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
355 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
12 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: $83 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roxbro House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Complimentary cheese and wine is served to our guests each evening. Special offers are frequently available on our own site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing