We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for touring”
Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roxbro House
Ranked #1 of 11 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2008

This is a little gem. great base for touring, lovely bedrooms and a great breakfast which will last you all day.views of the Castle from 2 of the bedrooms. small place with a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank antonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
There are newer reviews for Roxbro House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 763 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2008

the most beautiful bed&breakfast we have stayed in. directly opposite warkworth castle, amazing views.proprietor Claire couldn't do enough forus.rooms werebeautifully furnished with amazing "white company "bedding-to die for! bathrooms gorgeous with lovely little niknaks, choices of breakfasts were wonderful not just the full english! a great selection to choose from, also had a sister pub "the masons" great atmosphere, will definately be going back soon and staying in room 2! my hubby and i went for a relaxing weekend and we certainly got that. well worth a visit!
mr&mrs foster,birtley tyne&wear

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank BirtleyContender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Dark January days:
this is a first class place to stay. The visitors' lounge had a roaring fire and a wonderful stillness and wintery spicy smell about it. Rooms are well decorated and there are lot of original ideas too. Despite that there is still a feeling of simplicity. Bed, bedding linen towels all of the highest quality. Breakfast was from a list of options decided by guests the previous night, The addtional fruit option was wonderful after a full meal the night before.
Will be coming back here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any traveller

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

Really nice period house. Host very pleasant tries hard to please.
Good rooms.Breakfast first class. Location ideal for exploring the Northumberland coast and Scottish Borders.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ballandine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

We were looking forward to a beautiful Xmas break experiencing Northumberland hospitality.
Roxbro House surpassed our expectations.

Carolyn & Richard Turner
Leeds

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank trickydicky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

We fancied exploring the North-East and looked on the internet for places to stay. Our initial thoughts were to look for somewhere in Alnwick but having checked the reviews on trip advisor we thought again !! Then on one of the reviews for another place it recommended Roxbro House. So having read the fantastic reviews we managed to book the last room for the weekend and . . . . . . . .
We were not disappointed, it is everything that is said on all the previous reviews!! Warkworth is a lovely little village with a few places to eat/drink. The room at Roxbro House was lovely and nice and cosy for the harsh November weather !! The breakfast was also very nice and lots of local choice.
Claire was more than helpful getting us the tide times for when we visited Lindesfarne.
Overall a fantastic little place to stay and one that we would definately go back to. It is ideally located for exploring all of the North-East.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammy8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

This is a truly excellent b&b. Our room was stunningly pretty and had a great view as Roxbro House is directly opposite the impressive Warkworth Castle.

There are little touches that make this place so special (like chocolates in the room) and the fact that guests have their own sitting room with a open fire lit nightly, really adds to the cosy and relaxing atmosphere.

The breakfast range is superb and really sets you up for the day ahead, I even tried the Craster Kippers for which Northumberland is famed.

The village of Warkworth is really quaint and has some great little pubs and quirky trinklet shops, and was a perfect to be based for our romantic weekend break away from it all.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
343 reviews
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,263 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
527 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: $112 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roxbro House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Complimentary cheese and wine is served to our guests each evening. Special offers are frequently available on our own site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing