We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its Best”
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sun Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Past its Best”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is in a great situation but the whole place is in need of renovation. The dining room is a fine room but desperately needs redecoration. The bedroom furniture needs replacement (though it was of poor quality in the first place). The outside is very scruffy. All in all rather disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
99
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A bit tired, nice view from dining room but menu limited and expensive for size of portions. I had duck which was very tough. Not enough staff, one waiter who was run off his feet. Needs to be up-dated and menu should have more choice.

Room Tip: didn't stay at hotel just had a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely people, warm and welcoming. Room was clean with a nice view and the breakfast very filling. We will definitely return, the hotel has a great feel to it and the location, well you couldn't any closer to the castle

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1966C_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Tenn
Level Contributor
374 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Sun Hotel is located right across from the castle in Warkworth--a beautiful setting. The restaurant is a bit on the upscale side--quite nice--and the food is a bit above average. Service is slow but that seems to be the norm in northern England.

This is a very enjoyable place to have a relaxing dinner in the shadow of a compelling historic site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank civilwarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location and a very good meal, although there was a lack of atmosphere in the conservatory. Selected starter from specials - potato skins were lovely, then gammon & fish for mains - both well presented and tasty. Will be back with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Just as other reviewers, the hotel is in an excellent position but needs to be brought into the 21st century. Rooms a bit small and needs updating. The housekeeping needs to be a bit better as some hair in the bathroom and the glasses were not washed. Breakfast ok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I know its just been taken over but there are no excuses for staff serving food with black fingernails.
I also know you should not judge a place by one person but I cant help it. Rooms fair, and in need of renovating as mentioned by other guests.
This could be fantastic given its size and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
5.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
5.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 10 in Warkworth
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Property: The Sun Hotel
Address: 6 Castle Terrace | Morpeth, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Warkworth
The Sun Hotel Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing