We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sun Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I know its just been taken over but there are no excuses for staff serving food with black fingernails.
I also know you should not judge a place by one person but I cant help it. Rooms fair, and in need of renovating as mentioned by other guests.
This could be fantastic given its size and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
100
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter, two friends and their two daughters went for dinner one evening. We were staying local to the hotel in Warkworth, and as it was dreadful weather, this was the nearest hotel/restaurant to where we were staying.

From the outside the hotel looks great, and is positioned just across from the castle so the views are excellent. Inside though the decor is tired. We were sat in the "sun conservatory". The tables were presented well, and we were all very pleased with the staff and service we received. It's just the conservatory itself lacked any ambience.

Overall, I think I can best describe the meals themselves as adequate. There were 4/5 starters and 4/5 mains to choose from, along with a specials board. All of us had no issue in choosing a starter and main as there was a sufficiently number of choices. We did have a slight wait but the food was cooked well and used fresh ingredients. The overall cost was just under £100 for four starters, four mains and four children's meals including drinks. In terms of cost, not bad value at all.

Why only 3*? I guess as a hotel I expected a little more. The food was ok, prepared fresh and tasty, however, it was more of a pub meal than a restaurant meal. Perhaps when I think about it, I could just about stretch to 4*. I would not be in a hurry to go back, but I most definitely consider going again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlexKrycek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

we stayed for overnight in August and our room had a lovely view of the castle. the Hotel was nice setting with plenty parking. our room could have done with a bit upgrading and a new carpet but otherwise we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast in the morning was good and although we were came in at the end of the breakfast timetable we were not rushed and staff made us feel very welcome. overall i would stay here again

Room Tip: we loved the our room at the front overlooking the castle which was only a short distance away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnieduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we stayed here overnight and found it very pleasant, the rooms were clean enough, loved the character of the building, great breakfast as much toast and coffee as you liked as well as your full breakfast, could maybe do with updating the carpets as some of them were worn in places but overall very nice.

Room Tip: very warm in room on top floor, window wouldn't stay open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
5.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,007 reviews
5.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 10 in Warkworth
749 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wellwood
The Wellwood
#6 of 14 in Amble
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Property: The Sun Hotel
Address: 6 Castle Terrace | Morpeth, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Warkworth
The Sun Hotel Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing