We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy pub and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hermitage Inn

The Hermitage Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Comfy pub and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had lunch here on Good Friday and all had the battered cod and chips. It was delicious - nice crispy batter and chips and good quality fish. The wine was reasonably priced, and the atmosphere was welcoming and friendly. This is our favourite of all the eating places in Warkworth.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    209
    84
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very friendly service and they quickly provided a list of substitute sides when the main meal was advertised on the menu with something we didn't want. Lovely pub grub and charming atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dormousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed Sunday lunch having pre-booked as The Hermitage is always busy on Mothers Day. We often dine here on a Saturday evening as I enjoy the carvery. My wife is vegetarian and is well catered for as per the menu. Staff and management are friendly and we find it good value for money. As we will not return to any establishment that does not meet our expectations the fact that we keep returning stands testimony to the standards offered by The Hermitage. I find it is always best to pre-book a table to avoid disappointment.
Jim H.
Amble.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

You always take a chance in sudden decisions to pick a place to eat, unfortunately we picked a poor night looking at other comments. We had to send a steak back, it smelt and tasted off and the half chicken lacked any real taste. On a positive note the beer was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pub food - expectations met.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a pub, and the food is of a pub nature. It is fresh, tasty and comes in generous portions.

It is not fancy five star food, and does not pretend to be. Value for money cos it knows what it is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RNS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hermitage Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing