We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing -- definitely wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hermitage Inn

The Hermitage Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing -- definitely wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ate on a Saturday night. Good atmosphere and looked promising even though menu is a bit dull. Ordered scallops, which you wouldn't think were difficult nowadays, but both of our portions were ridiculously overccooked and rubbery. Service was perfunctory at best and complaining about the scallops drew a complete blank from both waiter and barman. Overpriced for very mediocre food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank searcaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    209
    84
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tyne &wear
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visited on Sunday for the carvery, and were not disappointed. We were a family of 6 with a baby and the staff were very accomodating. We even could have brought our dog if we wanted to. The pub is traditional and cosy, but opens out upstairs so there is plenty of room.
The meat available on the carvery was gorgeous, melt in the mouth and perfect, large portions no complaints at all. All fresh produce, great place for sunday lunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronneyroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly local pub with great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have eaten in The Hermitage serveral times and always really enjoy the experience. The staff and local customers are really friendly, the atmopshere is good and the food excellent and good value for money. Make sure to sample the scallops and fillet steak- delicious! We will return again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raffles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grafter999
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Traditional home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed over at a cottage in Warkworth and came her for Sunday lunch carvery.

The meat was the best we've ever had - beef, pork, lamb or Turkey.

Help yourself to the veg and potatoes etc.

Great service with traditional surroundings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grafter999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty local food, well cooked and with excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ate here on a Friday evening in early January. The popularity of the inn was obvious as it was busy, in spite of having few bookings at 4pm that day. The menu is based on 3 or 4 specials based on local produce, alongside an a la carte menu. The meat is of excellent quality, both lamb cutlets and filet steak were perfectly cooked and very tasty. Vegetables are fresh, if plain, with good home made chips, and there is a small but acceptable wine list. The ambience is not in any way pretentious but is cosy and friendly and the service was excellent throughout. There is live music downstairs with a quieter room upstairs. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnniSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hermitage Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing