We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub, Great Food”
Review of Hermitage Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Great Food”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in Warkworth for two nights and visited The Hermitage on both nights, one for a few drinks and a friendly game of darts, and the other for something to eat.

On both nights we found the pub to be very atmospheric, a proper country pub. There was entertainment on Friday night which was much enjoyed. The real ale is also great quality.

When we ate there we found the food to be absolutely fantastic! We had starters of top quality and then chose the sausage pie and rabbit pie from the extensive specials board, both dishes were excellent, and I'd recommend The Hermitage to anyone visiting or passing through Warkworth!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gateshead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at hermitage,26/10/12,we booked in for two nights,the pub itself and the staff,are helpful,good beer,good food,but the accomodation was atrocius,the room was cold,although the manager did get 2 extra heaters for us,the room was very small,most uncomfortable bed ever slept in,
would go back for food and drink,but would never stay overnight again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivienne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warkworth hotels

Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

best pub we`ve been in for years, very friendly atmosphere the staff are excellent. food was great, superb menu and a very good pint.dog friendly too.will be coming back for another holiday and will stay in warkworth so we can eat and drink at the hermitage

Room Tip: didnt stay as we had our dog with
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed in warkworth for great north run weekend and needed a good family meal and some fine ale for the non runner :-) , we were recommended the Hermitage Inn , and I would like to pass that recommendation on. Well kept Jennings real ales, very friendly and helpful staff,great menu all real food, even kids menu used proper homemade food, great value, staff were even able to accommodate my request she wanted a bit of chicken and sausages. Very warm and inviting pub with truthful northern hospitality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank stubbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited the Hermitage last week end and a wonderful time, we had lunch there which we thoroughly enjoyed, our room was nice bit dated but clean, we returned in the evening had dinner which was again very good and then enjoyed the entertainment, the best duo we have ever seen, don't know the name of them but the guy was really funny and good musician and the girl was a great singer will definatley be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiccki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have visited the Hermitage Inn on anumber occasions, the most recent being in August and have found the food and service very good. Yes the decor is a little bit dated and the gents toilets could do with improvement but overall my experience was enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county Durham
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have been to the Hermitage Inn a couple of times now, once in the summer and another time in the winter while I was visiting family in Alnwick and went to Warkworth for a day out, each time we visited, the staff have been very friendly and the food has been great, even my kids ate it and that is saying something as they are very picky but they really enjoyed it. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.1 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 10 in Warkworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 10 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Inn

Property: Hermitage Inn
Address: 23 Castle Street, Warkworth, Amble, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hermitage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Warkworth
Hermitage Inn Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing