We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
221
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
221
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sanderson room peony room garden apartment cakes on arrival house is beautiful the main house ginger wine walk in wardrobe an excellent host warm welcome nothing is too much trouble attention to detail an excellent cook pretty garden pre book large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 222 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you relish the idea of stepping back in time to stay in a luxuriously appointed- but extremely relaxing Victorian guest house, then Fairfield House in Warkworth will not disappoint. Mandy Lance runs the beautifully restored and furnished house with help from her small and friendly team. Nothing is too much trouble to ensure guests are well looked after whether they are staying one night or longer, with the best of food - including delicious home baked goodies - and spacious en suite rooms complete with unlimited supplies of the best teas, coffees etc, as well as books, magazines, DVDs, iPod dock, TV, and free wi-fi access.
Our room boasted a walk-in dressing room plus fireplaces in both the bedroom and the bathroom.
Inside and out, Fairfield House and garden is a pleasure to savour for visitors to this part of splendid Northumberland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyG357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed four nights at Fairfield Guesthouse at the end of December 2013 and the break was exactly what the doctor ordered.

After a long trek up from the Midlands, we were greeted by Mandy and the (small, friendly) dogs, before being shown to the lounge where mulled wine and warm mince pies were waiting for us. Our host was attentive but not intrusive and you could really relax and feel comfortable while staying at the house.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and very well equipped with good quality fixtures and fittings and little extras (nice toiletries, choice of drinks, biscuits etc) that lift a break from being 'so so' to a real treat.

The breakfast menu was high quality, with plenty of choice (Cereal, toast, yogurt plus full English, eggs benedict, craster kippers, smoked salmon bagel etc), and certainly set us up well for a day exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside.

The guesthouse is well located - just a five minute stroll from the town itself with its selection of pubs/restaurants and tea rooms - and also the coastal routes of the county, with easy access to a variety of castles and cultural tourist attractions.

The house is also set in beautiful gardens (the breakfast room overlooks these) so if you visit in Spring/Summer, that would be an additional treat.

Good value for money and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJLaidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed two nights at Fairfield Guesthouse in early December 2013. It was absolutely faultless. The room was very tastefully decoarted and immaculate. The owner Mandy could not do enough for us. She was always on hand without being intrusive. A highlight was tea and homemade cake on the Saturday afternoon in an incredibly cosy lounge. Mandy even popped in to let us know there was an amazing sunset going on outside. Breakfast was gorgeous with a good selection of option, all cooked to order. Incredible value for money and we will definitely be going back as soon as we have a free weekend. Warkworth too is lovely. A small village but with a good range of shops, restaurants and pubs. All in all a very relaxing break.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Sanderson Room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DurhamGirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perfect place to stay, great hospitality and beautiful surroundings. Lovely warm welcome greets you when you arrive at this beautiful house and gardens. Rooms are airy and spacious and retain the charm of a house of its age. Excellent choice of breakfast with tables laid with crisp white linen cloths and napkins. Ideal base for Warkworth village which is a short walk. A perfect relaxing stay and nothing is too much trouble, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The Sanderson room overlooks the south facing garden, a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagsandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed here with our mum for 2 days at the end of September and we thought it was lovely. When we arrived we were welcomed by Mandy, her dogs and freshly baked scones, tea and coffee served in the lounge which was great. We had the Mackintosh room as a twin and mum had the Sanderson room. Both were nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast menu was huge with lots of choice and variety and it was all very tasty.
The house has a lovely garden with sitting areas but it was not quite warm enough for us to take advantage.
The house is within easy walking distance of the town and not too far from the beach. We were not able to get into any of the local restaurants we tried at short notice so that is something to bear in mind at weekends. However, Mandy has a whole file of menus from nearby restaurants and was very informative about which ones she had heard good things about. We had 2 very good evening meals during our stay. One at the Treehouse in Alnwick Garden (booked before travel as a surprise for mum) and the second one at a very nice Italian in nearby Amble (recommended by Mandy).
Overall, a beautiful stay in a beautiful area and with a lovely host. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again one day.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had overlooked the garden which was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews