We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every respect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairfield Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perfect place to stay, great hospitality and beautiful surroundings. Lovely warm welcome greets you when you arrive at this beautiful house and gardens. Rooms are airy and spacious and retain the charm of a house of its age. Excellent choice of breakfast with tables laid with crisp white linen cloths and napkins. Ideal base for Warkworth village which is a short walk. A perfect relaxing stay and nothing is too much trouble, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The Sanderson room overlooks the south facing garden, a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagsandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 197 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed here with our mum for 2 days at the end of September and we thought it was lovely. When we arrived we were welcomed by Mandy, her dogs and freshly baked scones, tea and coffee served in the lounge which was great. We had the Mackintosh room as a twin and mum had the Sanderson room. Both were nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast menu was huge with lots of choice and variety and it was all very tasty.
The house has a lovely garden with sitting areas but it was not quite warm enough for us to take advantage.
The house is within easy walking distance of the town and not too far from the beach. We were not able to get into any of the local restaurants we tried at short notice so that is something to bear in mind at weekends. However, Mandy has a whole file of menus from nearby restaurants and was very informative about which ones she had heard good things about. We had 2 very good evening meals during our stay. One at the Treehouse in Alnwick Garden (booked before travel as a surprise for mum) and the second one at a very nice Italian in nearby Amble (recommended by Mandy).
Overall, a beautiful stay in a beautiful area and with a lovely host. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again one day.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had overlooked the garden which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Fairfield in September for two nights midweek. Easy to find. Walking distance to warkworth. Good parking at entrance. Fantastic host. Rooms are exceptional. Clean and comfortable.
Bed and pillows are a dream to sleep on.A relaxing stay and a central location to see Northumberland. Extensive breakfast menu.Worth every penny. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m19076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 8th - 10th July in the Sanderson Room.

Exceptional. The ideal place to relax and unwind.

Beautiful rooms, beautiful garden, and delicious breakfast.

Mandy is the perfect host. Nothing is too much trouble.

If you appreciate the finer things Fairfield House is simply the best place to stay in Warkworth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CafeCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I are seasoned travellers and like the good things in life .
We look for quality accommodation near to attractions including pubs , restaurants and it has to be a good base for exploring.
Mandy's beautiful house delivers on every front.

All the rooms are impeccably designed and are extremely comfortable. The rooms are kept as you would keep your own property...spotlessly clean and now that Mandy has opened the guest lounge another dimension has been added to this accommodation.

Warkworth is a lovely , well kept village with some nice pubs and restaurants- we would particularly recommend the recently opened Post Office Bistro near the Castle- advisable to book in advance and only open Fridays and Saturdays.

We pre-book for the following year as we cannot think of anywhere better than Fairfield Guesthouse for a long weekend in beautiful Northumberland.

All Guesthouses should have a look at Mandy's business operation and learn from it as the service, care and attention to detail is unsurpassable in our view.

See you next year...unless we can fit in another visit beforehand!

Lynn and John

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THECOACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am always a little suspicious of reviewers who give top marks for every aspect of their accommodation, but there is really nothing to criticise at Fairfield House!. Mandy has created the perfect Band B.
The house is beautiful, from the moment you arrive through the flower-filled conservatory and view the landscaped gardens ( guests have access). The rooms are large and the bed in our room was very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious with a good choice and well presented in the attractive dining room. Guests have use of a very comfortable lounge with Mandy's delicious home baking available. Fairfield House is in a quiet area but within a few minutes walk to the village centre.
It was our first visit to Warkworth and so not sure what to expect. It is a very pretty village with some excellent local pubs/restaurants for evening meals within the area. It is very well placed for visiting Alnwick , the spectacular coast and all those castles.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramagar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week staying in the Garden Apartment at Fairfield House. We would highly recommend this apartment to anyone wishing to stay in the area. Mandy has made excellent use of the space. It is immaculately clean, comfortable and stylish, with many little extras and personal touches which make that little difference. Mandy is a warm and charming lady, who clearly goes out of her way to provide the very best facilities for her guests. Both her house and garden are a delight. Thank you Mandy for welcoming both us and Daisy so warmly. We wish you continued success, and hope to stay with you again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DawnET51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 11 in Warkworth
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 11 in Warkworth
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bertram's
Bertram's
#7 of 11 in Warkworth
10 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aln House
Aln House
#6 of 68 in Alnwick
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hermitage Inn
#9 of 11 in Warkworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Guesthouse

Address: 16 Station Road | Fairfield House, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: $135 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield House is a lovely Victorian property located on the edge of the picturesque village of Warkworth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Guesthouse Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing