We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Guesthouse of distinction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairfield Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As soon as you drive up to the house you know you have arrived at a special place. The welcome my husband and I had off Mandy was warm and welcoming and as soon as we were shown to our room we were offered tea and cake and assistance to get settled in and comfortable. We were luckly to have a room overlooking the garden. The flowers and landscaping are quite and peaceful - you really have to tear yourself away to look at the surrounding attractions of castles and coastline. And the breakfasts! The French Toast with Cinammon is an absolute delight. This is definitely a Guesthouse of distinction, with tasteful decoration, comfortable rooms (the bathroom was huge) and pristine cleanliness. We have no hesitation in recommending Fairfield, and Thank You Mandy for letting us stay in your beautiful home.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the Garden has a huge Shower Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiChris-Parry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield-Warkworth, Owner at Fairfield Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi,

It was great to have you both staying with us - it was lovely to meet you and I'm glad you have had such a lovely time.
I'm glad you enjoyed the garden - it is a lot of work but I feel it is worth it when you are sitting there enjoying some tea and cake. I have to admit the cinnamon toast is a favourite of mine as well.
Thank you very much for taking the time to review - it is very appreciated.

Take care,
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 197 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Probably the best guest house in Britain.Absolutely flawless in all respects.This is surely the benchmark for all B&Bs.Mandy you made us feel very welcome and your garden is beautiful even if it's hard work! Enjoy your lazy afternoons on your hammock--you deserve it.Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catloverliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield-Warkworth, Owner at Fairfield Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind review. Glad you enjoyed your trip and please come back if and when you're next in Northumberland.
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My parents, husband and I stayed here on the 5th July for the entire weekend to see the sights ink using the Farne's. From the moment we arrived we were treated like honoured guests, shown to our rooms and then tea, coffee and cake was served on the patio overlooking the most amazing gardens!

Our room was beautifully furnished with a ginormous bathroom and was very light and airy. The towels were huge and fluffy which I love and svery concenience was to hans if you needed it. My parents stayed in the garden room which was also amazing and had the added benefit of a fridge for the hottest days in the year!

The thing that surprised and delighted me the most is that Mandy has thought of every tiny touch to make everything perfect! There was nothing I could constructively comment on and I am very picky!!! She was an amazing, warm and friendly host who clearly loves what she does and was subtly in the background making sure you were ok! Breakfast was divine with far more options than simply full English and the dining room was a great way to start the day! Mandy took the time to ask our plans and then provide some fab advice including two dinner recommendations - both of which were divine!

I will be making it my mission to return here again just as soon as I can and a huge thank you to Mandy for making the weekend so perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKCemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield-Warkworth, Owner at Fairfield Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip and look forward to you coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mandy you have a gem. Fantastic room and an excellent breakfast to set you up for the day. Nothing too much trouble and the garden is peaceful and calm. Can't say much more than what a wonderful 3 days we had. Thank-you.

Room Tip: Go for the Mackintosh room. Overlooks the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grobby46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield-Warkworth, Owner at Fairfield Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for the review. The garden is a great place to relax in the afternoon - glad you enjoyed it.
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at Fairfield house with my wife for a mini-moon. We wanted to explore the castles of Northumberland and Warkworth is ideal for that.

I chose Fairfield based on the reviews on here and we weren't disappointed! It is an absolutely lovely house and Mandy is just fantastic.

Our room was spotless, very tastefully decorated and furnished, and the bed was huge and comfortable.

Warkworth is a lovely village with some good places to eat and one of the best castles we have come across - well worth a visit!

Finally a word for Mandy and her fabulous breakfasts. Most days we didn't bother with lunch as the breakfasts were so tasty and filling. The rave reviews on here about the home-made granola were totally justified!

We will definitely be back to Northumberland and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Fairfield again.

Room Tip: They are all great but the garden is so nice it would probably be good to have one facing it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyWilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield-Warkworth, Owner at Fairfield Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your mini-moon, it was lovely to meet you both and I hope to see you again. Thank you so much for staying and for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Fairfield House for a few days after our wedding, and found it to be just as delightful as all the reviews suggest. The house is tastefully decorated, warm, welcoming, relaxing, and our room was a joy, as although it was May, there was a distinct chill in the air, so it was wonderful to find the heating was on! The bed was so comfortable, there was a fresh bottle of water every day, there were the most delicious biscuits with the tea and coffee, and the spotlessly clean shower room was vast! Our room overlooked the beautiful garden and the setting was so peaceful. Mandy's breakfasts were absolutely delicious too, and Mandy herself is a wonderful host. It is a five minute walk into the village from the house, and Warkworth is a charming place to explore, with the riverside walks, the castle, shops, and a number of places to eat out. All in all, it made a very relaxing, enjoyable break, and we'd love to return.

Room Tip: We loved the Sanderson room, with its quiet position overlooking the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue180513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield-Warkworth, Owner at Fairfield Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you very much for reviewing. It is so appreciated here as its great to get guests opinions and know that they've taken the time to write it. Thanks, Mandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed in the Guest House several times,and can only fully endorse the 5 star comments. It really is a pleasure to stay. We cannot think of anything more that needs to be offered. How it is only Number 2 in Warkworth is a mystery.

We have also stayed in the Garden Room which is annexed to the main house,and provides 5 star, very comfortable accommodation, fully equipped with all necessary facilities,including a large and brilliant wet room .It is well worth trying.

Room Tip: All of the 4 rooms in the House are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redmires10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield-Warkworth, Owner at Fairfield Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi guys,
Thanks for this review, it was great having you back and I'm glad you enjoyed the Garden Room as much as you enjoyed the house.
Hope to see you both again,
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 11 in Warkworth
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 11 in Warkworth
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bertram's
Bertram's
#7 of 11 in Warkworth
10 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aln House
Aln House
#6 of 68 in Alnwick
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hermitage Inn
#9 of 11 in Warkworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Guesthouse

Address: 16 Station Road | Fairfield House, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: $135 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield House is a lovely Victorian property located on the edge of the picturesque village of Warkworth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Guesthouse Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing