We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairfield Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Fairfield is first class in every respect. House and rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Lovely quiet location just outside Warkworth but easy walking into the centre and beach etc. (anything in the town woudl be noisy with passing traffic). Breakfasts are very good and carefully prepared. Nothing is too much trouble here and should saitisfy the most discerning traveller....

Room Tip: Overlooking garden is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColchesterItfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 197 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

I can't think of anything to add to all the other reviews. It was a lovely place to stay, very comfortable with fantastic breakfasts beautifully presented, and with a very warm welcome from the owner, Mandy. I would definitely stay here again (if it's not already fullly booked!) and will recommend it to all my friends.
Warkworth is a charming place to stay, with pleasant walks beside River Coquet, and is an ideal centre from which to visit Alnwick, Holy Island, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuzzyBeeSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you ever decide you want to run your own B&B, then come and stay here and see how it should be done. Better still, just come, stay here and enjoy; you will absolutely not be disappointed. Everything that can contribute to a guest's comfort has been thought of and is amply provided for.

The interior decor is lovely - created by someone with a keen eye for colour, fabric, furniture and the best use of space. The accommodation is spotless, the en-suite bathrooms well kitted out and the beds very comfortable. A good choice is offered for breakfast, which comes well-cooked and beautifully served.

I, my husband and some friends spent one night here, arriving exhausted after the third day of a long-distance walk and thought we'd landed in heaven. We didn't really want to leave the following day. But we all agreed that we would be returning.

I strongly recommend Fairfield House if you plan to stay in the area. You will love it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed overnight on the 24th sept after our daughters wedding at Newton Hall.
We were greeted very warmly by Mandy and her dog Buster, who i could easily have
kidnapped and took home with me. The room was spotless and had everything you would
need, lovely tea tray and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast the
next morning was the best we have ever had, Mandy was very helpful as we had to get to
chester-le-street when all the flooding was around and she told us the best way to go.
def recommend anyone to stay
Linda & Colin
Hull

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picklesHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This lovely Guest-house really does live up to expectations and previous reviewers have not exaggerated its all round excellence. Mandy is a perfect hostess and nothing is too much trouble for her. The quality and presentation of the breakfast was wonderful. The Victorian house stands in its own large grounds in a tranquil part of the village and has a restful ambience. Our bedroom overlooked the beautiful rear garden and was commodious and furnished to a high standard of comfort. A nice touch was the provision of delicious ginger cake in the afternoon. It is an easy walk to the charming village. We recommend a stroll along the River Coquet which was lovely in the colours of Autumn.
There can't be many places as good in the UK!

Room Tip: I would guess that they are all good with subtle differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It would be hard to think of a better place to stay than Fairfield House. We were walking the Northumberland Coastal Path with friends and this was easily our best stop. Mandy is a tremendous host and nothing was too much trouble. Fortunately, the coastal walk is a level one or the huge and varied breakfast followed by an equally generous packed lunch would have been regretted over the miles to follow--the chocolate brownies alone are enough to make us return. This is a lovely house and garden with a more than kind host.

Room Tip: I doubt you would find a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan-R-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Each year my wife and i always try to secure a short break at Mandys beautiful house.This is our fifth trip now and each time it just gets better and better. We love walking, visiting places and being close to village facilities(within walking distance) of pubs and restaurants and Fairfield House fits the bill perfectly. Mandy is an excellent host who takes great pride in the quality of the accommodation and will help in any way she can to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

We think it is a great base to visit loads of fantastic places like Bamburgh- castle and beach, Holy Island, Craster and Dunstanburgh and Embleton Beach. The coastal walks are spectacular and we were lucky in Early September to enjoy superb weather- see photos.

Its the finishing touches that differentiate Mandys guesthouse from the rest- quality breakfasts, little cakes to go with your cuppa after walking all day and the superbly comfortable facilities within the property.

There is so much to see and do in the area and the village of Warkworth is quiet and friendly and there are a few decent places to eat and drink. The Hermitage pub offers decent fayre and good beers and Topsey Turveys(you need to prebook) is a very nice restaurant with a good selection of food.

All in all we have no need to go anywhere else for a weekend away as Fairfield House delivers on all fronts.

Quite simply - The best guesthouse weve ever stayed in!

Room Tip: All the rooms are as good as one another
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THECOACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
353 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 11 in Warkworth
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bertram's
Bertram's
#8 of 11 in Warkworth
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 11 in Warkworth
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hermitage Inn
#9 of 11 in Warkworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Guesthouse

Address: 16 Station Road | Fairfield House, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairfield Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield House is a lovely Victorian property located on the edge of the picturesque village of Warkworth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairfield Guesthouse Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing