We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, lovely rooms, a cyclist's paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Can Bassa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Can Bassa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Madremanya
Certificate of Excellence
encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, lovely rooms, a cyclist's paradise”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in the B&B rooms for 2 nights on our cycling holiday. It's a perfect location for cycling, sightseeing in the Emporda and chilling. The property is gorgeous and rooms are all beautiful and comfortable. I only wish I had more time to enjoy it. Pedro and Isabelle are lovely people and very helpful with dinner reservations, suggestions, etc. The breakfast was outside and delicious although I would have liked more fruit and yogurt. I also had the chance to visit an apartment and it was also the same quality as the B&B rooms. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RideStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    20
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
79
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Four of us stayed in the house. It was perfect. The owners were most helpful. Our dinner in the nearby restaurant recommended by them was the best I ever had! We felt very comfortable. Waldo the resident dog was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Can Bassa offered me and my family the best holiday stay I could have ever imagined. The apartments are incredibly well decorated and the service is just perfect! Can't recommend it enough! The swimming pool and bike tours made the stay unforgettable!

Room Tip: All of them are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauSuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Can Bassa after visiting Barcelona. It was a wonderful change of pace from the big city! The property sits on the edge of a beautiful medieval village of Madremanya and has wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. The room where we stayed was lovely, furnished in a very rustic style. Breakfasts were plentiful and allowed for as much privacy as you wanted. Pedro and Isabel both gave us great suggestions for exploring around the area of Costa Brava, local ruins and the many medieval villages in the area. We loved our experience here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The house has a common area for relaxing, and the apartments are distributed throughout the complex. We stayed at the apartment called "Els Angels", which is the one with a terrace on the top and probably the most private. It didn't lack any detail, the beds were extra-comfortable, we didn't hear a noise (except for the birds in the morning), we cooked in the evenings, had breakfast in the sun, ... We visited the area (Creus Cape, Girona, Peratallada, Palls, the natural parks of Garrotxa and Aiguamolls...) and even hired some bikes in-site to visit nearby towns. It's not a cheap place to stay though and you might also have a great time paying a bit less in a different place, but the area itself is quite pricey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The place is even more beutiful than the pictures on the site. Pedro and Isabel were great hosts who supplied us with the best travelling and restaurant tips arround the area.
Te scenery arround the house and the house itself are eaxctly the type of rural getaway we were looking for with all the modern ameneties in an ancient farm house.

Room Tip: We had a great room, but there are many options on the vicinity that include little houses that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gili W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Run by a talented couple and stocked full of rustic charm, Can Bassa was a welcome respite from the big city sounds and energy of Barcelona. We drove here in just 1.5 hours, and felt instantly relaxed by the site and its laid-back, easy design. The rooms are all rough and refined at the same time, with a farmhouse chic sensibility that makes you want to go home and throw out all your furniture. You know how some people just have that design gene where everything they touch looks perfect like a postcard? Yeah, these folks.

The buildings are nestled between the old Medieval city of Madremanya above, and the farm fields of yellow mustard flowers and green, green grass below. We hiked up and walked through the impossibly quaint little rocky town, fed hay to the neighbor's horses and hiked the country road into the fields and forest. Even our kids could sense this place was really special.

Other bigger towns are a close drive away, with impressive historic buildings, Roman ruins and great restaurants with country fare. But it was always nice to return to this sweet, quiet little place with all the amenities you need. They serve simple breakfast in the morning upon request, and have a decent bar with several good wines to sample in the main building as well. Pedro was very helpful in suggesting local restaurants in nearby towns, and his suggestion to drive 30 minutes to the Salvadore Dali Museum was a good one - from there we drove to the coast and hiked along the craggy cliffs with our gelatos in hand.

All in all, a very relaxing, very special place. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criticdesandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madremanya
0.1 mi away
El Raco de Madremanya
El Raco de Madremanya
#1 of 2 in Madremanya
526 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
11.8 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel Can Casi
Hotel Can Casi
#1 of 2 in Regencos
167 reviews
13.0 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,180 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Bassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Bassa

Property: Can Bassa
Address: Avda.Gavarres, 10, 17462 Madremanya, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Madremanya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Madremanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Can Bassa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Can Bassa is an old farmhouse restored within the walls of fourteenth-century charm, in the pretty village of Madremanya in the Baix Emporda (Costa Brava). If you're looking for a luxury hotel room, we have three rooms ideal for romantic getaways. If you are looking to rent a house, we have five houses perfect for family holidays with children or friends. Both houses and the rooms have lovely countryside views with a pool in the garden situated within peace and tranquility. If you like cycling, bicycles can be prepared for you. Madremanya and it's surroundings are perfect for a good bike ride. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Can Bassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing