We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it will be difficult to find a hotel having such stunning view from your room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Parador de Cruz de Tejeda
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tejeda
SouthEast England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“it will be difficult to find a hotel having such stunning view from your room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

a stunning location. The parador has been very tastefully restored. The staff, and in particular the multi-languaged reception staff, are extremely professional, helpful and friendly. The availablity of printed and well explained walks by reception is a nice touch as photo copies can be obtained from the reception staff. Breakfast is very good although the evening meals lack adventure. Good wine selection at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbba15408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    224
    53
    25
    17
See reviews for
69
402
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

The parador looks quite humble from the outside, blending into the surroundings with typical Canarian architecture. When you get inside, you see that this newly refurbished hotel has all the style and splendour that you would expect from a parador. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. It had a balcony looking out over the whole basin within the caldera - a view that in my experience is second only to the Grand Canyon. When the sun shone, this was a suntrap - but be warned, when the wind blows from the north east it brings cloud, fog and rain that tips over the caldera rim at this point. Take a fleece, waterproof, hat and gloves! It is a wonderful centre for walking and exploring the villages of the Cumbre, but when the clouds set in the weather dropped to 5 degrees C.

We had a very good deal - 70 Euros a night for bed only. We declined breakfast at 16 Euros each per day and ate at the very friendly Hotel Refugio opposite. In the evening we ate in the cafeteria at the parador twice. Don't expect English food and, if you don't have an understanding of Spanish, take a dictionary in with you - not all the staff speak English. The food was good, if basic - some Spanish appetisers such as ham, cheeses and papas arrugadas (wrinkly potatoes), and bocadillos (filled baguettes), and puddings. The cafeteria would be lovely in summer but chilly in March.

We ate once in the restaurant - a sample menu with five courses at 35 Euros each - which was beautifully cooked and presented with excellent service.

The parador has an impressive lounge with free wifi and internet access, and a cosy log fire.

We would have liked to have used the spa - but it cost 33 Euros each for a session!

My advice would be to look on-line for the special offers, and enjoy the best of Spanish hospitality in an unbelievably spectacular setting. And don't expect chicken and chips!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chifevva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

The location of the Parador is unbeatable...right in the centre of the island, at the top of a hill, with astonishing views of the valley just below it...it could not be better!! In addition, this is a very different "get-a-way" from the typical ones in Gran Canaria, away from the beach and the sea...but still, it is great!

Service is excellent, very, very friendly. The decor is also very good, as the Parador has recently been refurbished after having been closed for years, so it combines modern furniture with some of the original one. Great combination.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the Parador. Superb!!! If you stay here, you MUST eat here, as the food is extremely good.

We took one of the "attic" rooms, which are big in size, and very well furnished. The only downturn was that the insulation with respect the neighbouring room was not good, so we could hear the noise made by the other guests. In addition, these rooms do not have views, so better take a standard one.

Finally, some thing which would have to be changed, is that you have to pay extra to be able to use the spa. Include it in the room rate, please!!

However, all in all, this is a superb place to stay and experience real Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, well equipped and the staff are friendly. But too many things 'don't work'. The 'gustacion' evening meal was not available - inexcusable. the service, in an almost empty dining room was so slow it took more than two hours for a simple meal. No TV at all - why don't they at least put some movies on a hotel channel, there is no entertainment at all. The breakfast selection was good, but the hot items - the bacon was cold, the poached eggs half raw, the coffee cold - no excuse whatsoever. Is the General Manager asleep? This hotel could be great but the management needs a wake-up call.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim_pat_sharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
343 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Lovely hotel where all rooms (with fine balconies) had what must be among the best views in the world. The staff were very friendly & helpful.
Wonderful starting point for serious walking but NOT for the nervous driver. All roads are precipitate right down to the coast in all directions. Corners are hair raising & continous & some have to be negotiated in first gear!
Breakfasts were fine but the evening meals except for the 'amuse bouches' & puddings were inedible. The menu sounded interesting & appetising but, simply, nothing tasted nice. The huge portions & over-elaborate presentaion made it worse. We were there for 4 days. The menu didn't change so we had tried just about everything by the end without finding anything we liked.
I am always disappointed by Parador food & normally only eat in once to enjoy the usually lovely dining room. We had booked half-board because of the short days in January. The hotel is on the island pinnacle &, having dealt with the trials of driving during the day, we couldn't face going in the dark even to the nearest village for a meal. There is a hotel opposite which may be better for meals but looked dead in the evenings at this time of year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

My girlfriend and i stayed there 3 nights for christmas.

The area have breathtaking views and it really invite to relax and calm down.

The rooms are great and very clean, the balconies have awesome views.

Its chilli, prepare to dress warm :)

The service level is not impressing, but somehow charming, take it with smile and remember the place is a mountain hotel with few people living nearby, its difficult find top workers such place.

The food is in general good, try some different and you will find some good.

Keywords to this hotel is: Romance, Relax, and awesome views.

We didnt went to the Spa, as entrence fee was 33 Euro pr person, for this amount you can swim in a small pool, sit in some heated chairs and be in sauna.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dktraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed for a week in January. Be warned! When the cloud descends it is very cold! Amazing scenery and walks. Stunning views from the bedroom balcony - our last evening we were above the cloud with just Rock Nublo and Bentayga visible. The Spa was not open then either ... in this location, when the weather is variable, the spa would really add to the holiday. We found the lounge cold - the fire was lit at a certain time of the evening only. Breakfast was good, evening meal variable, staff friendly, efficient and professional. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landescapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejeda
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Refugio
Hotel El Refugio
#2 of 4 in Tejeda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
9.4 mi away
Hotel El Cabo
Hotel El Cabo
#2 of 8 in Agaete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,917 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Aldea Suites Hotel
La Aldea Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Nicolas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador de Cruz de Tejeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador de Cruz de Tejeda

Property: Hotel Parador de Cruz de Tejeda
Address: Cruz de Tejeda | Las Palmas, 35328 Tejeda, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Tejeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tejeda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador de Cruz de Tejeda 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Parador de Cruz de Tejeda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Parador De Cruz De Tejeda Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing