We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveler rating
277
249
59
30
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
249
59
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgran canariaspent two nightswonderful basewalking holidayhair raisingshort drivefive nightsprivate balconyreception staff were very helpfulhalf boardan excellent hotelmain restauranthired a carrestaurant staffspaeurosretreat
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 638 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked the Parador de Cruz de Tejeda to avoid the tourist traps of the south coast. The whole place is really well kept and traditional. Staff are friendly, especially Estrella in the restaurant at breakfast time, as well as a couple of the women on reception. The free Wi-Fi and newspapers were much appreciated and great for practising our Spanish. On a clear day the views are beautiful and popular with hikers.

Room
Very large room that was kept clean. Our room (102) was underneath the restaurant and terrace, so we could hear chairs being scraped in the morning: not great if you want a bit of a lie-in! Ask for one of the higher-numbered rooms to get away from the restaurant and for clearer views across the valley, because ours was a bit obscured by pine trees. The housekeeping, while perfectly acceptable, could be improved by making some small changes: on several days they left behind the empty shampoo bottles and tissue boxes. We also often left our towels on the rails to re-use them, but these were always left as they were: it would have been nice if they had hung them back neatly for us. I know these sound like small things, but it's the little touches that make the great hotels stand out from the good ones.

Food
Breakfast was included in our room rate, and there was generally a good selection of food, including local specialities as well as standard fare such as cereals, eggs, bread, meat and cheese. There were even pancakes on pancake day, which was a nice touch. We didn't eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner: it looked lovely but the food was almost too cheffy: you couldn't get something simple while we were there (like a no-frills pasta dish or plain steak). We did, however, use the Cafeteria/bar, which served food in the evenings as well as during the day. This does have a good (if expensive) selection of salads, baguettes, burgers and tortillas. They also serve nice coffee and cakes during the day.

Location
We booked this because we didn't want to be surrounded by tourists, and we got our wish, which was wonderful. However, even though it is 'just' 40-50km from the coast, it takes a good hour-and-a-half along the narrow, winding but very well-maintained mountain roads to get there (Puerto de Mogan and Puerto de las Nieves are both well worth the drive). The views as you go are stunning, but it's tiring for the driver, especially at night when the fog draws in and visibility gets close to zero at times. Don't get us wrong, we enjoyed it, but it wasn't quite as relaxing as we'd planned!

Climate
We knew it would be cooler in the mountains and were prepared for this: it was around 5 degrees at night, and about half the mornings were foggy (drive down to the coast, and we had sunshine and 20+ degrees - take your summer clothes to change into!). On the days it was clear, the views were stunning across the valley.

Things to do nearby
Tejeda itself is beautiful and definitely worth a visit; call in to the Déjate Llevar for amazing hot chocolate and friendly service. Also head to the market in San Mateo on Sundays: a real locals market, none of the cheap tat that you get in the markets in the tourist traps. They also have a live band that plays music to which all the locals dance! The market outside the hotel is worth a look, though it's largely tourist-oriented and they do hassle you a bit, but we had a lovely chat in Spanish with Ramón, who runs the leather goods stall at the very end of the market and wasn't pushy at all: he even re-dyed the belt I bought from him because I wanted it in black rather than red! Brilliant service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room number higher than 13 to get a better view and be away from the restaurant.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ladaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We wanted a relaxing and luxurious spa break in the mountains. We spent four nights away from it all, and had a most enjoyable time. It was our third Parador stay, and like the two before, we felt we were being treated as royalty. We spent one of our days in the spa, sampling the Turkish baths and sauna. The heated swimming pool is half inside, half outside - a great experience. We each booked a hot stone massage treatment, which was fantastically relaxing. There is also a small gym to get the circulation going. The restaurant has lovely local food - it's well worth dining there every night given the variety of dishes on offer. Our room overlooked the amazing Caldera de Tejeda. The parador staff were at all times most helpful.

There are some great hikes around the Parador, though we were a little unlucky with the November weather - clouds and mist much of the time. The hamlet of Tejeda is worth a visit, and further afield we recommend the botanical garden, the basilica at Teror and the charming seaside town of Puerto de las Nieves.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

After having spent a couple of weeks among thousands of tourist in the Gran Canaria tourist machine, it was like coming to another world when we arrived at the Parador de Cruz de Tejeda. Perfectly situated 1500m above the sea with a superb view from all the rooms. We enjoyed two days here in a very quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Our room was modern and comfortable and everything was very clean. The a la carte restaurant served excellent food, but be prepared for very big portions. The service was professional and very friendly, and everything was done with a smile. A great breakfast was also served in the restaurant where the big windows allowed for enjoying the view together with the food. The rooms have flat screen satellite TV, wired internet, fridge and a safe. All free of charge. There is also free WIFI in the lounge areas. The hotel has a spa which looked very nice, but we didn’t try it. We also took a trip a few kilometers down the road to the village Tejeda and had a nice lunch at the newly opened Café I Dejate Llevar. Can be recommended. If you feel for a break from the crowded beaches, the Parador is a superb place to go. We will come back here on our next visit to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We wanted a nice hotel in the mountains to see some more of what Gran Canaria has to offer in late December 2011 and were very happy with our choice. We came quite early in the afternoon and got the room right away. Nice, large room but smelled like someone had been smoking there earlier. They sent someone over right away to spray the room so it was ok. The terrace is a nice place to sit and watch the view and take a drink or snack. We had the spa package and liked the spa even if it is quite small. The outside pool has a great view and it felt nice swimming so close to the trees. Very satisfied with our massage as well.

In the evening we had a three course dinner. Great food and the staff were very service minded. Especially one of the waiters had a great sence of humour and obviously enjoyed his job (which we think is a plus). The dining room is large but can feel a bit "cold" when it is not full. The breakfast buffet the day after had a good selection and we also went for a 2,5 hours walk we had been recommended at the reception before we left. One small minus was the girl at the reception which could have been more helpful regarding the walk. She gave us the feeling that we were a bit annoying for asking about this. Otherwise our stay was what even more than we expected and we will come back to the hotel to explore more of the countryside later.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great experience in this stunning parador wonderfully located. Brand new the spa welcomes you in the basement with circuit spa, sauna, Turkish baths and chill out area.
Dining area is rather simple but very well designed with a mix of modern and wooden style decoration. Food was good and service very attentive.
We can definitely recommend this place for quality of service, spa and general location (closed to many hiking paths).

Room Tip: Room 502 is located at the top of the building with wonderful views of the cliffs of Tejeda.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AC_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews