We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveler rating
277
249
59
30
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
249
59
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgran canariaspent two nightswonderful basewalking holidayhair raisingshort drivefive nightsprivate balconyreception staff were very helpfulhalf boardan excellent hotelmain restauranthired a carrestaurant staffspaeurosretreat
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 638 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed here at the end of February/early March. Staff were very helpful and helped us with maps for walks. The rooms are amazing. The views from the balconies are the best I have seen. We got an excellent rate for the room, but it didn't include breakfast. It was a bit steep at 15 Euros and the food was ok. We didn't eat our evening meal here. We were told by another guest that it wasn't that good and was not good value. We ate over the road at the Refugio which was an experience (the waiter is a bit flamboyant). The weather was changeable. We had two days of excellent blue skies when we did some great walks. The day we left the cloud had come down and you couldn't see anything.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madbadger200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

a stunning location. The parador has been very tastefully restored. The staff, and in particular the multi-languaged reception staff, are extremely professional, helpful and friendly. The availablity of printed and well explained walks by reception is a nice touch as photo copies can be obtained from the reception staff. Breakfast is very good although the evening meals lack adventure. Good wine selection at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gbba15408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The parador looks quite humble from the outside, blending into the surroundings with typical Canarian architecture. When you get inside, you see that this newly refurbished hotel has all the style and splendour that you would expect from a parador. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. It had a balcony looking out over the whole basin within the caldera - a view that in my experience is second only to the Grand Canyon. When the sun shone, this was a suntrap - but be warned, when the wind blows from the north east it brings cloud, fog and rain that tips over the caldera rim at this point. Take a fleece, waterproof, hat and gloves! It is a wonderful centre for walking and exploring the villages of the Cumbre, but when the clouds set in the weather dropped to 5 degrees C.

We had a very good deal - 70 Euros a night for bed only. We declined breakfast at 16 Euros each per day and ate at the very friendly Hotel Refugio opposite. In the evening we ate in the cafeteria at the parador twice. Don't expect English food and, if you don't have an understanding of Spanish, take a dictionary in with you - not all the staff speak English. The food was good, if basic - some Spanish appetisers such as ham, cheeses and papas arrugadas (wrinkly potatoes), and bocadillos (filled baguettes), and puddings. The cafeteria would be lovely in summer but chilly in March.

We ate once in the restaurant - a sample menu with five courses at 35 Euros each - which was beautifully cooked and presented with excellent service.

The parador has an impressive lounge with free wifi and internet access, and a cosy log fire.

We would have liked to have used the spa - but it cost 33 Euros each for a session!

My advice would be to look on-line for the special offers, and enjoy the best of Spanish hospitality in an unbelievably spectacular setting. And don't expect chicken and chips!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chifevva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

The location of the Parador is unbeatable...right in the centre of the island, at the top of a hill, with astonishing views of the valley just below it...it could not be better!! In addition, this is a very different "get-a-way" from the typical ones in Gran Canaria, away from the beach and the sea...but still, it is great!

Service is excellent, very, very friendly. The decor is also very good, as the Parador has recently been refurbished after having been closed for years, so it combines modern furniture with some of the original one. Great combination.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the Parador. Superb!!! If you stay here, you MUST eat here, as the food is extremely good.

We took one of the "attic" rooms, which are big in size, and very well furnished. The only downturn was that the insulation with respect the neighbouring room was not good, so we could hear the noise made by the other guests. In addition, these rooms do not have views, so better take a standard one.

Finally, some thing which would have to be changed, is that you have to pay extra to be able to use the spa. Include it in the room rate, please!!

However, all in all, this is a superb place to stay and experience real Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, well equipped and the staff are friendly. But too many things 'don't work'. The 'gustacion' evening meal was not available - inexcusable. the service, in an almost empty dining room was so slow it took more than two hours for a simple meal. No TV at all - why don't they at least put some movies on a hotel channel, there is no entertainment at all. The breakfast selection was good, but the hot items - the bacon was cold, the poached eggs half raw, the coffee cold - no excuse whatsoever. Is the General Manager asleep? This hotel could be great but the management needs a wake-up call.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim_pat_sharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews