We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place To Chill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Place To Chill”
Reviewed June 4, 2007

What a fabulous location for the ultimate "Chill Out" experience.
We went for two weeks which we found a week too long, purely because of the lack of personal service (unless you visit from the USA). The management were great and very friendly and always around to assist. Don't expect to be pampered, we've visited lots of Carribean Islands where staff have been far more attentive towards the guests, unfortunately Palm Island failed.
On a lighter note the food and drink was great, an abundance of premium drinks were available, from Champagne to Beer. The Island has spectacular views from the Iguana Trail, the Lookout Point and Cactus Hill, and Picnic Hammocks 3 & 4 are in the most popular locations on the Island. Overall we had a great , relaxing fortnight. We would return but only for 1 week of a multi centre holiday.

  • Liked — Romantic tranquilty, Location, Good food & drink
  • Disliked — Noisy Air conditioning.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Busyballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    219
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
91
1,033
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Okay so we read all the comments below before booking and to be honest despite a few minor bad points this really is an awesome holiday. So let's get the bad elements out of the way first (if you can call them bad???)
1). Take an insect repellant you will get bitten at night it's a tropical island for god's sake what would you expect ? Although I got bitten 15 times in 2 weeks, I asked for it as I didn't use a spray. There's even some provided in the room to spray before you go out in the night!
2). The air con in the room is a waste of time. However, unless all the windows were glazed and you have a full air con system, it's never going to be cool, but again it's an island close to the equator, so what else would you expect?
3). The restaurant staff are a tad 'forgetful', so don't always expect to get what you order if it's not exactly as the menu You need to make it very clear when ordering and make sure they understand. We actually found it quite funny though ;o)

So that's the bad things over with. Yes there are only 3, but countless plus points, too many to mention here but I'll try.

The management staff are second to none, making you feel welcome from the moment you step off the boat from Union Island greeting you with a glass of bubbly (Thankyou especially to Margaret and Claire, who I felt went out of their way to make us feel 'at home' with special requests, trips and the essential natural Aloe oil for Caroline's burns from the first few days of intense sun bathing ha ha ;o)

Then there are the bar staff, awesome guys in one word and what a bunch of great characters. A special mention to Tafari (the island toy boy, watch out girls). He'll take you over to Union Island for a tour to learn a bit about the culture of the island and always willing to go out of his way to ensure you have a great holiday. (So sorry we didn't get to say goodbye, I will see you soon if I win the lottery and we will redevelop that island we talked about to it's former glory!) Then there was Anthony, aka Batman, who is a master of many talents. You have to sample his special 'Sunshine' drink. It's awesome - don't get carried away after 3 or 4 or you won't remember dancing like a mad man to the steel band like errr me? Also a speacial thanks to Johnny, Jared (the Smiler of the island) and Kelson who were all there doing more than just serving people behind the bar, you guys all made our holiday that extra little bit special ;o)

So now about what you can do 'before' you drink any rum......

Snorkeling around the island is excellent we saw loads of life including huge puffer fish, parrot fish, squid, rays and even a reef shark ..... gulp typical I didn't have an underwater camera at this point!
Cycling around the island on the free bikes, very funny and entertaining, use these to go to the hammocks on the opposite side of the island for a peaceful & remote chill with your better half, look for hammocks 3 & 4 these are shaded and very romantic!
Boat trips a plenty on offer and we would recommend the Pink Lady and the Scaramouche. Both take you to some excellent snorkeling locations where there are many amazing reefs to swim around and you will see lots of turtles at Tobago Cays!

The food is great, even if you don't always get exactly what you ask for, it is caught by boat daily and served fresh. The mai mai (I think this was Marlin, my favourite), shark, tuna and swordfish are all great choices!

We are in our early 30's so there may be things that won't appeal to all ages here but all I can say is if you are looking for a very relaxing holiday with adventure thrown in if you are looking for it then this is the place for you, so go go go and enjoy!

Once again 'Thankyou' to the staff of Palm Island you managed to exceed our expectations and we are feeling very very sad to be back at home in the raining, hectic, boring normailty of the UK ;o)

  • Liked — The friendly and attentive staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really ?
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave007Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We had a fantastic time on Palm Island. It starts from the minute you arrive from Union Island and are met on the jetty by the hotel manager with a rum punch. All of the staff are really friendly and cannot do enough for you.

The fact that the hotel only has 37 rooms means that even when it is full there is plenty of room on the beach, by the pool etc etc. We enjoyed having most lunches and the odd evening meal in the Sunset bar as it is more relaxed than the main restaurant.

There were a few small disappointments - The air conditioning in our room was a waste of time. A very noisy stand alone unit that had no chance of cooling our room. However we did find that if you open all of the wooden slats on the windows, most nights you would get a cool breeze blowing through your room which cooled things down just about enough. The second problem is the birds at breakfast in the restaurant. The hotel makes a big thing about feeding the birds at their own table on the beach several times every morning. Obviously this attracts more birds which fly on to the tables in the restaurant and eat any leftovers from the plates. Be warned if you are leaving food/drink on your table whilst you go up to the buffet, make sure is is covered by a napkin, otherwise the birds will eat/drink it.

As I say these were not major problems and did not affect our honeymoon in anyway. Overall a fantastic place for relaxing and doing not a lot but eating & drinking, with the odd trip thrown in - can recommend the trip to the Tobago Cays on the Pink Lady.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnyroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamshire, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

My wife and i first stayed at Palm four years ago for our honeymoon, we had a wonderful time, so we just had to come back. The island it self is delightful, if you want a simple beach holiday with not too much to do then its great, the only beach we ventured to swim off and relax on (Nearest the hotel) is wonderfully clean and the water is amazing.

The rooms at the hotel are fine, no problems at all, we had a Palm room and it served us well, would have prefered botteled water in the mini bar rather than all the fizzy drinks.

I would agree with the comments from the previous person, the visitors to the island either dont get told where they can and cant go, or they just ignore it, would make more sense if they got dropped off closer to the Sunset bar to avoid confusion. However we generally ignored them and caried out our relaxing.

Differences between our first visit and this last time:
Biggest one is the menu, i was really dissapointed by the menu choice, yes the food was good quality and tasty, however i would have prefered much more in the way of local dishes, rather than dishes we could get in any restaurant near home. I know this is personal choice and i am sure not everybody will agree.

Visitors, the hotel was nearly entierly made up of Brits, where as before its was a good mix of Europeans and Americans.

Staff, it certainally took a few days for the staff to become friendly with us, the serving staff in the main restaurant certainly did not look hapy to be there, but after a while a few of them did 'warm up' and then they were great fun.

Bar Staff, i was suprised by the bar staff, every cocktail i mentioned they didnt have a clue how to make, they were great guys but if you wanted some different from there tiny cocktail sheet, unless you knew what went in it, forget it. Note to management, please purchase a descent cocktail book for bars !

Overall we did have a lovely week and really chilled out, the negative points i bring up arent really complaints just pointers from our first trip to this last one. I am sure that you will enjoy Palm, we will be back, probably, but not for a few years, to many other places to try.

  • Liked — Wonderful Views, relaxing time.
  • Disliked — Restaurant Menu, lack of water in the mini bar
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

My husband and I went back to palm Island for our 4th visit. We were amazed at how much tidier the island and rooms were after the big fire last year. But I am afraid that there are alot of flaws.
Security. The island is private and any boat visitors etc must only stay on the water line or go to the Sunset bar area.Unfortunately the security was inadequate. Every day a guest would have to tell visitors to leave the area (where alot of guests leave their swimbags etc) and were sometimes met with abuse. I witnessed one old gentleman visibly shaking. The security hangs around one area of the beach only. If they were more centred by the main bar, then alot more would be seen.They also have one man to deal with security at a time. Maybe 2 between 10am and 4pm would help. the visitors were often seen using the resorts facilities.I found the security to be the most disappointing thing about our visit.
Service. The food in the main restaurant is very good but daily there were service problems. If you went a whole day without receiving an incorrect order, then you were lucky.The menus for the Sunset bar are the same daily and in the evening,
There are obvious changes to budgets!! The towels were not always changed daily as they used to be and indeed many times people were having to go to reception to collect their own.No free trips to Tobago Trips anymore for people celebrating anything.. No lobster allowed on the day trips anymore.
The boat boys are amazing and seem to be the only organised group on the island. Unfortunately whilst we were out on a boat, James dislocated his knee and is still in hospital.

HINTS .....Always pack an overnight bag as nearly everyone got their luggage the following day after arrival. Take a mini-fan for the small aircraft. Be prepared when leaving Union to have your cases searched and also pay for excess baggage-over 20kgs. Around October is the time for the midges and sand fleas.You need not take shampoo and soap or beach towels as they are provided. You can have any drink free at anytime but be prepared to pay 7US$ for a bottle of water.If you borrow water equipment(flippers etc), you MUST return them in the evening or you are fined. The birds are now fed on a seperate table on the sand so they are no longer a problem-except the silly people who continue to feed them.The library is extensive now so don't take too many books.Do pack high factor suncream.The beach front rooms are nice but alot of people complain as the sea is loud! The Palm view rooms are the biggest and best. They also have a bath. The beach front rooms also get visited by the trespassing tourists! You pay alot extra for the beach front (they are quite small) and the palm View rooms are great.Every room has a good inbuilt safe.The golf course is not a golf course but there are other activities there.
Would we return? No. We would rather stay on Union Island and be amongst the locals,It is a shame that I had to write this review but the island has changed. The staff appear to be unhappy too.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
14 Thank Cambridgegal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

The island is billed as having "some excellent snorkelling". Unfortunately no-one at reception knows anything about it and it took a serious complaint to top management before we were given any information. There's a map detailing 5 snorkelling spots (drawn by the local doctor who is the only expert in this area). But only 2 were accessible from the beach when we were there - between the 2 jetties and in front of cottage no.19.
The one beyond the service jetty is only accessible by boat and the ones on the Atlantic side are often too rough. The overall snorkelling experience - rescued by James and his inflatable - was "adequate" but nothing to compare with the Maldives.
Trips to Tobago Cays are possible either with the Island's boats or boats calling in from Union. This is a better snorkelling experience but clearly not the same as off shore. But you're guaranteed to see turtles which is well worth the trip. Unfortunately you're also guaranteed to see t-shirt salesmen!

Our disappointment over the snorkelling and the ressort's handling of the issue definitely marred our holiday. But most people were blissfully unaware, content to sun themselves on the beach and do nothing more active than go to the bar (they don't come to you unfortunately).

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank foxbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

My husband and I travelled to Palm Island from Grenada for the second week of our holiday. The transfer was via Barbados and then a flight to Union Island and then a short boat ride to Palm Island. This had all been booked in the UK by our travel agent. However we discovered that we could have done this journey in a frection of the time if we had taken a direct flight from Grenada to Union Island (25 minutes). Having said that our week on Palm Island was magical. Although it is a tiny island in the grenadines, with only about 20 private homes and the hotel, there is no sense of being isolated from the other islands in the grenadines. Every view (and there are so many) included one or more of the other islands. The view from the main beach included the activities and comings and goings of so many sailing boats, catamarans and other water going vessels. The beach is stunning with the whitest sand and the warmest bluest sea I have ever swum in. Palm Island grows on you the longer you are there, there are lovely walks and trails around the island. It took me 10 minutes to run around the island and the two of us and hour gently strolling and taking in the several beaches.
An absolute must on a visit to Palm Island is a trip on one of the boats for a day, you sail around the grenadines, snorkel and swim and the highlight was swimming with turtles in the Tobago Cays. Perfect.
The bar staff at Palm Island deserve a special mention, they are a great team and work incredibly hard, there are two bars to choose from the main bar and the sunset bar. Both are excellent.
Similarly there are two restaurants, the food is good and plentiful.
If you are reading this prior to your holiday on Palm Island, I am very jealous!!
Just one minor negative, they say they have a gym but it really cannot be called any other that a lovely cool airconditioned room with some free weights and mats in. However if like me you need to exercise, three cicuits around the island is a 30 minute run finished off with some free weights in 'the gym'. Perfect!

  • Liked — Typically carribean rooms, great bar staff and a magical location
  • Disliked — poor lighting in the bathroom!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DicknDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Island
2.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
10.4 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2307.0 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Islander's Inn
The Islander's Inn
#1 of 7 in Union Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Island Resort & Spa
Address: Palm Island, Union Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort & Spa is a spectacular 135-acre private island resort in the heart of the Grenadines. All-Inclusive. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and weddings. Incredible white sand beaches surrounded by brilliant turquoise waters. This dreamy, romantic resort offers a true escape from everyday life. Freshwater swimming pool with waterfall, relaxing spa offering massage and beauty treatments, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, beachfront dining, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing