We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! We love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Certificate of Excellence
High Bickington, Devon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow! We love this place”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We visited in March 2009 and loved it so much decided to return again in March 2010. It was all is was in 2009 and and better. The staff were great (especially Anthony) and the food was fantastic. The location was the most amazing place, white sandy quiet beaches, beach huts right on the side of the beach!
Everything was great! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millbrookcottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    219
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
91
1,036
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

A real Paradise Island. Total relaxation on a magnificent small and very friendly resort. After a few hours almost all the staff knew us by name. The food was delicious, our suite huge and extremely comfortable.
Water sports and excursions if required and we dived the Mayreau Garden and then snorkeled with the green turtles in the Tobago Cays. Perfect!!!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We spent 9 days at Palm Island for our belated honeymoon and it was the best. We loved that everything was so isolated. It was like summer camp for adults.

Rooms: We had a beachfront room, i believe it was number 7. Literally 10 steps from the beach. We staked out a spot for our beach chairs right outside of our room and it was so convenient! It was also the closest room to the bar, but we usually went to bed after the party had died down. The bed was very comfortable. There was a safe to lock up valuables. The bathroom was great, albeit the lighting was very dim. I loved the wooden slats over the screened windows. We opted to keep the AC off and instead turned on the ceiling fans and opened the slats and let the trade winds keep us cool. They restocked our minibar every day and cleaned only when we requested it. No phone, no TV, no wireless (except in the library). You are totally off the grid and it is awesome.

Beach: Perfect. Enough palm trees to sit in the shade if you wish. Enough beach chairs. Drink service was pretty minimal, but we preferred to hydrate while baking in the sun. Plus the bar was really close. We really only spent time on the main beach, but the other beaches were beautiful as well.

Food: Very good. The plated meals were better than the buffets. But nothing was disappointing.

Drinks: they stocked the minifridge with beer daily, which was nice. We also got a bottle of champagne on arrival since it was our honeymoon, and also for my brithday. Kenroy was a ninja bartender. They had top shelf liquors and every drink you could imagine. Beer selection was limited, though. Definitely do the rum tasting.

Activities: there was great snorkeling right off the main beach. Snorkel gear was provided for free. The walking/biking trails were great to get to explore the island and get a little exercise, although the bikes were extremely outdated (the manager, chris, said he was working on getting new ones). They describe the golf course as "island style" which translates into extremely rough and rustic. The markers for the half of the holes were missing, and bushes and trees obscured the flags. The greens were nonexistent. But if you don't take it too seriously it can be a lot of fun. We used the pool table, which was a really nice table, pretty frequently either after lunch or dinner. I had a great massage at the spa. And you MUST MUST MUST go to the tobago cays on the Scaramouche (not the other boat).

Misc: Go to the dock at night and you can usually see rays swimming around. Bring some bread from breakfast and you can feed the tropical fish when you get in the water. The resort attracts an older clientele, people in their 50s and 60s. Most of them were repeat visitors. There were maybe 2 other young couples there. But my husband and I kind of live like older people, plus we specifically chose a place that would be more conducive to relaxing and not wild night life. The new manager, Chris, is a hard working, motivated person. He was telling us about how he's trying to make the resort more environmentally friendly, which I admire

Cons: they fog the island maybe once every week or two. For about 20 minutes it's really gross. But mosquitoes are practically nonexistant, and since I seem to attract mosquitoes more than anyone else in the world, the inconvenience is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunderly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich, england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Well - what to say?

We have just returned after 2 weeks on Palm Island staying in the southern cross villa and all I can say is WOW!

The Villa

The villa is beautifully located on the opposite side of the island, on the Atlantic side so there is a gorgeous breeze all day and night which means it is much cooler than on the resort side. you get use of a buggy to cart you to and from the main area although you could walk it in less that 10 mins!
The maid service is excellent and attentive and the fridge and spirit cupboard is refilled daily and everyday is like arriving there on the first day!
The infinity pool adds that something extra and really you dont need anything more - we stayed up by the villa pretty much most days, only going down to the beach twice.

Staff

The staff are excellent, they try to remember your names, what you drink, where you are from and generally make you feel welcome. Big thank you to Kenroy behind the bar for making us feel so welcome (even when there was no one else there!) good luck for your venture on Canouan - we may even come and visit! An extra big thank you to Anthony who made our wedding meal so special.

The wedding

We chose to get married on the beach on Palm Island. The whole process was very easy - the managers arranged the trip to St Vincent, the flights and a taxi to meet us at the other end. Andrew then ferried us around St Vincent to 6 different places which you have to go to to get your marriage license, he also took us to the botanical gardens and Fort Caroline before lunch - he then took us a lovely place for lunch and in the afternoon he drove around some older parts of St Vincent telling us about the history of the land and of the people before he dropped us off back and airport to go back again.
The wedding day was well organized by Curlene (assistant manager) with every thing that we wanted. we had breakfast brought up to the villa and then John went to the spa for a deep tissue massage and I was picked up and taken to a separate villa to get ready. I then had a well being massage, manicure, hair and make up done by Veronica who worked miracles with my hair which decided that it did not like the Caribbean heat!
The set up was beautiful and the minister did a lovely ceremony.
The photographer was organised by the managers and apart from being a little cheesy did a great job.
We then were organized onto the sunset cruise to watch the sun go down and then moved to a table set up on the beach under the arch we got married under - just beautiful.

Food

The food is fantastic - we were there 14 nights and never had a bad meal - yes it can be repetitive and some times service was slow - but what else did you have to do - just enjoy the scenery and have another glass of rum punch!
The BBQ on Fridays is just superb and you have to try the goat curry on Tuesdays!

All in all this was a wonderful trip - yes the island is more geared up towards older couples and usually things wind down by about 9pm but we loved it! I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
169 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Palm Island itself is stunningly beautiful (as other reviews photographs highlight) with a lovely ‘main’ beach and turquoise sea where numerous fish can be found. There is also some reasonable snorkelling here. It is also a very small island and feels exclusive even when non-residents from yachts and the daily trippers from the Yannis catamaran (they stay less than an hour) use the beach. There are ample sun loungers plus lots of shade from the lovely trees on the edge of the beach.

We stayed in a Beachfront room which was comfortable and spacious though would have benefitted from some additional lighting, a dressing table and my wife would have loved a bath. The maid kept our room spotlessly clean and also came back later in the evening for the turn-down service.

Lunch in Sunset Grill was an enjoyable experience both because of its location right by the sea and the freshly made-to-order dishes including sandwiches, salads, steak, pizza, fish etc. Lunch was also served in the more formal Royal Palm restaurant along with dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was fine with a nice cold buffet of fruit, cheese, ham and pasties along with a cooked breakfast menu which included cinnamon toast, Eggs Benedict, and other interesting choices along with the usual egg and bacon combinations. Food at dinner varied from good to just about OK. Some of the food had obviously been cooked earlier and wasn’t always served hot. This was also true of the barbeque (Friday) where the steaks, fish, lobster were all precooked and then warmed up. This was a shame as all would have been so much better freshly cooked.

There was more entertainment than we expected. One evening there were drummers and dancers from nearby Union Island, another night a guitarist / singer, on another occasion a young local steel band and on another evening two singing to karaoke music.

Days were spent sitting on the beach reading, going for a swim in the sea (or the excellent swimming pool), sometimes a bike ride or a walk round the island. We also had an excellent back, neck and head massage during our stay. The one excursion we took was on the old wooden schooner, Scaramouche, when we went to Mayreau and Tobago Cays for some excellent snorkelling. This was a great trip and included an excellent lunch.

The staff throughout the hotel were exceptionally good and especially Kenroy in the bar (we loved the Planters Punch), Veronica, Colbert, Anthony and Olive. Charlene, Cherill and Laudia warrant a special mention because of their concern and help with my wife’s foot as she had trodden on a Lionfish the previous week in Barbados.

Palm Island and it’s staff are special. Long may they remain so.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Despite so many excellent reviews appearing on TripAdvisor praising Palm Island it was witth a certain amount of trepidation that we packed our suitcases to return this year after reading the earlier review lambasting the food.
Let me say from the outset that nobody should come to the Caribbean expecting Michelin Star standards. We frequently eat in those setablishments at home and thus have never been disappointed by our experiences in these islands. Having stayed twice at PSV ourselves I could not in all honesty say that the food was that much better- it might occassionally have the edge but Palm Island more than compensates in so many other areas.
What you do get with Palm Island, if you consider the complete package, is nearly as good as it gets. The accomodation is superb, (although we did have the luxury of staying in Southern Cross Villa); the staff, several of whom we would like to now consider as our friends, are truly wonderful; the main beach is simply stunning and, unlike some other resorts we have visited, ideal for swimming and snorkelling. The evenings can be as quiet or as lively as needed with some splendid low key entertainment.
What really impressed us this year was Chris, the new manager who seems to have so much energy it was almost tiring to watch him. He is determined to make Palm Island one of the best, if not the premier resort in this part of the world. At the rate he is organising things there I think he will succeed..

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank LickeyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Spent the first week of our hols on the island - needed some R&R and certainly got it ! did absolutely nothing, read 5 books, they have the most amazing library we have ever seen ! the sevice and friendliness of the staff was terrific such lovely people.
managed to ease some champagne out of the managers secret stache which was nice and many thanks for the aloe on our final day very much appreciated ! only downside as Chris is aware of and has plans to correct is the shortage of good light in the bathroom which for us ladies is a must !!
Hope to return but the Grenadines has so much more to offer. love to all on the island
xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chilledShropshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Island
2.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
10.4 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#1 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2307.0 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Islander's Inn
The Islander's Inn
#2 of 7 in Union Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Island Resort & Spa
Address: Palm Island, Union Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort & Spa is a spectacular 135-acre private island resort in the heart of the Grenadines. All-Inclusive. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and weddings. Incredible white sand beaches surrounded by brilliant turquoise waters. This dreamy, romantic resort offers a true escape from everyday life. Freshwater swimming pool with waterfall, relaxing spa offering massage and beauty treatments, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, beachfront dining, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing