We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm paradise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Palm paradise...”
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I really cannot find the words to describe Palm Island, it was by far the best holiday we have had in the Carribean.
On arrival at Union Island (after a hair raising internal flight! I am not good flyer at the best of times!), a little golf buggy collects you and whisks you to the hotels own boat to hop across to Palm Island where you are met by the management with a rum punch! No check in until the morning which is great.
We had a beachfront room (no 15) and it was lovely, the air con was absolutely fine but the lightiing in the bathroom was a bit dim...oh well - who needs make up when you have a tan!
The food and drink were delicious, and the staff are ALL fantastic. The bar staff know what you're drinking before you do! (thank you Johnny, Margaret and the wonderful Anthony!). Watch out for George the HUGE iguana that visits you in the Royal Palm restaurant..he is lovely once you get to know him...!
We had a picnic (hammock number 3 - the best one) which was worth every penny, and also dinner near the heart tree (so romantic - thank you Ianti), we used the bikes daily and the spa was small but perfectly formed. The gym is basic, but we were the only ones in it for the whole time we were there!
We did book a private charter with Yannis ($750!!!) which was a bit of a disaster, as it was late, an unfinished boat, no food or drink on board etc etc BUT the Yannis management and Chris the resort manager refunded the trip in full with no questions so I cannot complain. I am certain that this was a one off bad experiance, and those who went on the day charter ($95) had a great time.
We really can find little to fault about Palm Island - I wish they would tidy up the rest of the island a bit as it looks quite unloved in some areas, but the resort itself was immaculate and the new manager (Chris) is outstanding - clearly well trained, ambitious and experianced and my gut feeling is that any little issues will be quickly sorted out (he has promised new lighting in the bathrooms so I am going to have to go back to check!)
We will definately return, and hope that it doesn't really change as this Palm paradise is perfect just the way it is.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dizzy_minx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    219
    49
    21
    12
See reviews for
91
1,041
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

If you want action packed, noisy and in your face entertainment , then this is not the place for you! We visited this lovely place after spending 4 nights at Turtle Beach in Barbados and it couldn't have been more different -to our great relief! I will be posting our comments on Turtle Beach and I suppose you have to experience the not so perfect to really appreciate the great ones.
From the moment we stepped onto the boat transfer from Union Island to Palm Island we were treated to the best of service. Given cool face towels to cool us off and then greeted at the jetty by the new manager Chris and two other members of staff with rum punches was a very nice touch. Throughout our 10 night stay we found every member of the staff to be very helpful (and not in a false way) just very friendly and a good laugh. Special mention to Kenroy, Anthony, Kitty Margaret, Madonna etc etc.
We had a Palm view room which was rustic-but thats what you get in the Caribbean- it had the most comfortable bed and pillows and was in a peaceful setting. The food was generally very good especially our lunches down at the Sunset Bar (pizzas were amazing) and the range of drinks superb.
The beaches are wonderful with plenty of sunbeds both on the beach and around the pool- you never had to be close to anyone else- its so refreshing not to have to rush down in a morning to reserve a lounger with your towel! And not to have to listen to someone elses conversation when you really don't want to! We walked and biked around the island to visit the other beaches and look at the wildlife hardly bumping into another human being-Wonderful.
Also we did the Yannis catamaran trip visiting lovely deserted islands and swimming with the turtles which was lovely. Didn't get pestered to do any of the trips or have any spa treatments(my other half had two massages and loved them-just what the doctor ordered!) the staff just leave you to your own devices. Can we just say well done to the new manager Chris-he is always on hand to ask if you are enjoying yourselves or if he could improve anything-but we didn't really have anything to complain about!
Go and experience it for yourselves-if you want a total chill out with no televisions, no blurring music 24/7, no real contact with the outside world (there is internet if you feel the need to keep up to date) and beautiful people who look after your every need. We would go back in a heartbeat and hope to some day!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We have recently returned from a 10 night holiday at Palm Island and it was all we expected plus more.
The weather was superb high 80's everyday with the occassional shower which dried up in about 10 minutes. The beach is so lovely white sand and blue sea and never crowded, I've never spent so much time in the water!!
We stayed in a beach front room (no.16) which I must admit I thought would be lovely to hear the rolling waves but it was right near a group of rocks so instead of rolling waves it was crashing water, the rooms nearer the amenities seemed to be quieter, but you can always take ear plugs as many other guests did. Many previous guests complained about the air conditioning but this never bothered us and was quite adequate.
The food was really nice and I've never eaten so much, the selection of drinks was also fantastic especially the cocktails, the wine with our meals was also very nice. The only disappointment food wise was Carribean night which we didn't really enjoy but apart from that the rest was great and the service also very good.
We booked a meal under the heart shaped tree as it was my birthday, this felt very special and romantic, we were really looked after..
All the staff were very polite, including the grounds staff, we especially liked Kenroy the new barman as nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhodsey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

My wife and I spent our 15th anniversary at this great property. Only 8 days but a high quality time. The flight from Barbados was easy to Union Island and a short ride on the island's launch brought us to the dock and rum punches that were waiting. We had one of the waterfront cottages (actually half of a duplex) with a fantastic view and a nice breeze. Also good snorkelling right in front of the cottage. The sun set on our patio and it was wonderful just enjoying a drink at the end of each day and waiting for the sun to drop below the horizon. The island is not for people looking for lots of action, but if you enjoy nature, beautiful grounds, snorkelling, great conversations, this is the place! We had many conversations with new manager Chris and were impressed with his attention to details and sincere concerns about making our stay enjoyable. In fact, all the staff, after a short time knew us by first name and really worked to make us feel welcome. Special thanks to Grafton, Sandrina, Roxie, Colbert, Johnny, Carla, Kitty, Olive, Margaret and all the others that made our stay so memorable.
The catamaran Yannis or sailing schooner Scaramouche trips to Mayreau and the Tobago Keys are absolutely worth doing. Bike riding on the island, free internet, fresh water pool (which has very little use, at least when we were there), very good food and wonderful service make a stay here very memorable. The special effort they put out on for our anniversary really showed they care.
Being from Canada we weren't bothered with the mosquitos but there was bug repellant provided in the rooms if you needed it.
We will return sooner rather than later, but wish it could be tomorrow!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cottage_Realtors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We have just returned from a too short a stay at Palm Island in the Grenadines.
It really is a tropical paradise. we flew in from Barbados and were transfered from Union Island (where the little airport is) to Palm Island by launch.... the luggage was all taken care of and we were given water and cool towels on the boat.
The journey took about 7 minutes and when we arrived at the island's jetty, the Manager and a member of his staff were waiting with a glass of rum punch...how cool is that?
Check in was painless and the room cool and tastefully furnished.
The restaurant where we had breakfast and lunch is right on the beach and the staff fun and attentive, as all the staff were.
The island's white sand beaches are clean and uncrowded. The sea is crystal clear and teeming with fish.....if you only go one more holiday in your life think seriously about Palm Island.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W0rldtravellerL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Words can not describe Palm Island. I'm not sure where to begin, so let's start at the beginning with the boat ride from Union Island. We were given a refreshing cool cloth to use on our ride to Palm Island. It felt wonderful after a long day of travel. We were greeted by the management staff with cool refreshing rum punch. I knew from then on this was going to be a wonderful trip. We were escorted to our room and given an overview of the room and property. Also told do not worry about check in till tomorrow just "relax" and that is just what we did for ten glorious nights.
I will have to admit I was worried about our stay on Palm Island when I booked this trip. Would we be bored, what would we do without TV. I can assure you I was never bored. We rode bikes, we hiked, we swam, we snorkeled and most importantly enjoyed the beauty of the island.
Not only is the island beautiful but so are the individuals that work at Palm Island. I really do not think they know the word NO! Being one that is from the south hospitality is important to me and the staff and management have taken southern hospitality to a new level. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MississippiThreeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at Palm Island for two weeks in September, and we found it blissful. The beach is fabulous, there is good snorkeling off the beach, several beaches to choose from, wonderful food and fabulous staff who were attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Island
2.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
39 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
10.4 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
146 reviews
2307.0 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
23 reviews
10.4 mi away
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Island Resort & Spa
Address: Palm Island, Union Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort & Spa is a spectacular 135-acre private island resort in the heart of the Grenadines. All-Inclusive. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and weddings. Incredible white sand beaches surrounded by brilliant turquoise waters. This dreamy, romantic resort offers a true escape from everyday life. Freshwater swimming pool with waterfall, relaxing spa offering massage and beauty treatments, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, beachfront dining, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing