We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Palm but a few downsides....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved Palm but a few downsides....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2005

Just back from 2 weeks on palm. Previous reviewers spot on about relaxing island paradise. Turquoise waters and palm trees. Plenty of loungers on beach and around nice if a little small pool. Resort area well maintained but island 'trails' not well marked and a bit of a waste of time. Bicycles a bit of a comedy experience!. Staff very helpful to any request - but they don't offer you've got to ask. Just ask reception for some aloe plant for sunburn. Upstairs plantation suites much cooler than downstairs. Some palm view rooms very near kitchens which have noisy fans - others have good position and probably are best value for money of room categories. Food plentiful and good with plenty of choice. Premium liquor on all inclusive heaven for single malt drinkers!. Go Glenlivet. Wine a personal thing but room temp red wine at 90 degrees is nasty! All inc Sauvignon Blanc better (less tonsil grabbing) than the Chardonnay by the glass - but its exactly the same gear if you want to buy it by the bottle. Tap water fine for drinking. Crazy but bottled water isnt on the all inc!. Daily milk jug in fridge for tea but it tastes a bit funny. Downsides - absolutely nothing available on snorkelling around the island - just rocks and some dead coral. Take swim shoes to max swim opportunities as only 1 beach is sand all the way, others have a layer of rocks to negotiate to get in sea. Need to go to Tobago Cays to see any fish/coral. Air con is useless with screened slat windows and very uncomfortably hot nights. Double shower stalls in plantation suite excellent and got plenty of use! We got together with 3 others and chartered a Capt Yannis catarmaran for a day for $500 which is cheaper than excursions. Good big catamaran with 4 staff, bar, lunch for a whole day. Saw same boat with 30+ people on doing day trips at $60+ a pop. Suggest not going off island on a Mon to avoid cruise ship traffic at Cays. Glenroy at Grenadines Dive excellent for both exp and learner divers. Guests mainly Brit middle aged + and a few newly weds. Nothing at all for kids who are a bit frowned upon. Library good. Oh and no need to take a travel kettle or iron as in room. On bug front - tons of sandflies (not just on beach) which are real little biters despite repellant which is plentifully supplied. Didnt catch too many mozzies. Barbados airport currently undergoing major refurb very hot, not enough seating and a nightmare to navigate on return journey. Outward we got to Palm same day but luggage didnt make it for 24 hrs as transfer time from BA flight to little plane tight. Have a biro handy to prod the dodgy air con vents on the little plane to get some air. If you're tall or overweight expect an uncomfortable trip without seat belt but its an experience!. All in all OK value for money - probably wouldnt go back mainly due to lack of proper aircon.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    216
    48
    20
    12
See reviews for
90
1,002
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2005

If you want relaxation, peace, freedom to roam, no crowds, good food, fantastic friendly staff, quality rooms, great snorkelling, warm waters, iguanas, turtles, humming birds, cool breezes, walking, jogging, cycling,great trips to tobago keys, great guests and all on your own privately owned island in the Caribbean, then Palm Island is the place for you!If you do decided to go, do me a huge favour and say hello to Gerry the Pool man, he's a star! The livelier side, are the Frid night BBQ's on the beach, with steel band and 2 nights a week live music played in the bar. I would go again tomorrow if I had the time.

Helpful?
17 Thank Spangledog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2005

We have just come back from Palm Island went there for our 40th wedding anniversary, could not have picked a better place to visit. 17th October -27th October)
We were met on the jetty by Gary and Misty (Managers of the Island) with two members of their staff and cocktails, we were personally taken to our room which was WOW flowers on the enormous bed in the bathroom just fantastic. The rooms were replenished every day with towels, drinks in fact anything that we wanted.

If you want seclusion this is the place to visit you are left completely alone or should you wish you can make enough friends as you wish. Gary was available all day and evening, should you wish to enquire about anything

The beach was great with plenty of sunbeds and of shade water was very clear and the snorkelling of the reef were very good.

The staff were all great but addressed you by name when you went for your meals, which were excellent different menu each night.

I certainly recommend Palm Island for a very first class holiday

Helpful?
20 Thank menorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2005

This place was awesome, Just what we wanted peace and quite. If you want seclusion, privacy, no one bugging you to play stupid resort games and activities,then this place is for you. Great beach with crystal clear water. The pool was nice too, although a bit small, but there are not many people there to make it crowded. The food was fantastic, especially the dinners. The staff were all attentive and pleasant. We took the catamaran to Mopian, Mayraeu and the Tobago Cays, absolutley stunning and gorgeous, Tobago Cays had the best snorkeling I have ever done. Very pretty sunsets also. I cannot wait to return.......

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2005

We were met my the manager on the dock as we arrived. He introduced us to his key staff and handed us strong rum punch cocktails. A week later we had the most wonderful and relaxed wedding on Palm Island. There was no rushing about, we went for a dawn walk, we had a delicious breakfast, we both had a massage at the great spa, we swam in the pool, we drank cocktails, had lunch, got dressed and I had my hair done and then went to the prestine beach we had chosen for the ceremony. We ate our wedding supper by the light of the heart shaped tree. We would recommend Palm Island resort if you like to relax. Our room was Beachfront and the sounds of the water at night was fabulous. We went scuba diving several times and drank cocktails most of the rest of the time. It was heavenly. Truly a romantic setting.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Suzibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2005

We travelled to Palm Isald for our honeymoon. Everything from the greeting at the dock with rum punch to the day trips were great. We stayed in a beach front room, number 18, and felt like we were the only ones on that end of the island. The staff was always friendly and quick to offer suggestions. David knows how to make a perfect pina colada and my husband grew fond of the vodka lemon drops.

I would recommend the hammock picnic - it is well worth the $15 per person and the cajun noodles are delicious. We enjoyed the Tobago Cays snorkel drip and loved Salt Whistler's Bay so much that we took a private water taxi back to that bay a few days later.

The only drawback, and very slight at that, was the heat in the rooms. We were told that it was unseasonably warm with no winds, but it did not detract from our stay at all.

We found the other guests to be very enjoyable and liked getting to meet and know them.

The manager, Gary and his wife Misty were very gracious in helping us coordinate our return to the states (by offering suggestions for accomodations in Miami) as Hurricane Rita was headed for Texas.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank hhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2005

What a wonderfull way to celebrate a special occasion. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted the honeymoon that was missing 25 years ago.
Don't go if you expect staff to wait for a click of your finger and then run to you. No drink, waiter service is available on the beach. You don't need it.
Don't go if you want five star Ritz standard and crystal cut glass.
Don't bother if you seek pretentious perfection.
BUT, if you want tropical island living with a little luxury, a warm friendly but never intrusive atmosphere and Banana Colada s to die for then get booking.
Take books, insect repelent for around 4pm and a good camera.
Warning, enjoy every moment, it all goes too quickly!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Island
2.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
2307.0 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.8 mi away
Petit St. Vincent Resort
Petit St. Vincent Resort
#1 of 1 in Petit St.Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Islander's Inn
The Islander's Inn
#2 of 7 in Union Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Island Resort & Spa
Address: Palm Island, Union Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort & Spa is a spectacular 135-acre private island resort in the heart of the Grenadines. All-Inclusive. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and weddings. Incredible white sand beaches surrounded by brilliant turquoise waters. This dreamy, romantic resort offers a true escape from everyday life. Freshwater swimming pool with waterfall, relaxing spa offering massage and beauty treatments, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, beachfront dining, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing