We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Island Resort more like a sandbar than a tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Palm Island Resort more like a sandbar than a tropical paradise”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had been scheduled by Elite the Palm Island booking agency for seven nights and were to leave on Friday, May 23, 2014 To our surprise when we attempted to print our Jet Blue tickets, we found the first leg of our flight had been cancelled and we had been rescheduled for another departure date not of our choosing. We were unable to reach anyone at Elite until the following morning, even though we left an emergency voice mail call back message Thursday night. When reached Elite only offered booking leaving the following Monday which was Labor Day. We asked that we not be rebooked on Jet Blue and we were told we had no choice other than to fly Jet Blue. The rebooking also required us to lay over one night in Barbados.
Upon arrival we soon discovered the extensive travel required to get to Palm Island was not worth the time and money spent to do so. By the third day we were ready to leave. The food quality was not good. I am a vegetarian; however, I do eat fish. Trash fish such as Barracuda, and especially Dorado was frequently served. Food was generally over cooked, too salty, and menus were redundant. The bread served tasted stale and processed. Even dessert was unappealing, I do not consider cheese and crackers a dessert. Music constantly played in all dining and bars areas often reggae radio music.
Our room was an ocean view Seagrape Suite which was quiet and roomy. Housekeeping was excellent thanks to superior Housekeeping Manager Sandrina who was always present to address any problem or request. No room phone therefore if you needed a service you had to go to the manager’s office. Wi-Fi was limited to the reception area. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant.
The beach and sea floor was rocky and the waves were usually too high for a leisurely swim, which made the pool the only alternative.
We did visit the Palm Island land turtle sanctuary. Much to our dismay the sanctuary consisted of a small wooden enclosure with no food or water for the three turtles observed one of which was attempting to climb out of the box.
When we departed on June 2, 2014, after passing through customs at JFK Airport and attempted to recheck our bags with Jet Blue for our flight home we were told that it had been cancelled. Consequently we waited for hours for Jet Blue to book us in a second rate motel in a smoking room.
Obviously I will no longer be booking any travel with the Elite Island Resorts.

Room Tip: Choose a second story suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Cheryl F,

We are shocked and apologize for the incovenience you experienced with respect to your vacation to Palm Island. That is NOT what Palm Island is all about by any stretch of the imagination.

Unfortunately, your entire trip began and ended with Jet Blue who failed to follow standard operating procedure and inform you directly that your flights were cancelled. Palm Island, being a remote and unique destination means a cancelled flight does interrupt the subsequent transportation arrangements that are made to bring guests to the island. From what you have explained it sounds like a terrible airline experience which put in motion an unfortunate chain of events.

We have checked our records extensively and nowhere in the information you provided did you indicate any dietary preferences. We accomodate guests from all over the world with a range of food issues and always accomodate their needs. We have a very attentive and creative chef who knows how to please any palate. We continuously receive accolades from most of our guests about the culinary experience at the resort.

Palm Island is a very secluded unique Caraibbean experience for couples who want to get away from it all. Over 50% of our guests during the course of the year are repeat guests. Palm Island has won numerous awards for delivering a one of a kind Caribbean vacation with an incredible staff noted for their warmth, grace and hospitality.

Once again, we are very sorry that you had a number of challenges which affected your trip. We will be contacting you shortly regarding additional consideration to continue the genuine warmth and hospitality that characterize Palm Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    219
    49
    21
    12
See reviews for
92
1,044
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had looked at going to Palm for some time, have been many times to Caribbean and Maldives, just had that feeling that Palm was a mixture of the two.
Seamless journey there via Virgin,SVG & the launch, rum punches on arrival & a nice welcome from Katie, Anthony et al.
We had a sea view room not where I requested but it didn't really matter in the end.
What makes Palm a special place are the staff. From Katie downwards they are all very friendly, helpful, cheerful and a credit to the island.
Rooms were fine, not excellent, but perfectly adequate. Food was generally very good, but found breakfast became a bit monotonous maybe because we were there for 14 days. Lunches were excellent and we usually took them at the Sunset Grill, a great place with fantastic views.
Evening meals were on the whole good but we were a bit disappointed with the Caribbean BBQ the first week, so booked to go to the Sunset on the second week only to see that the BBQ had appeared to improve dramatically for that week.
We did the Yannis catamaran trip which was excellent, six of us on board with four staff, good snorkelling with the turtles, a great day out. We thought the snorkelling at Palm was poor.
Also did a couple of hours on Union Island, not a lot there but a nice change for a while.
Favourite spot on Palm was the little beach at the far end close to the Southern Cross villa, what a lovely spot.
If you go, do Doc's chat about the history of Palm it is really very interesting.
The all inclusive is very extensive and now being home have to get used to not drinking champagne every day!
Undoubtedly we will return someday, Palm is probably one of the best places we have been in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonLillywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife & I just spent 8 wonderful days & nights on Palm Island (May 2014) . It was so beautiful there that it was hard to leave. We have been to most of the other Caribbean islands over the years & Palm Island is one of the best. We chose Palm Island based on the excellent reviews & we were not disappointed! It takes an entire day (for most) to get to Palm Island (a Palm Island representative meets you in Barbados & makes sure that your transfer between there & Union Island goes smoothly) going first by jet, then small plane & finally short boat ride & then you have arrived in paradise! Upon stepping off the boat, you are met & warmly welcomed right there on the dock by the general manager, Katie, & her staff with a signature Caribbean rum punch & your luggage is immediately taken to your room by the staff. We had a beach-front cottage, which all offer great views, ours was #25 which was close to the pool & also the main dining room. The room was very nice & comfortable, had a walk-in shower & also ceiling fans & exceptionally well working air conditioning, which sometimes you do not see in the Caribbean. The rooms are very clean, the housekeeping staff does a great job. There was plenty to do there, whether you wanted to just relax on a chaise lounge under an umbrella on the beautiful beach, swim in the exceptionally beautiful crystal clear turquoise waters or pool with the waterfall, or take a sailing excursion complete with a Caribbean lunch on board, snorkeling & seeing the huge sea turtles. We took the Yannis catamaran & also the Scarmouche & Pink Lady sailboats, which were all great. They also have a spa, exercise room, library & TV/internet room (for those who can't disconnect). Palm Island also has an EXCELLENT staff, from the general manager, Katie, dining manager, Anthony, & awesome Chef Bakka! They are always very friendly, attentive & efficient. The service is excellent everywhere on Palm Island (unlike some of the other Caribbean islands). The main dining room is called The Royal Palm Restaurant, which is where you have breakfast & dinner, & The Sunset Grille for informal lunches with some of the tables right on the beach. The food for breakfast, lunch & dinner is some of the best in the Caribbean, thanks to Chef Bakka who does an amazing job of creating delicious meals every day. Katie, Anthony & Chef Bakka are always very visible & go out of their way each & every day to talk to all the guests & circulate in the dining room every night making sure everyone was enjoying their meal & stay on Palm Island. Some nights during dinner they had a very good accoustical guitar player who played very nice & romantic dinner music. They have a managers cocktail party every Wednesday evening & a Caribbean Buffet with a local family steel band from Union Island every Saturday night. All your drinks are included, with a very wide selection including frozen drinks, & they are not watered down like some resorts. This resort has a variety of guests from honeymooners to retirees with many of the people coming from the US/Canada & England, & we enjoyed talking with many of the guests. In closing, Palm Island is an exceptional Caribbean destination, and like us, you'll be wanting to go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went there for a brief stay after reading really good reviews. The flight to Union Island was very scenic., better than I imagined. On arriving we expected a golf cart to whisk us off. I was very disappointed when the man wearing a Palm Island tee shirt said that he was not expecting any guests till about four hours later and he was only here to pick up a package. He took our names and made a call to the hotel. He then took us for a brief ride to the pier....Guess what?....no speed boat. More calls and a good 10 minute wait... The speed boat arrives ( I had read in various reviews to expect cold towels and cold water ). We got none. Man was I disappointed., not a great start I thought. When we got to the Island we were greeted by the Manageress (Katie) and two staff and two welcome rum punches. We were then informed that our room was not ready and to wait at the bar and have some drinks and lunch, we would be called when our room was ready. By this time I hoped I never came. Being a very patient man I just waited. Shortly after, one of the staff from reception came waiving a piece of paper with MY HANDWRITING confirming the booking that I was to arrive on 6 th July...... And here I was on the 6 th June ( only a month early). I was so embarrassed at my mistake and so pleased how effortlessly and seamlessly they managed the situation. Under the circumstances I would give them 6 not 5 stars.... Pity your site does not have that provision.

I noticed a lot of good service and initially noted names of people who I thought were exceptional. It soon dawned on me that their staff here are in a class of there own. I encountered, staff who cleaned floors, cleaned toilets, bar staff and restaurant staff and all other categories right up to the manageress, every single one of them without exception took pride in what they did, and seemed to do it well and no matter how busy they were never failed to stop, smile, and have a bit of a chat.

There was a sheer abundance of deck chairs and some charming hammocks. No need to get up early and put a towel to reserve them. You could go any time of day or night and guarantee several in different areas. I could go on and on. Food, service, facilities, gift shop all amazing. Also very importantly no pressure whatsoever to drum up any extra revenue. They were very happy for you to do as little or as much as you wanted. As I said there were too many names to mention in terms of excellence., but I must say the recently appointed manageress was very approachable and enthusiastic. She was all smiles and hands on all the time happily mingling with all the guests., a great great asset to Palm Island.,also the head Chef Bacca made it a point to come to all guests, have a brief chat and he welcomed suggestions. All in all I can understand why they have such great reviews and so many repeat guests. My wife and I are already planning our next visit there.

Room Tip: They have no bad rooms, you will not be disappointed with any., but as always pay the most as you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NariRanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Awesome vacation! Journey was rough, considering our first flight was delayed which offset our entire vacation by 24 hrs, but Elite Island took care of everything... They even contacted our 2nd hotel (which they don't even work for)& made sure the hotel could accommodate our new dates. But Palm Island is wonderful. The staff takes the time to get to know all the guests. The management socialized with all guest nightly. You can make it whatever vacation you want. If you want to be alone with your spouse or socialize with others at the bar...this resort is perfect & it's gorgeous! I was a beach bum with cocktails while my husband was active with diving excursions. We also visited happy island & took the yannis excursion. The rooms are sufficient (not luxurious) but we were rarely in our room during the day. This place was too pretty to take daytime naps and i love to nap on vacation. "Off" Bug spray & industrial bug spray for the room is included in the room. The only bug issue I had were gnats. The bars / restaurants had extra Off on hand if u needed any. Check in: is in the reception area (not in your room as another review stated) & they ask for a copy of your reservation so *BRING a copy of your reservation*. Also, the boat ride from union island is a 5 min boat ride. Beds were comfy, great housekeeping, great massage, great water pressure & great A/C. Everything was perfect. Don't forget the sunscreen, we had to buy extra sunscreen & it was only $16 in gift shop...we've seen it marked up a lot more at other resorts. Overall great experience, we definitely will be returning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Nolamkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Nolamkb,

Thank you for your very positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate all comments as it is our goal to deliver a one of a kind vacation to our guests.

Look forward to hosting you once again at our very special place in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We chose to go to Palm Island to celebrate our Ruby Anniversary and couldn't have chosen a
better place to go. The beach front room was excellent, the food was not too rich and the portion sizes sensible. Cleanliness of rooms was superb and the towel models were great fun, we had
two swans kissing on our anniversary. The staff are lovely, friendly and nothing is too muchy
trouble for them. The hammocks are great fun, especially hammock No. 3 which is totally secluded at one end of a very beautiful beach. Plenty to do or not entirely up to you, tennis, table tennis, billiards, golf? island style, cycling, running round the island as long as you are up early, and plenty of water sports. A trip on the Scaramouche is the one to do, with snorkelling with the turtles just amazing and an excellent lunch provided from the small galley. We would certainly consider a return visit. The only downside were the blackbirds at meal times, they became a proper nuisance by the time our holiday was near its conclusion.

Room Tip: Beachfront without hesitation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcowan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Getting there is a trek because Palm Island is in the Grenadines and very remote-which is part of its charm. Once there, take a deep breath and let the lovely members of the staff pamper and spoil you!! Our suite was perfect-huge bath, wet bar, lanai, and a most comfortable bed. Meals are sumptuous-best soup "in the world" as the chef says. Wonderful pool with a waterfall! Lots of sun with lots of island breezes to cool you.Activities for those who want to be busy but for those of us who want to relax and just "being" it is heaven.

Room Tip: Choose a suite-the little extra you pay is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Island
2.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
10.4 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#1 of 2 in Mustique
146 reviews
2307.0 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
23 reviews
10.4 mi away
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Island Resort & Spa
Address: Palm Island, Union Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort & Spa is a spectacular 135-acre private island resort in the heart of the Grenadines. All-Inclusive. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and weddings. Incredible white sand beaches surrounded by brilliant turquoise waters. This dreamy, romantic resort offers a true escape from everyday life. Freshwater swimming pool with waterfall, relaxing spa offering massage and beauty treatments, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, beachfront dining, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing