We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We chose Palm Island as somewhere I could celebrate my 60th birthday and what a good choice it was. After flying into Barbados we were met by the Palm Island Rep who immediately took us to the connecting flights desk and arranged for a member of staff to collect our luggage for the onward flight. We only had just over an hour between flights so this assistance was much appreciated. After a 45 min flight and a 5 min ferry trip we were greeted by the Manager and other members of staff with a Rum Punch on the jetty and taken straight to our room. We had booked an Ocean View Room which was fabulous. The rooms are rustic in nature but large and well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, a mini bar, and good quality toiletries. They also provide insect repellent spray for the room and for personal use. The beach area is uncrowded and very quiet which made for a very relaxing stay and the sea clear blue and lovely to swim in. It takes about an hour to walk all the way round the island and along the way there are three uphill trails which give marvellous views over the island and surrounding islands. I would recommend good walking shoes though for these climbs. There are loads of iguanas and hummingbirds to see. You can also hire bikes to get round the island which were quite fun. Apart from 2 buffet nights, the rest of the time the dining is al a carte and the food quality is excellent as is the house wine. On buffet nights they open the Sunset Bar and Grill for al a carte dining if you prefer this to buffet but you do have to book. We booked a private picnic lunch on one of the remote beaches for my birthday and this was lovely. We also booked a trip on the Pink Lady sailing boat across to the Tobago Cays. Unfortunately it was very windy that day which made the trip over quite rough and we did get soaked. But once you got to the Cays it was much calmer and we were able to snorkel with turtles which was fabulous. We were then given a bbq on the beach with more food than we could eat and fortunately the trip back was much calmer! Unfortunately the snorkelling off Palm Island was a bit disappointing. Most of the staff are lovely and very friendly and nothing seems too much trouble. There is some low key entertainment most nights. When we left, the manager and some members of staff were there to wave us off on the jetty which I thought was a nice touch. One little moan is that Palm Island is very popular with returning guests and we were told that January was particularly popular with these guests. Unfortunately some of these guests did seem to take over somewhat and made their presence more than felt but this is not the fault of Palm Island but a consequence of its popularity. So all in all we had an excellent holiday and Palm Island is beautiful and idyllic.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was in an excellent position.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Trundlie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
There are newer reviews for Palm Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

i was lucky enough to stay here, only for one night though but it was breathtakingly beautiful. The rooms were gorgeous and the service was impeccable.
The only minor thing I would say was that the food was not as nice as we were expecting in such a resort, it was lovely but not as good standard as some of the restaurants we had been eating at in Barbados.
We ate in the bar for lunch which was gorgeous, we had a swim in the lovely pool and walked all round the island, played table tennis and stayed in the bar after dinner. Truly magical place, relaxing and romantic. The next day we went on the boat trip round the Tobago Cays which was absolutely incredible, lovely food and music on the boat, again great service and snorkeled with the turtles. The islands were beautiful and it was such a lovely way to unwind.
We stayed here as a couple and we loved it , i wouldn't take my child and would probably stay no more than a few days, we loved lying around and relaxing, but personally think I would prefer to go to another island as it it so quiet.
We came here from Barbados and the flight schedule was frustrating, we had to fly back via St Vincent and had a long wait there ( luckily we went to a lovely restaurant there but it did really drag out the journey )
Overall this place really is like a dream, the people are so friendly and attentive. It is such a special place I cant wait to send my friends and family to see what they think!

Room Tip: We were away from the sea view but still beautiful setting!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Have just been in Palm Island for the third time, in the Southern Cross Villa. We could repeat every good review reported from warmth of staff to amenities and location. However, one inconvenient may interfere with a perfect experience which is the tight plane schedule from Barbados to Union Island. The reason for this tight schedule is because the runway at the Union Island's small airport is not lit so planes cannot land there after 6:00 pm. This year, for the first time in 3 years, our connecting flight from Toronto was delayed by an hour due to de-icing so the plane to Union Island was leaving the Barbados airport only 15 minutes after our landing there so there was not enough time to catch it. Our first reaction was one of deep frustration (getting there already takes a whole day from Montreal) but the resort sent us to their sister complex in Barbados, about half an hour from the airport. They put us in the best room (sea view) until the next day, and included dinner and breakfast for the next morning, and transportation back to the airport for the first flight to Union. When we finally got there, after losing one day of that paradise, we realized that it was not the resort's fault and the management really took good care of us after all!

One tip for the ones who are prone to mosquito (and other bug's) bites, bring repellent! I am always the only one of our group of 4 to get bitten after sundown, in spite of the island being sprayed at least once a week. After trying a few tricks (including a kind of yellow bracelet sold on site), this year what finally worked well for me, has a delicate smell and that you can wear on arms, legs and neck when going for dinner (dining rooms are opened) is Off with eucalyptus. But again, I am just one, of those in a crowd, who is going to get bitten by the only one mosquito present!

The above are, nonetheless, worth the trip and the stay!

Note: My rating about beverage selections as to do with the "à la carte" wine list. Many on the list are not available or only in small quantity. But house Merlot and Sauvignon Blanc are decent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank pachatte144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Amazing place, people, food, service, relaxation- what more could you want!
Big thanks to Anthony, Steveon, Modica, Shakeel & Jingles!! Aka Kendol.
The fresh fish is delicious! The views of the beach/ sea- enchanting
And a trip to Tobago Cays is a must - swim with the sea turtles in awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shizzle_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is the second review we have had the pleasure to write for Palm Island. We have visited this beautiful three times. From the moment you step foot on the island, you are warmly greeted by management and staff. The rooms are nicely furnished and most comfortable. The entire staff is professional and goes out of their way to accommodate your needs and requests, service is more than excellent. Every staff member knows your name ! We were pleasantly surprised by the non-inclusive feeling of the restaurants, meals are ordered from a menu. If you have specific preferences or requests, just ask. The chef is wonderful and will try his best to make you happy, there is something delicious for everyone.
The island is absolutely gorgeous. We took long walks on the beautiful beaches and gardens everyday feasting on the scenic views. Look around, you will see iguanas, lizards and many species of birds. The pool is located in a serene garden setting.
If you want to leave the island for the day, there are a few excursions you can take. Added amenities include, hobies, kayaks, snorkeling and biking around the island. There is also a free shuttle that takes you to nearby Union Island ( a 7 minute boat ride ) to hang out with the locals. Bring a pair of sneakers, you will need them for a complimentary hike around the island. Don't forget to bring a long a camera, the foliage and views are breathtaking.
Each time we have visited something new has been added, improvements and updates to make your stay a true vacation that will leave you with lasting memories. We have been to several Caribbean Islands. We sometimes said that we would definitely return to the particular hotel. However, this time we have returned. We are so thrilled we every minute of our stay in paradise that we will make it #4 in2014 !

PALM ISLAND, A TRUE EXCLUSIVE--INCLUSIVE !

Room Tip: If you choose a beach front room like we did, might I suggest rooms 1-6 & 9-12...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DMG4748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear DMG4748,

Thank you for your very positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the wonderful comments as it is our goal to deliver a one of a kind vacation to our guests.

Palm Island is one of the most beloved resorts in the Caribbean known for its intimate accommodations, world-class cuisine, beautiful landscape and incredibly hospitable and gracious staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you for visit #4!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I honeymooned in Palm Island in early December 2013. Getting there was more involved than what we normally go for, but the seclusion and views were definitely worth it. We were warmly greeted as soon as we arrived, and the entire staff was super warm, friendly, and welcoming.

My Palm island highlights are the incredible views --- the beach is really beautiful. The staff is also a major plus --- they really focus on providing great service. There are a variety of activities to do on the island, from going on walks, riding the bikes on the trails, playing a friendly game with the staff, chef cooking demos, and many offsite activities to chose from.

Room was decorated simply, and overall it is pretty modest. No TV' in room or WiFi. Fridge in room with sodas, wine, beer. The air conditioning works really well.

If you are looking to get away from it all, this is a great option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverStream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I have spent 8 nights at Palm Island Resort and have forgotten about 'everything' while we were there. It's a Paradise location and if you are looking for relaxation and a spectacular Caraibbean scenary, this is the placel to be.
Although the Hotel itself is a bit traditional - 'bamboo' style furniture - but in perfect conditions, the room (we booked a Suite) was spotless (housekeeping does a great and punctual job). Staff is very friendly but not pushing or intrusive. Food is excellent, although the first impression was that the portions were small, we realised that the quantities were right and avoid waste of food.
Any aspect of our stay exceeded our expectations and we definitely reccomend this resort for a great beach and relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M69Londra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Island
9.6 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
2.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2307.1 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
24 reviews
24.9 mi away
Firefly Mustique Hotel
Firefly Mustique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mustique
148 reviews
10.4 mi away
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Address: Palm Island, Union Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Price Range: $535 - $1,289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort & Spa is a spectacular 135-acre private island resort in the heart of the Grenadines. All-Inclusive. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and weddings. Incredible white sand beaches surrounded by brilliant turquoise waters. This dreamy, romantic resort offers a true escape from everyday life. Freshwater swimming pool with waterfall, relaxing spa offering massage and beauty treatments, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, beachfront dining, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing