We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“idillic setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havelock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Havelock Garden Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“idillic setting”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Lovely well appointed units in peaceful setting, several acres of garden with units dotted around. Good facilities, beautifully clean and comfortable. Thank you Karen and Alan for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The motel fronts on to the main road but just up the drive there are lovely trees, a river running through the gardens and picnic tables under the trees. This offers good, clean lodge type accommodation at very reasonable prices. The owners are friendly and welcoming. One of the few places we came across on the trip to NZ where they offer fresh ground coffee and cafetiere in the room, which I love. All necessaries were present - good sized bed, good shower and adequate kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillibetdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely quiet place with easy-going friendly owners. Also nice and central in Havelock for restaurants etc. Walks from here go directly up into the bush to visit a waterfall and also a short distance to marina and boating. Useful base for exploring the less-visited Pelorus Sound ie less touristed area than Queens Charlotte Sound.

Room Tip: Quietest and cheapest room at the back of the facility ie closer to the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This motel is in a quiet location set well back from the main road in the centre of Havelock. The rooms are nicely presented with tasteful decor. A kitchenette with fridge, microwave and cooking utensils is provided in the room. There is free guest car parking directly outside the rooms. The motel owner was very welcoming, explaining to me about local amenities, sights and restaurants. Free Wi-Fi is available, though I found the signal strength very weak in the room itself (was stronger closer to the motel reception).

Overall, this motel offers spacious, well-appointed accommodation in a quiet location in Havelock, offering excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul110969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Good morning Paul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add this review to the Trip Advisor web site and for your kind comments. Hopefully we will meet again next time you pass through Havelock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a hectic time with house renovations it was great to be able to get away and leave the painters to it. As always Karen and Alan were very accomodating and all our needs were fully met with no request a problem. The room was extremely clean and the beds very comfortable. It was great to be able to curl up with a book from their extensive selection on a particularly nasty day.Will definately be back when I need to escape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After completing the Queen Charlotte track this was a great place to finish of our time in Marlborough. Alan was a great host and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean, inviting and well serviced.
Lovely garden setting well back from the main road so nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatiana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Good morning Tatiana,

Thank you for taking the time to post your entry on the Trip Advisor web site and for your kind comments.

Hopefully we will meet again should you be passing through lovely Havelock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well located in the middle of Havelock. I parked the car and didn't touch it for a few days. The hosts were friendly. The rooms were clean. The rooms were set back from the main street among gardens, which makes it an enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Good morning Hansie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Trip Advisor web site and for your kind comments.

Hopefully we will see you again should you be pasing through Havelock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
0.1 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
14.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Lodge
Blue Moon Lodge
#4 of 8 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Te Rawa Resort
Te Rawa Resort
#5 of 5 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 5 in Havelock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelorus Heights Homestay
Pelorus Heights Homestay
#2 of 5 in Havelock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock Garden Motel

Property: Havelock Garden Motel
Address: 71 Main Road | Marlborough, Havelock 7100, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Havelock’s only motel hideaway, set in a 5 acre hillside enclave, this small family run motel offers traditional hospitality in tranquil surroundings, whilst still within walking distance of all the Havelock amenities. Truly a home from home, where we pride ourselves on providing spotless, well-appointed accommodation at a reasonable price. 12 new or recently renovated units. Its delightful garden ambiance and unique hillside positioning offers a haven away from the daily hustle and bustle of everyday life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing