We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havelock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Havelock Garden Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed here whilst travelling around the Sounds with our dog. The hosts were friendly and amenable, but more importantly, welcoming and understanding of our dog and his foibles! We particularly liked having a separate bedroom, so we didn't have to sleep with the dog! It was tastefully furnished, decorated and quiet... perfect location for a dinner at the Mussel Pot! We enjoyed our stay - thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed for one night after the mussel festival. highly reccomend. no late night noise to be heard from town, although right in the middle of town but tucked away

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassysalnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We were surprised at all the amenities available at the doorstep of the motel which is
central location in the small town of Havelock. Fantastic clean accomadation with
good service and quiet surroundings . Coming from a city life in The Netherlands this was more than a break and change - a real relaxing time to chill.

There is no shortage for nature lovers and we were very lucky with an abundance of sunshine . The energy of the sun was also reflected in the family owners of the motel.
THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY
Marianne and Robert

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopy22227906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I organised a group of friends to stay here and we all loved it. The units were very well set up . We really enjoyed being able to get together on the lawn in the garden setting for our sundowners. Found the owners very friendly and helpful not only when we were there but prior to our visit . I contacted them several times for local information and found them always very amenable. Location is perfect to enjoy the Pelorous Sound and conveniently placed and walking distance to cafes bars and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stopped here when SH6 was closed by slips, so this visit was an unexpected one. our 2 bed unit was very clean, with a good selection of utensils and kitchenware. We had a unit overlooking the lawn which was pleasant, however i would not one of the rear units, as their outlook is not as good. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, i will stay here when i vist Havelock in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I stayed at this motel for 2 nights and really enjoyed my stay. The living area was large and the kitchen provided everything you needed. The bedroom was not very spacious but it was not a problem at all. When you are 2 people, finding space for baggages can sometimes be challenging but we managed.
Karen is a super nice lady really trying to help. One of the reviews has a remark on her husband being rude but he was also very nice to us.
Extensive DVD collection was nice.
Although everything was nice and clean, I could see two down things: the single beds were a little narrow and that made me a bit uncomfortable throughout the night. Would have been great if they were 10cm (4inches) wider. And the second thing is, it'd have been great if Karen could keep some cooking oil in the kitchen in small containers of 50ml or 100ml. The grocery store in Havelock was expensive and it hurt to pay an exorbitant price for something that we could not finish and trashed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-Karacalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

After travelling around the south Island experiencing the adrenalin rush of activities what a pleasant way to wind down. The motel was situated in such a beautiful setting yet still at the heart of the local town close to all amenities. The one bedroomed unit was spacious well equipped a real home from home. Loved the furniture and very tasteful decor. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful to make sure our stay was memorable. The heat pump, free DVD'S books, and a glass of Marlborough Sav made the Autumn evenings a cosy end to the day. What a perfect ending to our south island trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyMuppet1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
0.1 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
14.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Te Rawa
The Lodge at Te Rawa
#4 of 4 in Havelock
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 4 in Havelock
46 reviews
12.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Lodge
Blue Moon Lodge
#5 of 8 in Havelock
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock Garden Motel

Address: 71 Main Road | Marlborough, Havelock 7100, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Havelock’s only motel hideaway, set in a 5 acre hillside enclave, this small family run motel offers traditional hospitality in tranquil surroundings, whilst still within walking distance of all the Havelock amenities. Truly a home from home, where we pride ourselves on providing spotless, well-appointed accommodation at a reasonable price. 12 new or recently renovated units. Its delightful garden ambiance and unique hillside positioning offers a haven away from the daily hustle and bustle of everyday life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing