We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely quiet location. Hidden away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havelock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Havelock Garden Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely quiet location. Hidden away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed for one night after the mussel festival. highly reccomend. no late night noise to be heard from town, although right in the middle of town but tucked away

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassysalnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We were surprised at all the amenities available at the doorstep of the motel which is
central location in the small town of Havelock. Fantastic clean accomadation with
good service and quiet surroundings . Coming from a city life in The Netherlands this was more than a break and change - a real relaxing time to chill.

There is no shortage for nature lovers and we were very lucky with an abundance of sunshine . The energy of the sun was also reflected in the family owners of the motel.
THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY
Marianne and Robert

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy22227906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I organised a group of friends to stay here and we all loved it. The units were very well set up . We really enjoyed being able to get together on the lawn in the garden setting for our sundowners. Found the owners very friendly and helpful not only when we were there but prior to our visit . I contacted them several times for local information and found them always very amenable. Location is perfect to enjoy the Pelorous Sound and conveniently placed and walking distance to cafes bars and shops.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stopped here when SH6 was closed by slips, so this visit was an unexpected one. our 2 bed unit was very clean, with a good selection of utensils and kitchenware. We had a unit overlooking the lawn which was pleasant, however i would not one of the rear units, as their outlook is not as good. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, i will stay here when i vist Havelock in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

I stayed at this motel for 2 nights and really enjoyed my stay. The living area was large and the kitchen provided everything you needed. The bedroom was not very spacious but it was not a problem at all. When you are 2 people, finding space for baggages can sometimes be challenging but we managed.
Karen is a super nice lady really trying to help. One of the reviews has a remark on her husband being rude but he was also very nice to us.
Extensive DVD collection was nice.
Although everything was nice and clean, I could see two down things: the single beds were a little narrow and that made me a bit uncomfortable throughout the night. Would have been great if they were 10cm (4inches) wider. And the second thing is, it'd have been great if Karen could keep some cooking oil in the kitchen in small containers of 50ml or 100ml. The grocery store in Havelock was expensive and it hurt to pay an exorbitant price for something that we could not finish and trashed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Karacalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

After travelling around the south Island experiencing the adrenalin rush of activities what a pleasant way to wind down. The motel was situated in such a beautiful setting yet still at the heart of the local town close to all amenities. The one bedroomed unit was spacious well equipped a real home from home. Loved the furniture and very tasteful decor. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful to make sure our stay was memorable. The heat pump, free DVD'S books, and a glass of Marlborough Sav made the Autumn evenings a cosy end to the day. What a perfect ending to our south island trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyMuppet1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

We were looking for a nice quite place to rest our tired feet after walking the Queen Charlotte track.

Well were do I start.......

When we arrived we were greeted by a rude gentleman who seemed to be more interested in being else ware. We were rushed to our room with no description of the motel facilitates or what the lovely town of Havelock offered.

The noise from the insects were so loud, I would rather have heard traffic noise.

The studio unit we stayed in was so small we barely had room to move.

We did ask where he would recommend we have dinner, his reply was the mussel pot which is located beside the motel. We went down for dinner at 7pm which we thought was a very reasonable time to be eating dinner. To cut a long story short the entire experience was a nightmare they were rude, the mussels were dry, grossly over priced and we were rushed out because they wanted to go home.

On the whole our stay was very unpleasant and I would not recommend to anyone, and it is such a shame because havelock is such a pretty town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racheljames98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this review, February 7, 2010
How terrible disappointing to read this review particularly as all our previous guests appear to have enjoyed their time with us.

I can only apologise if my husband appeared rude and uncommunicative but have to say in his defence that he must have been having an off moment because his real forte as a motelier has, over the last 6 years, been the rap ate he establishes very quickly with guests, a fact I feel is borne out by earlier reviews.

I have checked all our reservations for 2010 to try and establish which unit was used but failed to find a booking in the name of James, so assume that you were staying in a studio unit which, as you can see from the photographs on our web site, are of a modest size which is reflected in the peak season price of $99. However, they are fully equipped, comfortable and very clean.

Unfortunately your visit coincided with the Cicadas hatching season, a common insect in garden and bush areas throughout New Zealand. I must admit whilst some people enjoy the tropical feel their leg rubbing antics create others do find it irritation.

I was a little disappointed that you did not feel you could talk to us whilst here as I would happily have up graded you to a larger one bedroom unit had it been available or even given you a refund should the Cicadas proved to noise.

Obviously I can't comment on your trip to the Mussel Pot but to say that we have always received very good service from their hardworking staff, as have other guests and enjoy a meal there at least once a week.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your obvious disappointment and hope, as you say, that both you and other people will not be put off visiting this quaint, friendly town that epitomises rural New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
0.1 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
14.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Lodge
Blue Moon Lodge
#4 of 8 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Te Rawa Resort
Te Rawa Resort
#5 of 5 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 5 in Havelock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelorus Heights Homestay
Pelorus Heights Homestay
#2 of 5 in Havelock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock Garden Motel

Property: Havelock Garden Motel
Address: 71 Main Road | Marlborough, Havelock 7100, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Havelock’s only motel hideaway, set in a 5 acre hillside enclave, this small family run motel offers traditional hospitality in tranquil surroundings, whilst still within walking distance of all the Havelock amenities. Truly a home from home, where we pride ourselves on providing spotless, well-appointed accommodation at a reasonable price. 12 new or recently renovated units. Its delightful garden ambiance and unique hillside positioning offers a haven away from the daily hustle and bustle of everyday life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing