We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class....you have to be kidding”
Review of Pelorus Mail Boat

Pelorus Mail Boat
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: An all day cruise through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds delivering mail and groceries to remote and secluded properties. The Pelorus Sound is the largest of the Sounds and the Mail Boat is a lifeline to the people living in this boat access wonderland.You will hear a great selection of stories about life in the sounds, its history, and how the mail has been delivered like this since 1918.You will also get to experience the marine and bird life in the area including 5 types of Dolphins, Australasian Gannets, rare Shags, Seals and many more.A full Mussel Farm tour is also included and there is usually an opportunity to see the Mussel Boats operating during harvesting or seeding. We will stop off at a local lodge and passengers are able to buy lunch or bring your own lunch and come with us to a local farm for a tour. You will also be able to enjoy a bush walk or swim if you would like. We are now operating 7 days in summer, which is November to April.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Unless you are over 75 with nothing better to do, go somewhere else. At $128 per person to be bored witless with only a paper cup and the worst tea/coffee ever produced to show for it. Even more disappointing was returning to our accommodation to find those who went to the Queen Charlotte Sound saw heaps of wildlife. We saw a couple of pet pigs on the wharf and seagulls.
Calling this world class is a joke.

Thank JeffGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelorusMailBoat, Owner at Pelorus Mail Boat, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

We appreciate all feedback and comments; it allows us to improve how and what we do. I am unsure what your expectations were of our "working mail run" cruise, but I’m sorry that you did not enjoy the experience. It is a shame that you didn’t get to see as much wildlife as you hoped for but thankfully we have no control of the marine and bird life in the area, they are wild and free as they should be. When we do find the dolphins playing or the seals fishing or the blue penguins bobbing along or the gannets diving in to catch fish or the sting rays cruising the shoreline or the Orca hunting, then we will spend quite a bit of time watching them.
We are, first and foremost, a working mail run delivering essential supplies around a beautiful location and we do our utmost to make that clear in our advertising. We give commentary of the history and of the people living in this remote area, we do a full mussel farm tour which most people find really interesting and we have a growing collection of folders and books about the area and its history.
I personally meander through the boat chatting and I find that almost everybody appreciates the area and how we convey that as we go. They find it an interesting, relaxing and sociable day. Reading through the other postings I find that is also the consensus of the majority. Unfortunately I don’t think I was on the boat for your cruise as I was off to hospital for the arrival of our second child.
Regarding the coffee - it’s Nescafe, Havelock has recently been adding chlorine to its water supply and we have no alternative supply available to us. Also available was “Bell” tea (NZ’s most popular brand), Bell green tea with citrus and Milo along with free cookies.
Jim Baillie, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
in 19 reviews
"blue penguins"
in 13 reviews
"skipper jim"
in 10 reviews
in 13 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 8 reviews
"great commentary"
in 5 reviews
in 5 reviews
"great trip"
in 12 reviews
"kunekune pigs"
in 4 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 4 reviews
"mussel farms"
in 11 reviews
"sunny day"
in 5 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 7 reviews
"bottle nose dolphins"
in 3 reviews
"drop offs"
in 3 reviews
"short bush walk"
in 3 reviews
"great weather"
in 5 reviews

276 - 280 of 357 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Small boat, small group, big experience. Although the weather was very cloudy the trip was great and very interesting. The skipper was telling very much about the people living in the sound, about the history and about the green shell farming. We also saw dolphins swimming right next to the boat. We were glad doing a sound tour in the less visited Pelorus sounds - not crowded, very interesting and relaxed.

Thank Bernd_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

7 hrs trip around the sounds, abit long, especially outbound route is not far apart from the inbound route. Interesting parts were talking with the locals who live way way out, and tour of the farming of the greenlip mussels. It is expensive for the trip, $180. Not recommended if you are on a budget.

Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We decided to do the Tuesday outing as we were going to be going through Marlborough Sound in 2 days time. We found Jim and Penny to be enthusiastic and very informative. We would highly recommend this trip to others.

1  Thank SandyFord16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelorus Mail Boat also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region

Been to Pelorus Mail Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing