We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise found” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of On The Track Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
On The Track Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Loved our stay here, our cabin was perfect for our family of 5. Plenty for the kids to do, great library, clean and comfortable accommodation, great hosts, and amazing food! We just loved it here, did some walking but mostly chilled out in the peace and quiet. Fantastic location, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Take plenty of sandfly cream, they can be a pest in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippybikerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights for a wedding across the bay at the DOC lodge and everything about On the Track Lodge was wonderful.

Fantastic (exceptional!) hospitality. Couldn't recommend it more highly. A very special place.

Thank you to Duncan, Tom and Norma for a wonderful time.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank galenking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

On The Track is a must- do! Not only is the accommodation incredibly comfortable and cosy, but the hosting was superb. The hosts Tom and Duncan were so friendly and accommodating and made our stay something else! We loved the hot tub, hammock, fire pit, extensive gardens, pizza oven (and pizzas!), library and living room, the train, comfy comfy beds- and the rest!
The setting is stunning - a stones throw from the water and right on the track for great walks and hiking. Cant wait to return some day! The sooner the better,

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs offer a fantastic view, and are really cosy. I didn't stay in the train but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

After the very challenging walk the welcome we received was wonderful. Iced water, tea and homemade biscuits, followed by soak in the hot tub to ease the weary bones. Lovely meal provided by Tom and Norma followed by restful sleep in the comfy beds. Would recommend this little gem in the middle of Nydia bay but if the walk is daunting then a trip by boat is ideal. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just spent one night at this amazing place - it wasn't enough and I can't wait to go back! The accomodation, facilities, hosts, setting were all excellent. The hot tub worked wonders after our walk in from Duncan Bay - it took us 4.25hrs at a steady plod, including lunch and stopping to check out the pet eels along the way, but if you want to include a swim at the jetty just before arriving then allow more time :)
We parked at Duncan Bay end and walked out the same way and still really enjoyed the walks - the views are different both ways. Next time we'll walk in from the Havelock end. Go check this place out, you'll love it no matter what your age, cooking facilities and sandfly repellent are also brilliant.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, only the train has an en suite but the showers/ toilets for other rooms are easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilikefejoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Canterbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

8 of us headed off from Havelock to walk 4 hours into Nydia Bay and were treated to a very warm 'family' welcome by Duncan, Tom, Norma and 'grandad'. Given tea and coffee and homemade biscuits we spent the afternoon relaxing, exploring, taking turns in the lovely hot tub and making use of their library.
Beautiful 2 course meal in the evening was complemented with some lovely Marlborough wines, scrumptious breakfast the next day set us up for the 5 hour walk out, armed with one of Norma's lovely packed lunches.
The atmosphere at On the Track Lodge is quite special, your hosts have the rare knack of making you feel very welcome, without being too intrusive for those who are seeking respite from lots of people.
The beds are comfy, everything is spotless, the decor in the chalets and train carriage is tasteful - we could have stayed ages!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

God, what gem. I spent the weekend here with a couple of good friends - a few days away from work and the demands of family/little children. Duncan, Tom, and Norma were the best hosts ever - friendly, attentive, and generous. We stayed in the yurt, which was beautiful, cosy, and affordable. Norma's meals were delicious (with veges fresh from the organic garden). And the hot tub under the stars was divine. There are various accommodation options and some lovely touches like an outdoor fire pit and pizza oven. We boated in with the lovely Del from Havelock Water Taxis (I think that's the name) and walked out, but I'll definitely back (probably with the kids next time) to walk the full trail. On the Track Lodge hits the perfect balance of 'just enough luxury but not too expensive'. Please don't ever go too upmarket! This is great for people doing the walk who also want a bit of time off from cooking and a bit more privacy and sleep than in the DOC huts. Thanks for the blissful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowcosthols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
19.6 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
15.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
12.1 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#6 of 83 in Marlborough Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
9.7 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Track Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Track Lodge

Property: On The Track Lodge
Address: Nydia Bay, Pelorus Sound | Havelock, Havelock 7150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Havelock
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy hiking the stunning Nydia Track (2 day hike). On The Track Lodge is situated halfway on the track in a remote paradise with no road access. With fantastic lodge accommodation, this is a perfect stop over for 1 or more nights ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing