We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, highly recommend”
Review of Blue Moon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Moon Lodge
South Island, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Awesome, highly recommend”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Awesomely cheap place to stay. Dorm rooms are only $20, and when the owner said on the phone that would get us the "cheapest and cleanest bed in New Zealand," he wasn't far off the mark. The dorm beds and comfortable, clean, and there wasn't any squeaking at all when anyone moved around.

The owner, Shane, is one of the coolest blokes I've ever met. Genuine, chilled out, and has made the place a wicked place to stay, giving people on a budget a great place for a good nights sleep and a welcoming atmosphere.

There is also a free hot tub, and although we missed it on the day apparently there are mussels that get cooked up for guests as well.

Absolutely loved it, will be staying here next time we hit Havelock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed in bluemoon with another couple in blue moon for one night and really enjoyed our stay. Shane the owner is very helpful and kind. The rooms are warm and clean, well worth the price we pay. We also love the glowworms shane told us about and the starry night in Havelock. I would recommend travellers going between blenheim/kaikoura and Nelson/abel tasman to spend a night at Havelock, if you have more time, visit the marlborough sounds!

Room Tip: The room no. 8 I stayed in was very comfortable and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Amazing value. We staying in a regular double one night and the double ensuite a second night. Both rooms were clean and bright. We felt like we were in a hotel rather that a backpackers! The hosts were very nice and helpful with arranging charters. The shared bathrooms were clean and modern, the kitchen was always very tidy. Only one complaint - it was a little loud with the owner's flat being above the guest rooms (we could hear them walking around very early) but overall great accomodation. We would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Not sure about the bunk rooms but the doubles were fantastic - simple and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in a double room, it was fine, clean - nothing special but did the job. Shared bathroom was clean with a good shower. Host was very friendly and helpful. Only downer was the proximity to the road which large trucks seemed to use. Overall good value for money and would recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back as the ones at the front bear the brunt of the noisy trucks which pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikinbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We're not backpackers either, but we had a look at a double en-suite room and took it on the spot. Very comfortable and clean, great modern bathroom, excellent rate and Dave the manager's very helpful and friendly. Stay there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Highly recommend this place. Had only intended to stay one night and stayed two. Four of us. All crashing 50's. Double ensuite rooms. Very clean and comfortable night sleep. Fantastic kitchen. Hosts went beyond the call of duty even helping and teaching us how to open our scollops caught fresh that day. Stunning sweeping views from the massive deck. Just feels really good. At just 60 bucks a night. You're mad if you dont stay there. Sensational fishing trips too!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debinbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hostel is one of my favorites on my stay in New Zealand. We stayed here in january 2011. Shane and Asha were so friendly and warm. I've been fishing with Shane for trout. with a nice German guy named Dirk. We didn't catch anything but Shane cooked us some fish of his own. We ate that together with Dirk, Shane , Asha and the two of us. Were do you do that. It was so cosy. By the way, drink a beer. It is great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoNieuwenhuijsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havelock hotels
0.0 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Te Rawa Resort
Te Rawa Resort
#4 of 4 in Havelock
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 4 in Havelock
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rutherford Hostel
Rutherford Hostel
#7 of 8 in Havelock
7 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelorus Heights Homestay
Pelorus Heights Homestay
#2 of 4 in Havelock
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Ligita's Homestay
#5 of 8 in Havelock
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Lodge

Property: Blue Moon Lodge
Address: 48 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Havelock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the past 5 years we have been proud to provide a clean & comfortable environment for our guests.We would love to help you to plan your Havelock experience, We can assist you with Transport to local walk/cycle tracks, & would love to help you decide which of the local activities would suit you best.Pelourus Eco Adventures-Walking-MT biking-fishing-Kayaking-boating or cruises.No trip would be complete without trying our Greenshell Mussels, Shane cooks you a taste of the region every nite at 6pm.We have a fully equiped kitchen and BBQ, or there is a full range of dining options if you prefer to leave the cooking to someone else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Moon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing