We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mussel!”
Review of The Mussel Pot

The Mussel Pot
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Havelock's iconic green lip (green shell) mussel restaurant.Casual and informal.The restaurant specialises in green lip mussels but also has a variety of New Zealand seafood, burgers, pastas, gluten free and vegetarian options all perfectly matched with famous Marlborough wines and New Zealand beer.Great outdoor seating through summer. Closed for winter June to end of August.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We visited on the 15th Jan. The staff welcomed us with a nice smile. We had platter for 2, which include mussels with different cooking method and chowder soup. Chowder soup and fried (battered) mussel were particularly good. Other food was also very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PoppyN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed the platter and chowder. Hope you had a wonderful time here in the South Island'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 333 of 473 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Visited recently with friends staying with us in Picton. What a fabulous place. 3 of our party shared a mussel platter which almost saw them licking the platter and I had the most gorgeous pork, with a chutney that I really wanted the recipe for!!.
We were in the outside area and it was lovely and relaxing. Service was super.
We have a B&B in Picton and recommended you to guests staying last week - they reported the experience was magnifique - we will certainly keep sending our guests and bringing our friends.
Thanks and see you again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet and Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love the outside area too, especially when the grape vines are in leaf. We are pleased you enjoyed it and we do try to ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience with us and I think we mostly get it right on the most part even though food is a very subjective thing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My Husband and I stopped in havelock on our way to portage bay that doesn't have many food options. We missed the lunch seating and waited 2 hours until they re-opened for dinner. We had the mussel platter for 2 and it was great. The green mussels are famous and from this area so we had to try it and the beer battered and grilled sweet chilli ones were the best as well as the mussel chowder. We also had the mussel pot sauvignon blanc which was pretty good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Tthank you for taking time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the platter. It is a great way to try the mussels and with a glass of Marlborough Sauvignon blanc.....even better, Hope you had a great holiday down here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived here after completing the Queen Charlotte track and I had been dreaming of a massive burger for four days. The burger on their menu suggested a home-made beef patty, but the thin, grey-brown piece of matter looked suspiciously like something out of a packet (or a cat's bowl) to me, and tasted like a bad take-away burger. Awful. I also had the mussel chowder to start - an almost tasteless white sauce with a few rubbery mussels in it. I had to add a lot of pepper and salt to make it taste of anything. My wife had the Thai-green-curry steamed mussels, which were huge and tasty, even if the sauce was mediocre and minimal. Stick to the mussels here. The rest looks like poor pub food.

Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your chowder, burger or the sauce on your mussels. We cook our burgers well done. If you wanted it to be pink or red on the inside rather than brown (which is how minced meat looks when it is cooked) perhaps you should have requested this. We did make a point of checking on your table and everyone in your group said everything was great with the meals .....it would have been at this time we could have replaced your burger with a rare or medium burger if you had alerted us. Our chowder is very popular which you can see from previous reviews as are our mussels. The sauce on the mussels is made so it doesn't overpower the flavour of the mussels. Thank you once again for your review and hopefully if you dine with us again you will be sure to ask for your burger rare or medium.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A great little restaurant to try out mussels or enjoy them if you are a fan already.

Definitely recommend the mussel platter, it comes with an entire selection and chowder thrown in as well.

The service was great.

Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Glad you liked the platter - it is a great way to try all the different preparation of mussels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mussel Pot also viewed

Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 

Been to The Mussel Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing