We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mussels”
Review of The Mussel Pot

The Mussel Pot
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Havelock's iconic green lip (green shell) mussel restaurant.Casual and informal.The restaurant specialises in green lip mussels but also has a variety of New Zealand seafood, burgers, pastas, gluten free and vegetarian options all perfectly matched with famous Marlborough wines and New Zealand beer.Great outdoor seating through summer. Closed for winter June to end of August.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Mussels”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My Husband and I stopped in havelock on our way to portage bay that doesn't have many food options. We missed the lunch seating and waited 2 hours until they re-opened for dinner. We had the mussel platter for 2 and it was great. The green mussels are famous and from this area so we had to try it and the beer battered and grilled sweet chilli ones were the best as well as the mussel chowder. We also had the mussel pot sauvignon blanc which was pretty good as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Tthank you for taking time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the platter. It is a great way to try the mussels and with a glass of Marlborough Sauvignon blanc.....even better, Hope you had a great holiday down here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    128
    22
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here after completing the Queen Charlotte track and I had been dreaming of a massive burger for four days. The burger on their menu suggested a home-made beef patty, but the thin, grey-brown piece of matter looked suspiciously like something out of a packet (or a cat's bowl) to me, and tasted like a bad take-away burger. Awful. I also had the mussel chowder to start - an almost tasteless white sauce with a few rubbery mussels in it. I had to add a lot of pepper and salt to make it taste of anything. My wife had the Thai-green-curry steamed mussels, which were huge and tasty, even if the sauce was mediocre and minimal. Stick to the mussels here. The rest looks like poor pub food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your chowder, burger or the sauce on your mussels. We cook our burgers well done. If you wanted it to be pink or red on the inside rather than brown (which is how minced meat looks when it is cooked) perhaps you should have requested this. We did make a point of checking on your table and everyone in your group said everything was great with the meals .....it would have been at this time we could have replaced your burger with a rare or medium burger if you had alerted us. Our chowder is very popular which you can see from previous reviews as are our mussels. The sauce on the mussels is made so it doesn't overpower the flavour of the mussels. Thank you once again for your review and hopefully if you dine with us again you will be sure to ask for your burger rare or medium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Show me your mussels”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A great little restaurant to try out mussels or enjoy them if you are a fan already.

Definitely recommend the mussel platter, it comes with an entire selection and chowder thrown in as well.

The service was great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Glad you liked the platter - it is a great way to try all the different preparation of mussels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best mussels ever!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was THE place that we've been looking forward to dine at during the tour. And The Mussel Pot did not disappoint at all. We had mussel platter which allowed us to try the various preparation. We've never had mussels this big and tasty. Service was very good and friendly. Tracy offered sandfly repellant without being asked. A genial young waiter introduced us to L+P (a type of fizzy drink only available in NZ) and recommended Banoffee pie for dessert. Everything tasted so yummy we dropped in again to try their breakfast menu. We enjoyed the eggs benedict, french toasts, and "muscle" breakfast. During our tour of the South Island we had mussels at a few other restaurants, but none was as good as here. I miss this place a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpmugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed it here and hope you had a great time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Called in on way to Nelson. Enjoyable lunch, mussel chowder washed down with good craft beer. Friendly service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swanseaexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, Manager at The Mussel Pot, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the chowder and hope you have a great time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mussel Pot also viewed

Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to The Mussel Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing