We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed 2x nights at end of our Tasmas/Malborough holiday. Staff very helpful and friendly. Spa-bath unit was spacious and comfortable. Within walking distance to all facilities in Havelock. Car parking area great. Thanks.

Room Tip: Keep an eye out for GrabOne deals. Awesome value for money on a 2 night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, family and pet friendly. Love the location, less than an hour's drive from Picton, Blenheim and Nelson.
The lovely pool complex was the highlight for our children and for us the hot tub brought a much welcoming relaxation.
Overal this motel is a great value for money.
One thing is for sure... "We will be back ;)"
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

So friendly and accommodating. Peaceful with wonderful restaurants withing walking distance. They also arranged a wine tour of the Marborough Wine district which was absolutely fantastic. Would return in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Depending on your requirements they have it all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavelockMotel, Owner at Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hello Joan, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. We all hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Comfortable rooms, many (like ours) with excellent views over the marina and Sound. Several restaurants within a few minutes walk. Pleasant swimming pool and hot tub. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked a standard studio unit specifying we needed wheelchair access but the first unit we were offered had a couple of steps required to access it so we asked to be switched to the next door unit which only had one low step which was quickly achieved.

Room was comfortable and fairly cheap compared to others in NZ. We ate at the nearby pub.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Clean well appointed homes, excellent friendly staff and a great view. Amazingly the hot and cold water mixed prior to exiting the taps and for the first time in a long time, one of the light switches had a 'dimmer'. I had a pleasant stay in Havelock and the motel was a large part of this wonderful experience. Thanks once again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavelockMotel, Owner at Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi Jo, We are glad you had such a great time with us, I hope you got to enjoy the heated pool and hot tub as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Zealand maybe with your wife as well. All the best on the rest of your travels around this beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This motel and motor lodge is the best in the south. The staff are efficient and very friendly the rooms have always been spotless and now they have this fantastic new pool complex. Heated large swimming pool, relaxation pool and cedar hot tub! I spent my rare down time beside the pool enjoying my surroundings.

It is very responsible priced and they now offer a wide range of packages so you can enjoy the beautiful area as well.

Highly recommended..

Room Tip: The new units have great marina views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavelockMotel, Owner at Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi Maria
We are really glad you had such an enjoyable time with us at The Havelock Motels and Motor Lodge. The New Pool is a great place to unwind and relax. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Havelock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
14.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
18.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
12.6 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Te Rawa
The Lodge at Te Rawa
#1 of 1 in Te Rawa
20 reviews
12.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
2.6 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 3 in Havelock
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge

Address: 50 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand (Formerly Gateway To The Sounds Havelock Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Price Range: $91 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main road, between Blenheim and Nelson, with the town's restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We offer family friendly accommodation with a variety of room options, from studios to family units to luxury spa rooms. We have recently opened a heated mineral pool and kids pool also a cedar hot tub. Wifi broadband is available free of charge. Our newest rooms have stunning marina views and all unit have 50 plus sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing