We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but avoid the coach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel l'Alpazur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel l'Alpazur
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel but avoid the coach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you can get to this hotel without the horror journey of Snowcoach, then this hotel is a superb choice. The hotel is run professionally by very experienced couple, Joey and Peter. Whilst not at the luxury end of the market, the hotel is spotlessly clean, well organised, and extremely warm and friendly.
Riverside rooms overlook the slopes and main chair lifts - ask for a room with a bath to ease aching legs before taking advantage of Happy Hour in the well stocked bar. The food is of a high standard and very plentiful with an extensive range of cold or hot breakfast, and a four course evening meal with wine that gets replaced without asking. Afternoon tea and cakes are dangerously good too.
All the staff are knowledgeable and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. Just try to avoid the shambolic journey with the ever feckless Snowcoach!

Room Tip: Ask for riverside with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
31
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have traveled with Snowcoach several times before but the hotel management this time were the best by far. Peter and his wife inspired the whole team at the hotel to give a very friendly welcome and the hotel ran like clockwork. This is a budget holiday but if you allow for the odd thing not working quite how you would you expect, the whole holiday experience was well delivered and very well organized. The food was plentiful and wholesome and the restaurant setting is very informal which allows you to share skiing experience's with the other guests.

The skiing in Val Cenis is very good and the slopes very much quieter than in the large resorts. We went at Easter and there were virtually no queues at the lifts.

Traveling by coach gives you extra time on holiday and on the slopes but the travel arrangements do tend to be chaotic with Snowcoach and the drivers are well meaning but fail to deliver much information

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony which gives views over the river and onto the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a warm and friendly Snowcoach hotel, which I hope to visit again. Managers Peter and Joey are very attentive to guests needs, and are keen skiers themselves. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the food is excellent (hats off to chef Craig). I also enjoyed the very hot sauna after a day's skiing and on one occasion the outside hot tub - it broke down mid-week. After dinner entertainment is also provided - quiz; games, etc. - and the staff and some guests don fancy dress for the final evening dinner.

As for the skiing, don't be fooled by the apparently smallish piste area. The skiing on piste is very varied from high mountain runs (down from 2800m) to in the trees trails, and the north facing slopes hold the snow very well. The bonus is the large amount of off piste terrain available within the piste area, especially after a good fall of new snow. There is also Bonneval an easy bus ride away with the top lift reaching just over 3000m.Easily enough variety for a week's stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my first ski holiday to Val Cenis.
If you don't take the Snowcoach from the UK, it is a three hour mini bus transfer from Geneva, and although I have skied in many other resorts, found this little French village with its more than adequate ski areas, to be a very pleasurable experience.
On arrival I was given a lovely, bright warm room over looking the river and mountains at the back of the hotel.
The day started with a good array of breakfast items on offer, a fantastic ski hire service situated at the hotel, so no walking miles in your ski boots, and the nearest chair lift minutes away. It is not surprising that The Alpazur has so many returning customers.
Afternoon tea at 4.30 was always a good selection of cakes and biscuits, followed a couple of hours later by an amazing four course dinner with free wine and coffee.

What really makes this hotel SO special is the wonderful welcome by all the staff.
Many thanks to Peter, Joey, Craig and the rest of the team who worked so hard to make this a fantastic week with a lot of laughs along the way...

Room Tip: South facing, room 24 with a balcony, overlooking the river and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our family of six, 2 adults and 4 children, enjoyed our first family ski trip with Snowcoach in Val Cenis during the February half-term in 2013. We were blessed with great snow conditions, bright blue skies and a lovelly group of hotel guests.

The hotel is perfectly situated at the base of the slopes and close to the main high speed chair lift, which was really important for a mixed ability group. We were fortunate enough to be based in the hotel apartment, with bags of space and views to die for.

The welcome, food and customer service were of the highest standards for a club hotel provision. The management and staff were friendly, professional and great fun in equal measure and could not have done more to ensure we had a brilliant holiday. They were an absolute credit to the company in all areas.

We opted to travel by coach despite a few negative reviews seen on-line. The coach was new, well-equippped, comfortable(ish) and well driven by the experienced co-drivers. The journey was probably as good as any long-distance coach trip could be and certainly much better than expected. Most importantly, for a family of 6 travelling at half-term, it was astonishingly good value for money.

The coach journey also meant that we enjoyed 2 full days extra skiing on both Saturdays, which as chageover days, meant the slopes were virtually deserted - Fabulous!

A few minor niggles with a lack of hot water and some limited ski equipment availability, both caused by half-term high use and changeover day, however they were quickly resolved and soon forgotten.

Away from the Alpazur, the only real frustration was with ESF. Advertised as English-speaking ski instructors, however, whilst able to speak English, they choose just to speak French! Nevertheless, the kids got the message and benefitted from the lessons.

Val Cenis, Alpazur and Snowcoach were a perfect combination for a family ski trip and we certainly hope to return next year.

A big thank you to Peter, Joey and the team at Alpazur and Snowcoach, you were the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalfont6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I visited Hotel Alpazur as part of a Snowcoach holiday. There were ski lifts behind the hotel and you could almost ski to the front door. The staff where very friendly. I was looked after when I damaged my knee and there was more than enough food, including meals for those with special diets. We had a great tiime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the stream and the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bodge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was my nineth visit to the Alpazur so I thought it was time I wrote a review.

The journey in the comfortable new yellow coaches wasn't too bad apart from the DVD on the way out. I think the showing of a video isn't now necessary as most people have their own entertainment devices. The films chosen never suit everyone so why not ditch them - I've seen 'Jonny Engish' too many times on Snowcoach transport! It would be nice to be able to doze off on the coach after the filling meal with wine on the ferry. Thankfully on the return journey a video wasn't shown and no one complained.

It's all good from now on. Excellent efficient welcome on arrival with breakfast, rooms and lift passes ready. I had my own skis and boots but those who hired from the hotel were very quickly and efficiently kitted out. The hotel was completely full but the staff coped excellently with all the demands put on them. The only thing that couldn't cope was the free WiFi connection - with a large proportion of the guests trying to access the internet at once it struggled at times. The twin rooms are of average size and are warm and clean with good decor. As to be expected in ski hotels, some clients aren't too careful with their bags and boots so furniture and fittings can get knocked about, but the maintenance team keeps on top of these issues and everything in my warm room functioned perfectly.

I was on my own and could have used the Ski Explorer hosting service but everyone on the coach was very friendly and I was quickly taken under the wing of a family party of six and they looked after me excellently throughout the holiday. I have been to the Alpazur before as a single and there has never any problem meeting up with people to ski with. The French Government's clamp down on ski hosting services is annoying but even if Snowcoach aren't able to provide the service in the future, the clients at the Alpazur are always friendly and you can be assured that you will be able to find someone to ski with. The big shared tables at dinner make 'icebreaking' very easy to do. The three comfortable lounge areas are very pleasant expecially the main bar which has views towards the ski slopes.

With the coaches arriving early Saturday morning and leaving at 7pm the following Saturday, eight days skiing are available at a very reasonable price. The pistes all over the resort were in excellent condition and every lift was working with only one queue, this being at the only remaining 2 man chairlift Arcellins II, which is due to be replaced this summer..

Many thanks to Peter and Jo who manage the hotel with the rest of their excellent staff, for a great holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlooking the river have excellent views of the ski slopes and in March you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erkle107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Charles Val Cenis
Hotel Saint Charles Val Cenis
#1 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Club Vacanciel Val Cenis
Hotel Club Vacanciel Val Cenis
#3 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Alpages de Val Cenis
Les Alpages de Val Cenis
#2 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile des Neiges
Hotel l'Etoile des Neiges
#1 of 1 in Lanslevillard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Moulin de Marie
Hotel Le Moulin de Marie
#7 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Val Cenis
Hotel Club mmv Val Cenis
#5 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Alpazur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Alpazur

Property: Hotel l'Alpazur
Address: 106 Rue du Mont Cenis, 73480 Lanslebourg Mont Cenis, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Alpazur Lanslebourg Mont Cenis, France - Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing