We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
178
13
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenshort drivesmall scalelocal restaurantswonderful stayhostessroadsbeacheshoneyguestsmapfarmhouseragusamiddlehostscountrysideprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 191 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed a week at La Muraglia through travel agent 'Eliza was here'. We loved the place and had a wonderful time.

In a nutshell:
- Small-scale - only 5 or 6 rooms
- Beautiful pool
- New(ish) rooms; daily cleaned
- Amazing breakfast - the best we've ever had in a place
- The family is great; we enjoyed the interaction with them

A note about the location:
Muraglia is located in the middle of some interesting spots, but you need to drive to everything. Keep in mind that in Sicily a) roads are of less quality than we are used to in northern Europe , b) lights alongside the road are very rare, c) Signage is very poor. Muraglia is located approx. the following distances from:
- Catania: 2.5 hours
- Syracuse: 3 hours ('touristic' route)
- Nearest beach (Punta Secca): 30 min
- Regusa center (nearest 'big' town): 45 min
- Modica center: 45 min
- Supermarket: 10 min

Don't over think it; just do it!

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2014

La muraglia is a great place to relax and enjoy the sicilian life. Lots of things to see in the vicinity and some great places to eat in the neighbourhood. Very strong points are Ghisella's hospitality (not too much, not too little) and immaculate eye for detail- everything you can think of to enjoy your stay is taken care of. Rooms are very clean and comfortable (change of towels as often as you like), breakfast is really nice with a personal touch, large pool is suited for all, and especially the fully outfitted kitchen outside is very handy for when when you dont want to go out to a restaurant but want to cook / prepare a meal yourself.
.. and the pizza night is great fun.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JSBT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The rooms were very tidy, well organized and clean. The breakfast buffet was more than you can imagine. Eggs, juices, yoghurts, coffee, tea, bread, special cheeses, honey from the grand-mother. Gisella gave us the tip and made the reservation to visit the buffel mozzarella farm close by. That was very nice for the children to see and we had dinner there. Also we got a good suggestion to go to a nice beach. Only half an hour drive there are very nice old villages to visit. The beach is only 15 minutes drive. The swimming-pool was the nicest/cleanest one we saw on our Italy tour. There are terrific sun beds to relax. It was super we could use the beautiful outdoor kitchen. We cooked twice there. Also there was a pizza -evening. All the guests together on a long table. That was great. Gisella made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renate-marcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a perfect B&B place to stay. Gisella and her family had been taking good care of us during our 8 nights of stay. She has guided us very well. The recommendations of excellent restaurants, the lovely beaches and the places to visit. It was perfect! Tip: Instead of planning this trip trough Eliza, we have planned our trip just by ourself and we saved a lot of money.You just contact La Muraglia directly and you will have an amazing holiday. If you are there: don't miss the Buffalo restaurant! It is delicious! We recommend this place to everyone! Thank you Gisella for this wonderful holiday!

Greetings, Miklós and Yolanda

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miklos-Yolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

What a fabulous four days we just spend in La Muraglia. This little gem was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there previously, and we were not disappointed. Gisella, Emanuele and their son Davide made us feel so welcome in this quiet, tranquil and rural setting. We stayed in one of the wooden cottages which overlooked the swimming pool, which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The attention to detail around the breakfast area and courtyard was amazing and decorated in traditional Sicilian style, all lending to a fabulous atmosphere.
We particularly looked forward every morning to Gisella's beautiful breakfast which allowed us to sample much of the local cuisine and to chat to her about our plans for the day.
Lying by the pool, listening to the birds, surrounded by beautiful, unspoilt countryside was the nearest thing to Heaven. We highly recommend La Muraglia and will definitely return !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews