We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mar&Sol(Santa Croce Camerina)
$140
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunedorate(Punta Secca)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Via del Mare(Punta Secca)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B La Mansarda(Punta Secca)
$91
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Casa di Vera(Punta Secca)(Great Value!)
$87
$79
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Carrubbo(Santa Croce Camerina)(Great Value!)
$52
Priceline
View Deal
Alimede Ecodimora(Santa Croce Camerina)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Casina Grotta di Ferro(Santa Croce Camerina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Varo a Mare(Punta Braccetto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
174
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenshort drivesmall scalelocal restaurantswonderful stayhostessroadsbeacheshoneyguestsmapfarmhouseragusamiddlehostscountrysideprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 186 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have spent a week at La Muraglia with our 3 months old baby. From the very beginning we felt very welcomed by Gisella & Emmanuele, who are extremely nice hosts, managing to make our stay very pleasant.
The rooms are very nicely designed, comfortable and clean. The outside area is also very carefully designed, and in combination with the outdoor kitchen offers a perfect setting and facilities for preparing a lunch or dinner. A few minutes away from La Muraglia there is a supermarket where you can find freshly cooked food which you can take away and eat it on the terrace, in many places available at La Muraglia, or alternatively to cook dinner yourself (the kitchen is fully equipped).
For lunch or dinner out, Gisella is happy to offer very good recommendations, and where is the case, to make a reservation for you.
The breakfast is carefully prepared by Gisella, offering a large selection of local fresh products, seasonal fruits and every day something special (her lemon cake is delicious!).
The pool area is also very beautiful, located in a very nice setting and the pool itself is great. If you prefer the beach, there are many alternatives around: Punta Secca and Punta Bracetto were our favourites.
And of course, the Pizza Night!:) It reminded me of the scenes from the Italian movies, with the big family around the dinner table, somewhere in the garden! Great atmosphere, very tasty pizza and a lot of good fun! It is a perfect opportunity to meet the other guests of La Muraglia and socialize.
All in all, excellent service, facilities, location and the most important, great people! We left La Muraglia with the thought of going back soon again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela_1210_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMuraglia, Proprietario at La Muraglia, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Wow Daniela!!!
You wrote a lot and all very positive and helpful, we are without word....
It was a pleasure to met you and your family, your baby is fantastic, always smile and happy!!!
We miss you, one week finish so fast!!!
All the best and hope to see you soon, maybe in Amsterdam.
Gisella ed Emanuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just spent a perfect week here. Really peaceful and relaxing. Our room was big, cool and had a fully stocked fridge! Breakfast was stunning, fresh figs and blackberries from the garden, really fresh ricotta, lovely pastries and coffee. Gisella and Emmanuele are great hosts and put on a pizza night for all the guests during our stay. Pizzas were amazing.
Gisella gave us a map of the area and gave us tips on what to do and see and eat.
La Muraglia is in a very rural position, (if coming from Palermo, drive via Catania, it's a much nicer drive than through the centre, and probably only 10 minutes more) it is about 10 minutes to the nearest beach, we loved Punta Braccetta, there's lots of choice.
There are plenty of Restaurants a short drive away be prepared to eat late though, 9pm is early!
Conad supermarket is close and does great meals, if you just fancy spending the evening in.
We spent the mornings visiting towns of Scicli, Ragusa, and Modica, beautiful Baroque towns. Osteria Del Ponte in Scicli great pizzas and anti pasta, ate ice creams and granites everywhere, all amazing.
An afternoon on the beach or lounging by the gorgeous pool, both perfect. Sadly we only stayed a week, could easily have stayed much longer. Travelled with our 5 year old son who was made at home wherever we went, he did not want to leave.
Brilliant holiday for families, singles, couples, friends, so much to do, see and eat, but also great to do nothing.
Thank you for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolee2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

La Muraglia is a nice farm at a small country road, at short distance from nice beaches and historic towns, such as Ragusa-Ibla and Noto.
The old castle Donnafugata is very close by and is very interesting.
The room was very clean, well equipped, with drinks in the fridge and Sicilian wine available.
In the morning the birds from nearby trees were sending us a natural wake-up call.
The pool area is great and makes you hesitate whether you should go to the beach after all.
And then Gisella: she is so kind. Don't miss the weekly pizza party, made in the oven by Emmanuele, her husband.
You will find some very good (and cheap) dinner options in athmospheric local restaurants nearby.
Negative? If I have to name one; we were surprised that all 5 other rooms were booked by a Dutch travel agency; so we heard "Goedemorgen" at breakfast , while expecting "Buon giorno" .
NB Nice people, don't get me wrong !

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin near the pool, with a private terrace. That seems to be a good option.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gert_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you want to feel the Sicilian South East spirit in many senses, this is the right place.
Gisella and her husband built a really special place to relax and enjoy holidays in a quiet and rural way.
They are more than kind. They offer an incredible place, with nice landscape. They are in the middle of nowhere (so is basic to have car to go and move around the zone of them), so the only thing that you are going to listen are the birds that they have in the "farm" and they own dogs. And sometimes the chickens they have there also.
They have "two parts" in the complex. One, is the "old building", that is the original part, where they have some rooms and where is the kitchen. They offer you this place to cook and make your food if you want. I strongly recommend you to do that. Buy something in the supermarket like parma ham (prosciutto di parma), mozzarella (where they are going to recommend to buy it) and tomatoes and eat in this place. The mozarella di bufala that they recommend is going to be a new experience in your life, you are going to understand what is really fresh!
Also, in this part, is a kind of gallery where you can enjoy the breakfast outside in the mornings. Incredible nice!
The other side is with two rooms, which are new. These are nearest to the swimming pool (that is awesome as the sunbeds they have there too!).
As many of the other reviews I recommend really strongly the "pizza night". They do the pizza´s in the wood oven and are incredible nice (and also they use products that they have in their farm!) And the "lemoncello" of Gisela... heaven!!! I´ve never tried something soooo incredible good!!!
Gisella is going to give some information of the "neighborhood". You need to follow it, these are incredible good also!
And the breakfast... So complete... Salty, sweeties, juices, Italian coffee, yogurts, cereal, cakes. Every day something different to show different things.
We enjoyed this place a lot! Good combination between price, service and place.
Go!

Room Tip: In my case, I would recommend to stay in the old part, it´s more real. The room that is on the side of the "street" can be a little bit noisier, but not really so much, only when people that is going to be in La Muraglia arrive and that can be during the night because of the flights into Catania. The rooms in the "new side" are with a lot of nice birds. If you want to feel the nature, this is perfect. Definitely you are going to wake up with them with the sunrise. But if it is not possible, both types of rooms are really nice. Clean, with nice bathrooms (no bath in any).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andykdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Ideal for those seeking a holiday away from the all too touristy resorts. Your fellow guests are there looking for peace and quiet too.
My husband (English) and I (Italian) just spent two fantastic, relaxing and enriching weeks at La Muraglia. I found it by shear luck on the internet and fell in love with it at first sight. We were looking to return to Sicily, this time to the South-East corner and combine sightseeing with a relaxing time beside the pool. A beautifully converted typical Sicilian farmhouse (8 bedrooms), very tastefully furnished and impeccably clean, La Muraglia offers all this and more. It is situated in the countryside near Marina di Ragusa with its sand beaches and excellent fish restaurants and a short drive from the spectacular Baroque towns of Modica, Ragusa Ibla, Scicli and Noto. The only noise at la Muraglia are bird's tweeting in the many nests they have built in the carrubo trees. Best of all are Gisella and Emanuele's warm welcome and superb hospitality. They are a truly wonderful Sicilian family. They are helpful, "simpatici" and fun to be with. Once a week they offer their guests the opportunity to join in a Ragusan pizza-night. They cook the pizza in an outdoor wood fired oven in front of you. Delicious. Emanuele is a very gifted holistic masseur and we enjoyed many absolutely fantastic relaxing massages, hence my 5star to the fitness center (bravo Emanuele)!! The pool is of a very good size and very well mantained. If you dont swim, you can sit and watch the "robottino" (small robot) keeping the pool clean for you! Mesmerizing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnricaMottley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews