We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Agriturismo nearby Marina de Ragusa”
Review of La Muraglia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Muraglia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you want to feel the Sicilian South East spirit in many senses, this is the right place.
Gisella and her husband built a really special place to relax and enjoy holidays in a quiet and rural way.
They are more than kind. They offer an incredible place, with nice landscape. They are in the middle of nowhere (so is basic to have car to go and move around the zone of them), so the only thing that you are going to listen are the birds that they have in the "farm" and they own dogs. And sometimes the chickens they have there also.
They have "two parts" in the complex. One, is the "old building", that is the original part, where they have some rooms and where is the kitchen. They offer you this place to cook and make your food if you want. I strongly recommend you to do that. Buy something in the supermarket like parma ham (prosciutto di parma), mozzarella (where they are going to recommend to buy it) and tomatoes and eat in this place. The mozarella di bufala that they recommend is going to be a new experience in your life, you are going to understand what is really fresh!
Also, in this part, is a kind of gallery where you can enjoy the breakfast outside in the mornings. Incredible nice!
The other side is with two rooms, which are new. These are nearest to the swimming pool (that is awesome as the sunbeds they have there too!).
As many of the other reviews I recommend really strongly the "pizza night". They do the pizza´s in the wood oven and are incredible nice (and also they use products that they have in their farm!) And the "lemoncello" of Gisela... heaven!!! I´ve never tried something soooo incredible good!!!
Gisella is going to give some information of the "neighborhood". You need to follow it, these are incredible good also!
And the breakfast... So complete... Salty, sweeties, juices, Italian coffee, yogurts, cereal, cakes. Every day something different to show different things.
We enjoyed this place a lot! Good combination between price, service and place.
Go!

Room Tip: In my case, I would recommend to stay in the old part, it´s more real. The room that is on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andykdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Ideal for those seeking a holiday away from the all too touristy resorts. Your fellow guests are there looking for peace and quiet too.
My husband (English) and I (Italian) just spent two fantastic, relaxing and enriching weeks at La Muraglia. I found it by shear luck on the internet and fell in love with it at first sight. We were looking to return to Sicily, this time to the South-East corner and combine sightseeing with a relaxing time beside the pool. A beautifully converted typical Sicilian farmhouse (8 bedrooms), very tastefully furnished and impeccably clean, La Muraglia offers all this and more. It is situated in the countryside near Marina di Ragusa with its sand beaches and excellent fish restaurants and a short drive from the spectacular Baroque towns of Modica, Ragusa Ibla, Scicli and Noto. The only noise at la Muraglia are bird's tweeting in the many nests they have built in the carrubo trees. Best of all are Gisella and Emanuele's warm welcome and superb hospitality. They are a truly wonderful Sicilian family. They are helpful, "simpatici" and fun to be with. Once a week they offer their guests the opportunity to join in a Ragusan pizza-night. They cook the pizza in an outdoor wood fired oven in front of you. Delicious. Emanuele is a very gifted holistic masseur and we enjoyed many absolutely fantastic relaxing massages, hence my 5star to the fitness center (bravo Emanuele)!! The pool is of a very good size and very well mantained. If you dont swim, you can sit and watch the "robottino" (small robot) keeping the pool clean for you! Mesmerizing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnricaMottley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is just great, words are not enough. Gisella and her husband Emanuele built a nice farmhouse-like B&B, and welcome you with open arms. Everything you ask can be arranged, they are more than helpful. The rooms or little apartments are well-furnished, with style and clean. You do need a car around here, because highlights of Sicily are spread around, so a car comes in handy anyway. Breakfast is splendid and abundant, surroundings are great and the whole setting is just a home-away-from-home. Go there and stay for at least a week, so you can unwind, take in some sun, and see the splendid culture Sicily has to offer. And join in in Gisella's pizza-night, home made pizza from a wood-oven and get to know your fellow angels in heaven. Enjoy!!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hoeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After spending 7 days in such a beautiful and serene place, I found it very hard to go back to the every day to day routine. Breakfast was superb every morning and our host was always very welcoming. Rooms were exceptionally clean, spacious and cosy. The surrounding area was very tranquil and beautiful. We spent most of our afternoon/evenings by the pool relaxing and enjoying the wonderful scenery.
Gisella and her family were always around to help and suggest good places to go to. The pizza night was delicious and we really enjoyed watching them cook the pizza.

I would definitely recommend La Muraglia to anyone who needs some time away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: All very beautiful and different in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My family and I spent 7 days at La Muraglia and it was the best holiday ever.
The room was big and beautiful, with, air conditioning, Sat TV, internet and an excellent bathroom.
The pizza night organised by the host was fantastic.
I highly reccomend it.

Room Tip: The wooden cottages are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifsterv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

As a Flemish family, we spent three weeks in sicily and stayed one full week at La Muraglia. Rooms are very well maintained, spacious and cleaned every day (what a treat!) and daily breakfast is plenty! Gisella is an excellent host, fluent in English, and always available for any assistance. The weekly pizza event, where her husband Emmanuel, is making pizza's in the geniune woodoven is a nice occassion to gather all the guest on one long table and get acquainted with them. The area is interesting enough to spent one week. All the barok cities nearby like Ragusa, Modica and Noto are worth a visit. One day at the beach, we went to Marina di Ragusa, is also fun. So a place to be recommended. A nice location, plenty of things nearby and a wonderfull swimming pool very well maintained and clean.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A wonderful, relaxing stay in rural Sicily. Lovely towns in the surrounding area for a long lunch and then to the nearby beach or the pool to cool off. The owners at La Muraglia are very helpful and generally make for a delightful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTavLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Croce Camerina
7.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
670 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mangiabove Guest House
Mangiabove Guest House
#1 of 21 in Marina di Ragusa
96 reviews
14.7 mi away
Agriturismo Case Brizza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Athena Resort
Athena Resort
#1 of 6 in Santa Croce Camerina
1,363 reviews
15.0 mi away
Agriturismo Il Granaio
Agriturismo Il Granaio
#1 of 50 in Modica
233 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Canestanco
Agriturismo Canestanco
#3 of 25 in Santa Croce Camerina
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Muraglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Muraglia

Address: C.da Muraglia, 97017, Santa Croce Camerina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Santa Croce Camerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Croce Camerina
Price Range: $41 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Muraglia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Muraglia rises from the typical countryside of Ragusa, amongst ancient olives, almonds and leafy carob trees and has a splendid view of the Mediterranean Sea; just a few kilometers from this oasis of serenity, you can reach the most beautiful and charming baroque cities of Val di Noto - UNESCO World Heritage Site (Ragusa Ibla, Modica, Scicli, Noto). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Muraglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Muraglia Sicily/Santa Croce Camerina, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing