We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PERFECT PLACE ON EARTH !!!!”
Review of Lalapanzi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lalapanzi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If we could ever choose a place where we would want to live, this would definitely be Lalapanzi !
A perfect location, wonderful people, excellent facilities, beauty all around you!!!
Thank you Marie and Ian for creating Paradise!!!
Lalapanzi we miss you a lot! We can't wait to see you again!
Alisa&Elena

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Lalapanzi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 210 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a remarkable place - and in every sense positive.
First, the location. if you only have a short time to spend in SA it is an ideal location. You can get the feel of the 'real' Africa here and yet still be within easy striking distance of Cape Town. From Lalapanzi you have fast and easy access to the beaches and the winelands, whereas if you stay in the city you will have city traffic to contend with (and waste time) if you want to explore some of the other regional attractions. Lalapanzi, situated in the hills overlooking False Bay could not be better situated and it offers real peace and quite in a stunningly attractive environment, where you can either go on trips to other places or just stay 'at home' and walk or whatever through the vineyards and fynbos.
The hotel itself is *first class*. Clean and fresh accommodation and a very relaxed and informal atmosphere. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main building. It had stunning views over the bay and had private access on one side and a private patio area at the other side (again overlooking the bay).
Breakfast was excellent: a choice of continental items and cooked items to order. Bliss to eat this outside on the veranda.
Evening meals, which can be booked in advance, were superb. Rose, who took excellent care of us for evening meals, is a skillful cook. It was no problem to request vegetarian meals and one evening she even made me, on request, my favorite veggie meal. Absolutely faultless service.
The whole team at Lalapanzi work hard to ensure high standards and the service is personal, though unobtrusive. No hesitations in recommending Lalapanzi. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We rented a lodge for 5 days and it was everything we hoped for. The welcome was friendly and the staff so accommodating. A top venue for walks, relaxation and time out watching perfect views. We watched owls at night and walked amongst fauna and flora. Aunty Rose was a joy and we had such a lovely, fun filled dinner at the restaurant. We would recommend this wonderful place to everyone. Thank you for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh_Ann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Beautiful location and superb views. Very comfortable accommodation - ideal for those wishing to relax and get away from it all, but also to be within easy striking distance of places of interest in the Cape Town/Somerset West/Stellenbosch area.
Our thanks to the whole staff for making us feel at home and of course to Rose for her superb cooking - those Michelin star chefs could learn a thing or two from her simple but exquisitely presented food - and the flavor - wow!!
We would definitely come back and recommend this place to all!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Beautiful location, very nice and comfortable room and the perfect place to relax and also to explore the surrounding area. Thanks to the whole staff for the ideas what to do and where to go and also thanks to Rose for the good cooking. We enjoyed the Lalapanzi Lodge so much that we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voile_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is the most beautiful hotel, in the most gorgeous setting you can imagine. There can't be many places where you have forest, mountain, sea view all in one place. The rooms were gorgeous - very comfortable indeed, and of course surrounded by trees while also looking over the bay. Every time we drove back up to the lodge, we found the drive exhilarating, going higher and higher, round those bends.
Looking back, we think it would have suited us more to have self-catering facilities, but Rose was brilliant in supplying us with plates, cutlery, and milk, bless her.
Even though at first glance it seems a little out of the way, we found it perfectly placed to visit Cape Town, beautiful parts of the southern coast, the gorgeous roads through the wine region, and also driving through the small township of Sir Lowry's pass should not be missed - we should be reminded how a lot of African people are living their lives, and it's fantastic that the owners support several local resources. And thank you to owners and staff for telling us about local places and events, which we enjoyed hugely. Noticed that one wine on the wine list in a small village pub near my home in the UK, was from the Waterkloof Estate! Yay!!!!
We had been travelling huge distances across South Africa during our months' trip, and it was perfect to base ourselves for the final few days in this beautiful place and explore yet more wonderful places round about.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Lalapanzi tick all the boxes for service, friendliness, hospitality, cleanliness, environmental awareness, etc. But what makes this lodge special is the little piece of paradise you get along with your room rate. Great walks in nature in a safe and beautiful safe and private wine estate with magnificent mountain and sea views, lakes, horses, vineyards, etc. The fresh aroma of the pine forest, beautiful fauna and flora (fynbos), well maintained roads and completely noise free! About 10 minutes drive to the main road that takes you to many scenic places, Cape Town, the Overberg, Strand, etc. The view from one's room extends to the whole of False Bay up to Table Mountain and perfect sunsets! Many birds which include large birds of prey (also saw some owls fishing in the pond in front of the lodge). Rose and staff attends to all your needs and the owners are very hospitable. Don't miss out on their own estate wine in the mini-bar (Skaap wine) which goes down well when the sun sets. I will be back.

Room Tip: If mobility and stairs are a problem, request a room on the ground floor and breakfast on your own p...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyGeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sir Lowry's Pass
4.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
165 reviews
2.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apricot Gardens Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bezweni Lodge
Bezweni Lodge
#2 of 2 in Sir Lowry's Pass
223 reviews
2.4 mi away
43 on Sandstone Guest House
43 on Sandstone Guest House
#2 of 82 in Somerset West
121 reviews
3.9 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#7 of 82 in Somerset West
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalapanzi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalapanzi Lodge

Address: Farm 3, Wedderwill Estate | PO Box 3794, Sir Lowry's Pass 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Sir Lowry's Pass
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sir Lowry's Pass
Price Range: $92 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalapanzi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lalapanzi is a family-run guesthouse and vineyard situated in the unspoiled natural surrounding of the Cape Winelands. Our 17 ha farm is set on an exclusive private estate 330 m above sea level surrounded by forest, fynbos, vineyards and mountains but with the convenience of being close (6km) to the shops, restaurants, and cafes of Somerset West. Guests can choose between luxury B&B rooms/suite in the Main Lodge (5 rooms) or a private self-catering lodge (2 lodges) set in its own grounds. Lalapanzi Lodge is 10-15 minutes drive from the beach, 40 minutes from Cape Town Airport and 50 minutes from Cape Town city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Lalapanzi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing